We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate!”
Review of Ca' Sagredo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Ranked #45 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Broxbourne, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First rate!”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

A truly lovely hotel with excellent, friendly, unobtrusive service. Terrace overlooking the Grand Canal. Generous buffet breakfast on the first floor in part of the main rooms of the original palazzo.

Away from St Marks, so quieter and giving a more 'local' experience of Venice. Right by the nr 1 water bus stop at Ca D'Oro so really well connected for sight-seeing.

Thoroughly recommended - we will stay there for future trips to Venice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    851
    211
    64
    24
    21
See reviews for
158
812
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

If you like old world charm this is for you. After much research, I purposely chose this hotel because it offered just as much luxury as the St Mark's Square hotels, and was even more affordable. Also, because this hotel is off the beaten path and away from the maddening crowd. It can be so crowded it makes you nuts. The hotel's location is an asset only being a 5 minute walk to the Realto Bridge and a 10-15 minute walk to St Mark's Square. (With all the tourists at SMS, you see it once, that should be enough).

Nonetheless, we had a one-bedroom suite that overlooked the street (the canal was in the corner) and the view was fine. Canals are everywhere and I didn't come to Venice to sit in my room and look out the window.

Still, my biggest complaint was, my supposed living room area wasn't really coordinated to the suite. Upon entering, it seemed separate from the rest of the suite being long and narrow and away from the bedroom and sitting area. It had no television, only an isoloated sofa, chair and end table. There were 2 TV's; one was in the bedroom and the other was in the adjacent sitting area fronting the bedroom making the seperate living room area vertually obsolete. Being so seperate from the suite we used it as a place to store our luggage. Other than that, the living room itself was useless. It made me wonder why I had bothered when I probably could have had a junior suite with the similar accomodations, but without the useless living room for less money. However, admittedly the suite itself was luxurious and I enjoyed my stay.

The hotel's concierge also provided us with guide for a wonderful private walking tour which was outstanding. With it's own pier overlooking the canal, this is an excellent, luxurious old world palace in one of the world's most unique cities. Would I recommend it? You bet, only next time I would request a junior suite.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTMRay24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We booked to stay 3 nights at the lovely CA' Sagredo Hotel but unfortunately were turned away at check in due to water damage at the hotel for the 1st two nights. The hotel booked us another 5* room at quite a long distance away--not on the Grand Canal, not even on the island of Venice which was really not acceptable at all to us. They did then secure us a room just the adjacent hotel which was 4* and perfectly fine although no where near as grand. I have to say though that the staff bent over backwards to make it up to us and to be accommodating in every way, including a gratis dinner and breakfast at their lovely restaurant, free tour of Murano and Burano and a suit on our final night in Venice. The room was very beautifully appointed and again the staff was just perfect. I would absolutely go back and definitely recommend to friends. I hope to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lckychrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCaSagredo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Ca' Sagredo Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Dear Guest,

We'd like to thank you for sharing your feedback and for your kind understanding.
As we explained unfortunately it was something unexpected and beyond our control, we really tried to do our best to compensate the incovenience and we're very happy to know you could appreciate it.

We do hope to have the chance to welcoming you back at Ca' Sagredo.

Thank you again and Best Regards,
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

spent 3 nights and loved it. wonderfully large room (3rd floor) with side view of grand canal. beds were great (soft but firm); ate twice at the restaurant (once at lunch and once at supper) and both times was excellent. service was also impeccable as one would expect at a hotel of this standard. one of the best things of the hotel is location: straight on grand canal but also right next to vaporetto stop (Ca D'Oro) but also just off the main street giving easy access by foot to the Rialto bridge and cutting across to St. Mark's square

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritInBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCaSagredo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Ca' Sagredo Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Dear Guest,

All staff at Ca' Sagredo Hotel would like to thank you for your lovely feedback.
We're glad to know you enjoyed the Hotel, its services and our location, this is the real Venice!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to this magical city.

Our Best Regards,
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Booked 3 nights in double room at 5* Ca Sagredo, 5 months in advance, requesting view of Grand Canal, special birthday treat for my partner. Although charge is 450 euro per night we were given an attic room with no view at all. See photos
It was hot, 25-27c at 2am despite ambient April temp of 12c and the staff were either unwilling or unable to solve this problem. Our exploration of this wonderful city was ruined by this awful accommodation!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCaSagredo, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Ca' Sagredo Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We are deeply sorry to read about your negative feedback of your stay with us.
You have booked and confirmed a Sagredo Double Room with inner court yard/city view and unfortunately no Grand Canal rooms were available at time of check in.
Ideally, in order to have a granted Grand Canal Rooms you should have reserved a Grand Canal Double, Junior Suite or Suite which are different room types compared to the one you have reserved. We can assure you that we always do our best to offer upgrade at time of check in with discounted price, if any Grand Canal rooms is available.

We would also like to appoint that your travel agency did not request Canal view on your reservation and therefore we were not aware of your requirement. If only we would have been advised by your travel agency when you have made the reservation, we could have been able to offer you an upgrade to a Grand Canal room.

As for the room temperature, we regret to inform you that, by law, we are not authorised to turn the air conditioning on at this time of the year and the heating was off. We do apologise for any inconvenience and please rest assured that we did our best to solve the problem.

We hope you will give the hotel a second thought and you will come back to Venice soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly in order to give us the possibility to offer the service we aim to provide.


With our Best Regards,
Ca’ Sagredo Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Having scoured the internet for a long time trying to choose a hotel in Venice and doing as much research as possible to avoid being disappointed I am pleased to say upon arrival the Ca Sagredo lived up to expectations.

My wife and I recently had the pleasure of staying here for 5 nights and were delighted with both the hotel and location as nothing is that far away and the vaporetto stop is virtually outside the hotel.
We received a warm welcome from the reception team and had a lovely room 406 on the 4th floor with views over the rooftops of Venice, the room was of a very good size and well furnished, it was also extremely clean and everything was well maintained.
The breakfast was very good and the staff were excellent and could not do enough for you, a glass or two of prosecco before heading out in the morning was a great way to start the day, the reception team were also very helpful recommending things to do, places to see and restaurants and taking the time to mark everything on the essential maps as it is very easy to get lost in Venice.
There is absolutely nothing negative to say about this hotel and we would stay again, I would recommend it to anyone that enjoys luxury, refined and elegant service and some of the most helpful and friendly staff you will ever meet.
I also recommend taking the speedboat from the airport directly to the hotel, it really is the only way to arrive and worth the cost.
Hope to be back again next year.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oldcolonial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Beautiful hotel, there is absolutely nothing negative to say about Venice or Ca'Sagredo Hotel. Both are outstanding. We shall most definitely return. Venice is maybe a bit tired around the edges but she is beautiful and so are the people there.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter as you feel so special just being there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaymaker186543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,251 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#71 of 385 in Venice
932 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#52 of 385 in Venice
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
SINA Centurion Palace
SINA Centurion Palace
#59 of 385 in Venice
907 reviews
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Giudecca
Palladio Hotel & Spa
Palladio Hotel & Spa
#79 of 385 in Venice
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Sagredo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Sagredo Hotel

Property: Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Address: Campo Santa Sofia 4198/99 | Ca' D'Oro, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#33 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#80 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ca' Sagredo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca' Sagredo Hotel is Venice new luxury boutique hotel on the Grand Canal. A 15th jewel in a magical city, where the building's history intertwines with that of the Famiglia Sagredo one of the most important in The Republic, whose destiny was bounded to the Doges and the city itself. The hotel offers 42 guestrooms, most with magnificent panoramic view over the Gran Canal, a trendy restaurant with outdoor terrace over the water and banqueting/meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo, TravelUp, ACCOR, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ca' Sagredo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casagredo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing