We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Ranked #23 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Luxury hotel”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Obviously it's all been said how good this place is, I loved it and would recommend it to everyone. I always like to plan holidays to a fine detail so this review is for those like me.

- We stayed in 304 which is a junior suite overlooking grand canal: the view is brilliant but yes you can hear the vaporetto bus at night a little. Of course this is the price you pay for the location and in my opinion it's still worth it.
- It's really worth just relaxing in the hotel room in the afternoon sitting by the windows (which you open all wide open so it feels like a balcony but you have to sit straight to be able to see the grand canal). It looks like junior suite with balcony (there's only one!) on 2nd floor is best for this activity.
- It's decadent, but I couldn't resist ordering breakfast in our room on one day of our stay (there's no extra cost), this was a real treat but if I had to make a criticism it would be that my 'order' was quite hurried on the phone, i think i was talking with the porter - after about only 3 buffet items, he was basically putting the phone down to stop me ordering any more.
- Eating breakfast on the terrace is lovely as well but when we were there, the hotel (or perhaps Venice in general) seems to have quite a problem with agressive pigeons! They were quite a nuisance i have to admit. Of course this isn't really something the hotel can control but just a warning for those leaving crumbs on the table whilst they go to get a second helping.
- Check your bill at the end before you pay (i forgot to do this and realised I'd been charged for prosecco twice after I'd already paid - fortunately they were quick to rectify this regardless in a very friendly manner.
- They clean the rooms perfectly each day this was such a pleasant surprise each time we came back.
- The silk curtains are wonderful
- In fact everything in the room: chandaliers and wallpaper etc
- Don't leave windows open when going out
- Make sure you get to chat with the famous barman 'Dennis from Venice', really nice guy and likes to talk so you can learn a lot from him.

Room Tip: 2nd floor junior suite with balcony looks like the best room. If you are a very light sleeper, go fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Will C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
What a great review!!!

Thanks a lot for the suggestion about the breakfast in the room. In fact is quite strange that the concierge was "in hurry". There must a reason, we will investigate.

Yes, there are a lot of pigeons in Venice! Unfortunately there nothing we can do about them.

Sorry for the mistake about the bill!

I'm happy that your experience has been nice despite all these minor issues (that I hope to not repeat with anybody in the future!).
I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice, have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,351
    239
    54
    7
    13
See reviews for
346
1,046
51
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Fantastic location and friendly, helpful staff. Our room was beautiful, overlooking the Grand canal, and the hotel was absolutely charming, the prettiest Palazzo on the canal!
There is lovely, sunny breakfast terrace where an excellent breakfast was served every day. We would highly recommend this hotel for a romantic break. There is no dinner restaurant but there are plenty of lovely places to eat close by and the whole area is much nicer than around St Marks.

Room Tip: Room 406 overlooked the Grand Canal and had lovely big windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again soon here.

Have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North of England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is a really lovely hotel in a brilliant location.
The staff were unfailingly polite and helpful from the minute we checked in to the moment they helped us step aboard our taxi-boat to the airport which they had booked for us.
It is away from the main drag so doesn't get the crowds or hoards of tourists. However it is just around the corner from a number of picturesque squares where super little restaurants offer good food and opportunities for people watching.
The hotel's canal side location means that breakfast on the terrasse is a real treat. Watching Venice go about its morning business along the Grande Canal while enjoying as good a breakfast as any we have had was a real highlight of the trip.
Our room was beautifully decorated mainly in gold. With gold fabric wall coverings, gold cupboards, a gold bed and gold tiles in the bathroom. This fitted perfectly with the whole style of the hotel and the genteel opulence of Venice.
I would highly recommend this hotel. It's not cheap but if you want to experience Venice and be able to walk or boat to all the significant locations easily and combine this with a very comfortable, luxurious stay, then this is the place.
We would love to return to Venice and stay again at the Palazzo Stern.

Room Tip: Our room was at the side so had an oblique view of the canal but was incredibly quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quaatchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us!
I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice. Have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We have recently returned from a wonderful stay in Venice, which was made all the better by staying at the Palazzo Stern. The hotel is ideally situated, away from the hustle and bustle, but close enough to see the major sights quite easily. There is also a vaparetto stop right outside the hotel that is on the number 1 route and will take you straight to st marks square. The hotel itself is very beautiful, and has the advantage of a terrace overlooking the grand canal, with an excellent view of the acadamia bridge. Breakfast here was wonderful, the food was plentiful and there was a good variety. The room was large and comfortable. It was clean, and the maid did an excellent job. Only couple of niggles is there is no air conditioning so at times it was a little too warm, and there is no iron in the room. However the hotel was more than accommodating in that respect as the hotel maid ironed my husbands shirt for him for a night out. This was not the only situation in which the service excelled. For example, before we had even arrived I emailed the hotel about dropping our bags in before check in as we had an early flight. Within half an hour of booking they had contacted me assuring us that that would be no problem. In fact, we were able to check in early with only a half hour wait for the room. We were given a complimentary drink on the terrace whilst we waited. We were given excellent restaurant recommendations based on our requirements and given a detailed map to locate them. They helped to explain the vaparetto system and what routes to use to visit burano. We were greeted with a bottle of prosecco in our room for our anniversary with a kind note from the staff at the hotel. They were able to rearrange our prebooked airport water taxi which was going to pick us up too early to a time that was better suited for us, and they arranged a complimentary water taxi to murano, and no I didn't feel obliged to buy anything when I got there. Overall our stay was magnificent and I would without a doubt recommend this hotel. The staff and service is second to none.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gravellator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your great review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again soon here in Venice.

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Our stay at the Palazzo Stern was perfect. The room had a fabulous view, was very comfortable and was spotless. The staff were friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. The breakfast was excellent and the location nice and quiet whilst still being an easily walkable distance to the centre. I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking grand canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice.

Have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This hotel is an amazing gem in the city of Venice. We only wish we were there longer than just two days. This beautiful hotel takes you back in time as you take in the attention to detail of every corner of the building. Upon arrival the staff was extremely welcoming and accommodating. The room was very spacious, overlooked the canal, and provided luxury at its finest. There are wonderful Murano glass chandeliers and eye catching artwork which add to the splendor of this hotel and make you know you are in Venice, Italy. The linens on the beds are extremely pleasing to the eye and touch. There is a very spacious patio off the inside bar overlooking the large canal where you may sit and watch the boats pass up and down the canal. The breakfast at this hotel in the morning is very nice as well inclusive of most anything you desire. Eggs, bacon, fruit, meats, cheeses, and homemade pastries of which I had to try one of everything.

The hotel is only a short walk or water taxi ride to the St. Mark’s Square where you can take in the beauty of the Cathedral and do some shopping. There are also some great bars in the Square to stop and have a coffee or refreshing cocktail. A trip to the Murano glass factory is a must to see how they make the beautiful glass artwork and lighting. We went to the Bisanzio Gallery for our tour which I recommend highly as well.

Room Tip: Our room was a canal view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review, I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice.

Have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Palazzo Stern is such a lovely hotel, it seems almost a petty to fault it at all. The building is characterful, located close to Academia Bridge, right next to ferry stop Ca’ Rezzonico, so it's handy (and €16/pp) to get there directly from the airport, which takes about an hour via the most scenic airport transfer imaginable.

An upgrade to a deluxe room is always a pleasure when checking in and we had a large, well appointed room at the back of the building, which means no direct Canal view, but zero noise either. Unlike many typical Venetian hotels, Stern's decor is not overly frilly, which was part of our reason for choosing it. It was not the cheapest either (nor the most expensive, by a long way), but for Venice this is good value for money.

Decor was perfect (padded material wall-covering, etc), the bed large and firm, while there was a espresso/tea machine in the room. The whirlpool bath didn't seem to work terribly well, but was not a major issue for us, as we hadn't expected to have one. A nice addition would be an iPod dock, but we didn't come to Venice to linger in our room for too long; too much to see. TV channels offered are very limited, but again, you're in Venice, so who cares? There is wi-fi in the hotel, so you could always pack your Chromecast, if you own one.

Service was excellent and included nice touches such as the next day's weather forecast on our pillows eahc evening, with a chocolate, of course! There is no lunch/dinner served at Stern, but it does offer a fantastic (cooked) breakfast, which includes proper espresso/cappuccino coffee, rather than the usual stewed rubbish that most of the biggest hotels pass off as 'coffee'. We had breakfast on the north-facing terrace each day, which is to be recommended if weather permits, but do watch the pigeons, which will swoop on any unattended plates in a heartbeat.

There is a private jacuzzi on the roof, which we didn't try, but is available at extra cost. As and when we return, we will no doubt aim to use that, as the view must be something else from up there! We did try the bar, which is the single biggest black mark against the Stern... A gin & tonic in the bar cost €24 (yes, for ONE drink), which is absurd and is probably why the place is always empty. There are bars and places to eat everywhere, so you don't have to stray far for a more reasonably-priced Bellini, Aperol or Prosecco, or whatever's your poison.

Apart from a local visitor tax (€24) added to the final bill, there were no nasty surprises on top of the B&B rate booked in advance, which is always a relief. As an aside, my other half is an Italian who has visited Venice several times; she too was blown away by Palazzo Stern. I would have no hesitation in recommending it and hope to return someday.

Room Tip: Aim for the rear if you like it quiet, or the front for a view (and a half!), though depends on your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbsentParent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us!
Ber rates are high, but not as high as you can imagine. Sure there are many bars round the corner who are less expensive than us, but you are not seated in a terrace on the Grand Canal in an historical Palazzo!
:o)
I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice, have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,864 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,761 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
1,980 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 385 in Venice
3,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Stern

Property: Hotel Palazzo Stern
Address: Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Venice
#7 Family Hotel in Venice
#15 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#17 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Stern 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Stern is an historical Moorish Palazzo on the Grand Canal. The location is very convenient: easy to reach, close to the main attractions and at the same time in a very Venice area. If you are looking for a unique venetian experience in the real Venice and far from the crowd of the mass tourism we are the right place to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Stern Hotel
Palazzo Stern Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing