We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Ranked #17 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Good hotel right in front of the Grand Canal. It is so conviently located next to a water ferry stop, although we arrived by water taxi which was lovely start to the holiday.

On arrival they provided us with a small welcome drink which was a nice touch.

The hotel had a small bar which was nice. However, it did not have its own restaurant which was a bit strange, although the hotel did provide us with recommendations of local places to eat.

Before we went I thought I read reviews saying there was a hot tub on the roof. There was no mention of this in the welcome pack left in our room, so I am still not sure if they had one or not.

Our room was nice & decorated very well.

The hotel did offer us a free trip to Murano which was worth taking, they took us there in a private water taxi & we made our own way back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinKidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Buongiorno!

It's not strange that we don't have a restaurant. This is due to the dimension of the hotel itself. We have only 24 rooms, so we cannot afford some services that just the bigger hotels can!
But on the other side we can provide a much more personalized service to all our guests, not only to the VIPs!!!

I confirm you that we have a jacuzzi on the rooftop, it's heated so it works also during winter, it's on reservation only and there's a fee to pay.

Thanks a lot for that king the time to leave us your review. I hope to welcome you again soon!
Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,338
    237
    53
    7
    12
See reviews for
341
1,035
51
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Solon, Ohio
Level Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed in a junior suite facing the Grand Canal. The room was excellent. It was of good size
and exceptionally decorated with a bath room with separate shower and bath.
Breakfast was very good and served in a room next to the bar. It was a little too chilly to have
breakfast on the patio which was also very nice. The patio overlooks the Canal and is a good
spot for a cocktail before dinner.
The location was perfect for what we wanted to see in Venice.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room facing the Grand Canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymon7746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Buongiorno!

Thanks a lot for your very kind review!

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This is the best hotel you can choose in Venezia, right in front of the Grand Canal, walking distance from Everything in Venecia and everywhere. I booked it and organise everything to ask my girlfriend's hand and everything went perfect!!!! Domenico, Manuel, the hotel manager Roberto and all the staff was involved and made everything to go perfect. the restaurant they booked for us, the boat to go there, the room service on the way back... everything was in the right place at the right time, it was like a dream come true. If I ever go back to Venice, this will be my hotel.
Thanks everybody for your help and for being profesional.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank praktikrambla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Thanks to you for choosing us and for this wonderful review!!!

Have a great day,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

After doing a whirlwind trip through Italy, this hotel was our last stop of 10 days. By far the best (and most expensive). The treatment by the staff was top notch. Our room wasn't ready for us when we arrived around 2pm (I think officially check in is 3 or 4p), however, we were able to take care of the paperwork, leave our luggage and by the time we got back, they had put our luggage in our rooms. It was my friend's birthday so I arranged to have a bottle of prosecco waiting for us. When they discovered that it was her birthday (lost in translation on the phone), they offered us another bottle free of charge. Though from what I understand you have to pay to use the hot on the terraza up top, they had no problem at least letting you take a peak from the roof, which, if you want some great photos, time that visit for sunset - the view is spectacular. It was a added bonus that after I had booked this hotel room I happened to watch the movie "The Italian Job" (the newer one with Ed Norton) and realized that the "house" they robbed is the buliding this hotel now occupies. The interior is incredibly beautiful and charming - thank goodness for a 4 gig data card - because I took many photos of the hotel alone. While it is pricy, this is Venice and booking 4 months out, for anything on the canal and somewhat charming you are going to pay around 300USD a night, so if you have it in your budget, splurge for this place. Also, it is so conviently located next to a water ferry stop, that you gain nothing by taking a water taxi from the train station, save the money and take the ferry. The breakfast that comes with the room was quite nice, so that is an added bonus as well.

Room Tip: I didn't pay for a canal view (nor did I book soon enough to be able to get one), however, the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhirlygirlAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Buongiorno!

Thanks a lot for your very kind review.
I'm happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to have you here again soon.
Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed in Room 306 a Junior Suite facing the Grand Canal. The room was very large and beautifully appointed. Murano Glass Chandelier and sconces, fabric covered walls in gold and beige, high ceilings and two floor to ceiling windows with french doors onto the canal. The bath room was very spacious, the separate shower was on the smaller side but the tub deep and perfect for a bubble bath. The building is beautifully restored with much detail and exquisite taste. We could not have stayed in a better place. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast buffet had a good variety and the best bread we had in Italy on our two week trip. Our only regret was that the beautiful patio in front of the hotel was on the shady side of the canal and due to the cool October weather we were unable to linger long to watch the life on the Grand Canal go by. We will definitely be back! Recommendation to the hotel management: Most of your guests are English or German speaking. The supply of Italian newspapers was plentiful but the one English paper was in high demand. Maybe based on your guest mix you could add a couple more foreign papers. Grazie!

Room Tip: I can highly recommend 306. When looking at the building from the Grand Canal the windows of this ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Putterwagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Dear Friend,

I'm happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Having a terrace in the shade can be a minus during winter, but it's a big plus during the warmer months!!!

:o)

we always have a couple of english newspapers, and sometimes they are not enough! in those case just let us know the day before that you would like a newspaper and we will buy it for you and keep it on a side.

We all hope to see you soon again, have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for four nights. The first night (room #303) we had a room on the side canal. The windows were so high that we couldn't see the canal, but people in the building next door could see right into our room so we had to keep the drapes closed. The bathtub wall was over three feet high preventing my wife from having a bath/shower. The last three nights we were in a tiny room (#502). The management turned off the HVAC to the entire hotel. It was so hot in our room that we had to open the windows, and were eaten alive by mosquitos. Management gave us a lame excuse stating that the HVAC was turned off because some guests complained about it being too cold. Odd statement because both of our rooms had individual controls. We concluded that management was just trying to save money. Buyer beware. It's a great location, but the rooms and management are terrible. And it's got a four star rating. Absurd!!

Room Tip: Find another hotel (Pensione la Calcina)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JCOOVERT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Dear Friend,

how can you think that we turn off the AC in October because we want to save money? We have 5 celsius degrees now!!!

Rooms have individual control, but it doesn't mean that in one room you can have cold and in another one hot. This kind of technology cannot be used in Venice because of the age of the buildings and the local regulation that want to preserve them.

We can like it or not, but this is the best everybody can do. This is Venice and you have to accept it with its pros and cons unfortunately. And not all the cons are always due to an hotel that want to save money...

Regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

The best address in Venice !! We stayed in a suite with a grande canal view , it was amazing. The room had a jet bath and beautiful bathroom . Breakfast wasn't the greatest but it was fine. The hotel is 50 m from water taxi stop, but walking to St Marks is much more interesting . It's about a 15 min walk through the old streets of Venice .

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MorrisDf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Buongiorno!

Thanks a lot for your very kind review. I'm very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We all hope to welcome you again here in Venice, have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,524 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#14 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Stern

Property: Hotel Palazzo Stern
Address: Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Venice
#7 Family Hotel in Venice
#11 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#15 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Stern 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Stern is an historical Moorish Palazzo on the Grand Canal. The location is very convenient: easy to reach, close to the main attractions and at the same time in a very Venice area. If you are looking for a unique venetian experience in the real Venice and far from the crowd of the mass tourism we are the right place to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Stern Hotel
Palazzo Stern Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing