We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beautiful breakfast terrace, no qualms at all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Ranked #23 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location, beautiful breakfast terrace, no qualms at all”
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Just left the pallazo stern after 3 nights-no complaints at all. Dorsodura is a great part of venice, quiet with plenty of restaurants within a short walk, but plenty close enough to the rialto bridge, accademia crossing and on to st mark's square and the museums. The hotel is easy to get to off the water bus (right outside) and within an easy walk of the main sites. Similarly, easy for us to get to the train station to leave again. Breakfast reasonable, but sitting on the terrace overlooking the grand canal to eat it is hard to beat-magical.
Would definitely consider this hotel again if/when we return to Venice, thankyou

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick_Bristol_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
dear Friend,

thank you for your very kind review. We all wait to welcome you again here in Venice!

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,360
    241
    54
    7
    13
See reviews for
349
1,053
51
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wantage
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

This hotel has all the charm of a small palace with beautiful, intricate designs that reflect the history both of the city and the building. Our room overlooked the Grand Canal and offered a marvellous view of the flowing tide of various boats passing by. Cameras always seemed to be pointed at the hotel whilst we were looking out, giving us a glimpse of how it must feel to be a famous celebrity! The room was excellent, big enough to have two large comfortable chairs. The bathroom was worthy of a palace with hot and cold running jacuzzi within the huge bath. The only, vague cavil I have is that there wasn't a shower apart from a handheld device. The breakfasts were bountiful and were constantly replenished whilst the levels of service throughout the hotel were simply superb. This was our third trip to Venice and we decided that we will return. Will we return to this hotel? What do you think?

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We have just returned from an amazing 5 days in Venice.
What really made it special was the welcome we received at the hotel and the ongoing excellent service we received from the staff (courteous, attentive and efficient). The day we arrived it was very wet, windy and cold but when we walked into the hotel we were greeted with friendly smiles, helpful information on the hotel (including its most interesting history) and given recommendations as to places to see and restaurants to visit.
Our room although not overlooking the Grand Canal was light and airy with an outlook over the gardens and courtyard at the back.
The breakfast was an amazing array of both cold and cooked food which we thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nigeldear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 8 April 2011
Thankn you for your very kind review!
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to welcome you again soon.

Warmest regards!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2011

The location of the Hotel Stern is perfect, right in the middle between Rialto Bridge and Accademia Bridge. Behind the hotel are nice little restaurants and one of the best ice-makers of Venice.
The room (Junior Suite with canal view) is expensive but worth the money.
We enjoyed the breakfast on the terrace next to the Canale Grande in the sun with friendly service and a good buffet. My wife felt like Grace Kelly.
The final of our perfect stay was the trip with the water-taxi to the airport free of charge.
We will come back again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolf123459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 23 March 2011
Dear Friend,

thank you for your very kind review!
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and I'm happy you appreciate the taxi ride to the airport.

We all hope to see you again soon! Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2011

beautiful hotel along the river, next to boat stop, possibility to have breakfast on the terrace along the river, best stop to stay in Venice.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ellen1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 23 March 2011
Thank you for your very kind review!

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Excellent stay, the staff is very friendly, great locations to walk, vaporetto station just in front of the hotel.
A little too hot in the bedroom.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElGoupilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 22 March 2011
Dear Friend,

Thank you for your very kind review.
I'm very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry that you didn't find your desired temperature using the manual control we have in the rooms. We will double check it just to be sure that we don't have any trouble.

We all wait to welcome you again here in Venice, have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We've been to Venice several times over the years, and this was by far our best hotel experience there. The hotel itself, in a restored palazzo, was a unique, intimate and interesting place to stay. It was fun to see the historic details that had been preserved. The lovely terrace on the Grand Canal was a perfect place to enjoy a leisurely coffee while watching the boat traffic. The rooms and bathroom were quite modern, clean and comfortable. Our room was quiet and pleasant, with windows opening onto a side canal and garden. The hotel's location was very convenient, just a short walk from the Accademia bridge. Finally, I can't say enough about the hotel staff. Everyone we encountered was extremely polite and helpful, spoke fluent English and went out of their way to assist us, helping us with restaurant suggestions, reservations and necessities of traveling with a toddler (milk, child seats, etc.) I enthusiastically endorse this hotel and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scg411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 21 March 2011
And we cannot wait to welcome you again here!!!
Thanks a lot for your very kind review, I'm really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay.

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,783 reviews
Hotel L'Orologio
#24 of 385 in Venice
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,886 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#12 of 385 in Venice
2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Stern

Property: Hotel Palazzo Stern
Address: Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Venice
#7 Family Hotel in Venice
#15 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#15 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Stern 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Stern is an historical Moorish Palazzo on the Grand Canal. The location is very convenient: easy to reach, close to the main attractions and at the same time in a very Venice area. If you are looking for a unique venetian experience in the real Venice and far from the crowd of the mass tourism we are the right place to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Stern Hotel
Palazzo Stern Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing