We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
161
44
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
44
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee machinesimple mindshost nicolacorn flakesjim kerrsaint marcominute walkmain sightsvaporetto stopquiet areachanged dailysmall fridgenice breakfaststayed at this hotel for nightson arrivalvisit veniceyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2008

Oceano Mare is a very nice B&B off the touristic beaten track , which, in Venice, is rare. It allows to get an insider's view of the city. And yet it is less than 10 mins walk from vaporetto stop Arsenale. Therefore, very convenient to move around, and even go to the Lido. The rooms are simple, yet lovely and clean.
Nicola is a great host: he came to pick us up at the vaporetto stop on arrival, provided helpful information and even had a surprise for us one day as it was my fiancé's birthday!
The only average point was maybe breakfast (industrial pastry and juice)...

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ghiz_Alessandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2008

We stayed at the Oceano Mare in Sept 08. Nicola is more than gracious as a host and he goes out of his way to make sure you get the best and less touristy experience in a city built on its tourism. Rooms were very clean (we stayed in two as we booked an extra day later on) and it was close to everything we wanted to see. We liked that although there are tourists everywhere in Venice, the area where we were was also filled with Venetians living their daily lives. Breakfast was good, as there was a lot of food, like fruit, cereal, cereal bars, although most of the pastry/bread was packaged (aka store bought) so to get the great pastries with your breakfast you may want to stop at a shop on your way around town. Overall a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Fishtowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2008

We have returned from Venice after a 3 night stay in the Ocean Mare. The accomodation is very clean, nicely decorated and we had good breakfasts. Nicola is a nice, courteous gentleman. Our only problem was finding the Ocean Mare, the area is residential with narrow passages but once we became familar with the area we did not have any problems. The B&B is about 10/15 mintes walk to St Marco. We will definately book again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jojunbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2008

Ocean Mare was a little tricky to find as it's hidden deep within a lovely little Venecian neighbourhood, but as long as you have a map and the address you should be fine.

We were really pleased with the accommodation. Our room included a delightful bedroom, sitting room and bathroom.

Breakfast was good with plenty to choose from and various bits that you could take out with you for the day.

The location despite being tucked away is superb. It's a ten minute walk from St Mark's Square, a few minutes from Arsenale vaporreto stop, but in a quiet little charismatic neighbourhood.

Nicola is a brilliant host and really goes out of his way to make your stay at Ocean Mare and in Venice a memorable one.

Would thoroughly recommend Ocean Mare to anyone visiting Venice!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank J_Carter_CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2008

Used Venere to book this hotel - Nicola was great! It is a quaint location, off the beaten path, but near to San Marco. I loved it and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cbboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews