We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel in prime location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Ranked #22 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Although the Dorsodouro area is slightly away from the hotspots of the Rialto and St Marks square, its a good location for a stay in Venice as its very easy to get to all the main attractions by foot or Vaporetto. And if you decide to stay in this area the Hotel Stern is an excellent choice. This old palazzo with its elaborate decorated stairways and glass chandelliers has well appointed and comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff, a lovely terrace overlooking the grand canal and serves a very good breakfast. No restaurant but several good local eateries within a few minutes walk including the highly recommended Oniga.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quantockm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Buongiorno!

Thanks for this very nice review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay!
You are right when you say that we are a little off the main spots of Venice, and that's why our location is so beautiful. We are far from the crown in a very venetian area. But still very easy to reach and in a walking distance from everything.

I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice, have a great day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

595 - 601 of 1,736 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

We returned last week from a week's stay in this lovely hotel. It is small, personal and unique. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, from the front desk, to the cleaning personnel to the bar and breakfast staff. The breakfast is a highlight, great choice, fresh fruit, hot & cold meats & delicious fresh cakes & pastries. The decoration is stylish, stunning glass lighting & rich mosaics; the chapel area is especially lovely. The weather did not permit a trip to the rooftop jacuzzi but the view must be magnificent. Thanks to all at the Stern who made our trip so memorable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank to you for this beautiful review!
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcome you again here, maybe with a better weather to enjoy the jacuzzi on the roof!!!

Have a great day,

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Palazzo Stern in January, although the weather was awful this did not spoil our stay in Venice. The Hotel staff are extremely friendly and we were made to feel very welcome. The location could not be better situated between Rialto Bridge and St Marcs Square. The water bus stop is right outside the hotel! There are various restaurants to eat in nearby that all serve local cuisine and are not full of tourists.
The hotel rooms are all of a good size and extremely clean (we viewed other rooms as well as our own). Large bathrooms with fantastic views over the Grand Canal.
Breakfast is very good offering Bacon, Eggs (of all descriptions) bread, fruit, and a selection of cereals.
Worth a visit to the hot tub on the roof that can be rented for €70 per hour!
Would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely return when we next visit Venice!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPHarris3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again soon.

Warmest regards,

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We took the junior suite with Grand Canal view. Wonderful large elegant room, small balcony. Very nice bathroom fittings and facilities. The view of the GC is everything we had hoped for. There are cheaper rooms in Venice but if you want to treat yourself to a full-on GC view, this is a superb option.

The hotel generally is superbly decorated and finished. Gorgeous Venetian Palazzo. Staff helpful. Breakfast had everything you could reasonably want. Only metres from Ca Rezzonico Vaporetto stop: this proved very convenient, and a lifesaver for tired legs.

We think this location, in the Dorsoduro is far nicer than the tourist-zoo of San Marco. Only 5-7 mins to Academia Bridge. We would definitely use Stern again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hini66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again soon!

Warmest regards,

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My husband and I spent our honeymoon in Venice and decided to stay in Palazzo Stern, checking in on New Year Eve. We are very impressive in all elements of the hotel. Actually, it is not the hotel, but the small luxury palazzo that is so nice, elegant but cozy at the same time. All of the staffs are very helpful, gentle and provided all information we needed. We could easily access to all Venice attractions including some local Italian restaurants, given 4 stars rated by tripadvisor, just a few minutes walk from the hotel. Breakfast was wonderful for me, but my husband would like to suggest that it would be great if they would provide sausage menu in the future :) All in all, we were very happy in this hotel and definitely will revisit again in the near future! We would like to thank all the staffs for our wonderful experience again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thipaporn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thanks to you for this wonderful review!
I'm happy you enjoyed your holiday with us. And thanks also for the suggestion regarding the breakfast, we will check if it will be possible to improve it!

I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice, have a great day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The last leg of our family's great Italian journey: Venice, The sten hotel: a stunningly beautiful interior makes this hotel a little gem - a haven of peace and calm from the bustle of Venice. We had booked a 4 night stay and got 20% off due to a package - but they upgraded us on arrival. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly.
There are some great restaurants within walking distance and so we didn't find the location a problem in the evenings.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank 752mickeyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Buongiorno!

I'm happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. And I'm happy you appreciated the free upgrade!!! We always try to give a small advantage to all the guest who book directly with us.

Thanks a lot for your very kind review, I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice!!!

Have a nice day,

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had a very nice room overlooking the grand Canal. It was beautifully appointed and had a sparkling bathroom. The staff was helpful and the water taxi drops you right in front. My only disappointment was that the room had no shower. It was a Jacuzzi tub only.....kind of weird when you just want to rinse off.

The location is great. It is slightly off the beaten path but accessible to everything. The streets behind the hotel where fun to wander and a public transit stop was right out front. The rooms are expensive but you get a lot. They were big and came with a very nice breakfast. We would defiantly stay again.

Room Tip: We loved the water view but they do not have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crowslex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay, despite the pack of the bathroom.
In effect your room have only the bathtub with and handheld shower if needed. It makes the job but it's not as a regular walk in shower. We are actually working to find a solution, but it's not a so easy thing.

We have other Junior Suites with both JAcuzzi and walk-in shower. If this is a necessary amenity for you please mention it on the reservation and we will try to accomplish the request!!!

Thanks again for the very nice review and have a nice day!!!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,599 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 385 in Venice
1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,973 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
2,147 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Stern

Address: Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Venice
#7 Family Hotel in Venice
#15 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#16 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £146 - £479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Stern 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Stern is an historical Moorish Palazzo on the Grand Canal. The location is very convenient: easy to reach, close to the main attractions and at the same time in a very Venice area. If you are looking for a unique venetian experience in the real Venice and far from the crowd of the mass tourism we are the right place to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Stern Hotel
Palazzo Stern Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing