We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most romantic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Ranked #21 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The hotel probably has the the best location in Venice. Right on the grand canal next to the water bus station (the easiest way to get round as well as to/from the airport). Or for the more indulgent it has it's own dock to arrive by water taxi. It's also in a quieter part of town with a lot of great value places to eat nearby.
We had room 503 which was at the back overlooking a small canal and had views of the rooftops. The bedroom wasn't the biggest but was fine for the two of us and the shower room was a great size.
Breakfasts gave a full spread with most things on offer and we also took advantage of the rooftop jacuzzi which was magical in the evening.
The staff are really helpful and friendly and we would recommend Stern to anyone, for romance or just a place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again soon here in Venice.
Have a nice day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

638 - 644 of 1,754 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is the third hotel we stayed at during a 6-day trip to Venice. Hotels were selected according to location and comfort (both other hotels got good reviews by us) but this was still the best and this is where I'd book my next stay. Friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast included, brunch type buffet, international press available. We selected a spacious room with view 404, a good family room. The hotel has an elevator, which is not always the case in Venice. Easy access to different restaurants, but that is easy in Venice anyway.
FYI, A little rain caused flooding of some of the streets, regardless of location and travelers need to be aware of that. Venetians just put on their rubber boots. Tourists can buy plastic booties to slip over their shoes or bring their own. The city puts up footbridges/gangways in certain locations when needed. Those can be difficult to navigate with a stroller, nearly impossible with a wheelchair.

Room Tip: Depends on your preference. Rooms looking onto the canal are more expensive and louder as you'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review!
I'm happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us, and I look forward to welcome eyou again soon here in Venice.

Have a nice day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Very nice, beautifully restored hotel with a perfect location right on the grand canal. Perfect location in a "quieter" section of the grand canal with a vaporetto stop right there or getting around Venice. (note, same stop for orange line alilaguna right to airport..very convienent). Service was excellent with the exception of one female front desk receptionist working primarily during the day who would not acknowledge you with a greeting and was rude/annoyed when asked about restaurant reservations. Rest of staff was very nice especially other gentleman on check in and woman on check out. Even assisted on arranging a water taxi to meet us at the train station (te only way to arrive in Venice). Rooms are large and beautifully decorated with silk walls, antiques, murano glass/chandlers. You feel like you've stepped back in time with all the modern convinces. If you can, splurge and get the jr. Suite over the grand canal (see room tip). Breakfast was more than ample with many different fresh selections. Overall a very good experience and we would stay again.

Room Tip: If you at going to splurge, o for the junior suite. We had room 405 and I would say its the best in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottrn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Buongiorno!

Thank you for this very nice review.
I'm sorry for the lady who has not been very helpful, please accept my apologize.

I look forward to welcome you again soon here in Venice, have a great day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

the location of this hotel made traveling to Venice so easy. It is located right by a water bus stop, so you don't have to drag your luggage through the narrow streets of Venice. This was our first visit to Venice and we were very happy with the service and amenities of this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyceBSTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and the location of the building. We are not only very easy to reach but also in a very venetian area, far from the crowd and the mass tourism.
I hope to welcome you soon here again, have a great day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This was our second stay at the Stern. It was disappointing for the approx. $700 US dollars per night that we spent. We had room 304, a Jr. Suite overlooking the Grand Canal. There was black mold on the bathroom wall above the tub where water had leaked thru the ceiling, ucky. Management acknowledged awareness of the problem and said they chose not to repair as that would cost them non-rental of the room, estimating it would take weeks to accomplish the repair. Management didi not apologize or offer a price reduction.The TV remote did not work on our arrival and we had to call for a replacement. The underside of tone bed coverlet had blood or a red stain on it. The stairway carpet was badly worn away and over due for replacement.The "orange juice" at breakfast was a thin artificial orange DRINK. The cleaning crew moved our cosmetics and hygiene products around on the sink top, moving my makeup onto my husband's side of the sink. The reception staff did not offer a greeting when we returned to the hotel from an excursion. Overall, this was not the experience we had anticipated based on our prior stay. Management is resting on its laurels. This hotel needs maintenance and repair. While the location at the Ca Rezonicco stop is excellent, no one wants to stay in a room with mold in the bathroom, especially not for $700 US Dollars per night.

Room Tip: Stay in a Jr Suite overlooking the Grand CAnal. When we were registering, guests were complaining ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cbellehu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Buongiorno,

I'm sorry you didn't like your second stay here at Palazzo Stern.
The hotel is not tired but, as everything, things can be damaged and not always is possible to fix them immediately.

As you wrote, if we do any mistake we try to compensate it with a discount. Which I think is a fair solution for any issue we are not able to fix immediately. Perfection doesn't exist, also here at palazzo stern!

Again, please accept my apologize for the happening, I'm sure that it will not happen again.

Warmest regards,

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This was our second visit to Palazzo Stern, our first 2 years ago for our 25th wedding anniversary was just perfect and so we risked repeating the experience and apart from some unfortunate weather it was even better. This was in no small part due to a better selection of room, we stayed in a junior suite overlooking the grand canal and just felt permanently connected to this fabulous location.
The architecture added to the sense of place and occasion and I would disagree with 23425 about the reception, who wants a standard hotel lobby in this really impressive space and make sure you climb the stairs to the top.
Unlike almost all the buildings on the grand canal Palazzo Stern is set back from the waters edge giving a generous terrace with those superb views, breakfast here was worth the trip alone.
A nice touch was a complimentary bottle of Prosecco waiting in our room to welcome us back.
I can't say this was cheap but it is Venice and I would not wished to have to have compromised on choice of hotel in any way.
So, fantastic staff, building, location and that terrace.

Room Tip: My wife is confined to a wheelchair and on our first visit we used the hotels accessible room. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcome you again soon!

Warmest regards,

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Delightful boutique hotel in Venice. Excellent staff with friendly service. Room was a good size and beautifully appointed. Hotel combines many ancient pieces of masonry from original medieval building with new revisions to structure and fittings. Thoughtfully designed with integrity afforded to original design. Close to everything.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Drdavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and the design of the building. We tried to keep if as close to the origin as possible.

I look forward to welcome you again soon, have a nice day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#14 of 387 in Venice
1,907 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#8 of 387 in Venice
2,183 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 387 in Venice
1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#13 of 387 in Venice
1,617 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Stern

Address: Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Venice
#5 Family Hotel in Venice
#15 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#15 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £151 - £423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Stern 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Stern is an historical Moorish Palazzo on the Grand Canal. The location is very convenient: easy to reach, close to the main attractions and at the same time in a very Venice area. If you are looking for a unique venetian experience in the real Venice and far from the crowd of the mass tourism we are the right place to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Stern Hotel
Palazzo Stern Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing