We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Palazzo Stern - combining the experience of a luxury hotel and an art museum”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Ranked #23 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Hotel Palazzo Stern - combining the experience of a luxury hotel and an art museum”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Staying at the Hotel Palazzo Stern (photo 33) is combining the experience of a luxury hotel and an art museum at one of the world's most enticing venues – Venice's Canal Grande. My mother (photo 37c) and me (photo 37d) stayed at the Stern 3 days at the end of November 2011, whilst waiting for the depart of our cruise to the Eastern Mediterranean. My mother sits on a wheel-chair and Signori Roberto, Alberto and the other extremely helpful hotel staff arranged for her speedy transfer by boat directly from the Marco Polo airport to the hotel pier by Sanitrans, a local company specialised in transportation of sick and disabled. In the otherwise for handicapped so inconvenient Venice, the Stern offers a vantage location with the Line 1 vaporetto (waterbus) sailing straight from the entrance to Venice to the Ca'Rezzonico station at the hotel door. Also from the hotel pier you may enjoy the traghetto (cross-over) of the Grand Canal to Palazzo Grassi and back by gondolone. Whereas a 40 minute tour by gondola will set you back 80 euros, the gondolone costs 0.50 € one way - yes, you read right 0.50 not 50. In Venice there are 7 other traghetti across the Grand Canal – 8 crossings for 4 €.

The Swiss millionaire Frau Stern decorated the late medieval structure of the hotel building with Venetian renaissance and other elements, blending them with exquisite taste (photos 34, 35, 36, 37). We hired a charming junior suite (photo 37b) with side-view on the Canal Grande (photo 38). You may enhance the hotel experience of an aristocratic mansion by visiting the larger Ca'Rezzonico palace museum, just one bridge away.

The Palazzo Stern is situated in the Dorsoduro sestier, an authentic Venice neighbourhood, less overwhelmed by tourists but still in the heart of the city.

The price is reasonable for the hotel's standing and location.

Thanks to Hotel Stern and its staff for an unforgettable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the Canal Grande.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PabloAyala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 19 December 2011
I'm very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks a lot for your kind words and for the time you dedicated us in writing this wonderful review.
I look forward to welcome you again soon here. Have a great day and Merry Christmas!!!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,350
    239
    54
    7
    13
See reviews for
345
1,046
51
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

From the vaporetto we saw the guests having breakfast on a sunny terrace The hotel looked so charming, we jumped off the boat at the next stop to have a closer look. This was a few years ago. Just last week we finally made it back to Venice.
We had five memorable days at the Palazzo Stern. Our room left nothing to be desired except a view on the canal. For that, reserve well in advance. The only other regret was that despite the splendid sunshine, November is a bit too chilly for breakfasting on the terrace.
The hotel has, I think, the most beautiful facade on the Grand Canal. Its interior is a work of art. The location is ideal for getting around the city: the vaporetto –the world’s most enjoyable public transportation,in my opinion—stops just nearby. A gondola will take you directly across the canal for 50 centimes to the Palazzo Grassi and beyond. As for restaurants, it’s difficult to eat badly in Italy.
The welcome is warm, the staff, the service, irreproachable.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 7 December 2011
Buongiorno William!

I'm happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I hope to have welcome you again soon, in our beautiful terrace, in our beautifull city!!!

Thanks a lot for your very kind review, have a great day!!!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We are spending our last night in the palazzo stern hotel and i am very happy to say that this trip was perfect! We stayed 3 nights in the hotel and the first night we had a bottle of proseco and glasses on the room. The rooms are beautiful and we had whirlpool tub and shower. At the front of the hotel there is a waterbus stop, but we did everything by foot san maro is 10 min walk from the hotel. Breakfast is great! Staff is very friendly. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
5 years? It's almost time to change husband!!!
:o)
I'm kiddin'. First of all congratulation for your Anniversary! I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I hope to have the chance to have you here again soon.

Have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My first trip to Venice, my husband's second. He chose the hotel, a junior suite with canal view which was just lovely. Morning sunshine with views of the Accademia Bridge and Peggy Guggenheim Museum (fab) just minutes away. Vaporetto stop Ca'Rezzonico a few feet away. All staff so very friendly and helpful, thank you. A good size terrace on the canal side for photos - a bit too chilly to sit out at this time of year. Buffet breakfast, very good. Cleanliness, absolutely no complaints. An unexpected bottle of fizz appeared in our room on my birthday. This hotel is small but perfectly formed. A little gem.

Room Tip: Having only seen our room, I can't comment on the rest. Yes, we had a view of the Grand Canal w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j_e_heath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Thank you for your very kind review!!!

We all wait to welcome you again here in Venice, have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This is a really lovely, small hotel right on the Grand Canal. We stayed in Room 304 (junior suite) overlooking the Grand Canal. This was very spacious with all of the amenities you would expect in a top rate hotel. Bathroom was particularly good. Coffee machines still not working! Always coffee or tea available free, though, so no problem. There is a wonderful terrace and an excellent bar. All the staff were extremely good. I've stayed in Venice about 9 times in 6 different hotels and this is definitely the best yet. Will be going back soon, I hope.

Room Tip: Pay that bit extra for that wonderful view onto the Grand Canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieLaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Buongiorno!

Thanks a lot for your very kind review! I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Unfortunately we still didn't solve the trouble with the coffee machines. We changed them but they continue to fail. I'm sorry!!!

I hope to see you soon again, warmest regards!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Lovely hotel overlooking the canal. Quite. Beautiful room. Coffee machine not working but we were given free coffee when we wanted it. Good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mewilson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Thank you!!!
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2011

This is a wonderful hotel right on the Grand Hotel and right next to a vaporetto stop. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. Our junior suite overlooked the Grand Hotel and was very spacious with all of the amenities you would expect in a top rate hotel. There is a wonderful open air patio right on the Grand Canal where you can enjoy your breakfast or a drink in the evening.

John & Margot H.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Thanks a lot for your very kind review!
I hope to welcome you soon again here. Warmest regards!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,863 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,760 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#12 of 385 in Venice
1,979 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#11 of 385 in Venice
3,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Stern

Property: Hotel Palazzo Stern
Address: Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Venice
#7 Family Hotel in Venice
#15 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#17 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Stern 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Stern is an historical Moorish Palazzo on the Grand Canal. The location is very convenient: easy to reach, close to the main attractions and at the same time in a very Venice area. If you are looking for a unique venetian experience in the real Venice and far from the crowd of the mass tourism we are the right place to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Stern Hotel
Palazzo Stern Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing