We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, watch the overpriced drinks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Ranked #19 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Spent a weekend here in a standard twin (502). Great room, overlooking the roof tops and as a result really quiet. Bathroom looked brand new and a comfy bed - for a standard room this was really good quality. Staff were all really friendly (thank you Filippo, Francesco) and genuine.

The decor of the hotel is stunning - looks like a little Moorish palace from inside the lobby and gets even better on the second floor. Quite deceiving as from the outside it's relatively plain.
Agree with everyone else on the location - perfect, it's a lovely little area far enough away from the crowds but not too far (25mins walk) to Piazza San Marco. Lots of little restaurants 5 mins away.

We had a jacuzzi on the roof which was lovely - you're the only ones up there (it's a jacuzzi-size roof area!) and views across the roof tops, well worth the 70 euros for an hour.
The breakfast is very filling, loads of choice and well worth getting down there for 7.30 when it opens to have the terrace to yourself for an hour. But watch the pigeons, they are real pests and will attack your food if you leave it 5 seconds...

And we'd also recommend coming in by private water taxi on arrival direct to the Palazzo Stern's private jetty - saves you having to wonder how to find your hotel with your heavy suitcases, and you get to feel like James Bond for 30 minutes - a stunning way in to Venice. We took the public line back and it's twice as long and you're pretty crammed inside.

Finally, Dennis the bar man was great - but the owner needs to rethink the incredibly high prices (€25 a gin & tonic!!!) which means you'd be better off going somewhere else for your aperitif and a view. Shame - a well priced happy hour and reasonable prices for standard drinks, and we would have stayed on the terrace more often.

Thanks everyone at Palazzo Stern, we will recommend you!

Room Tip: If you have a standard room go for the 5th floor (they're on ground and fifth). For a quiet slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us!
I'm sorry for the high rates at the bar. We made a mistake with the menus etc. but now it's fixed and the rates are much cheaper.

Thank you and have a great day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

560 - 566 of 1,728 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

We would absolutely recommend this hotel. Fantastic location on the Grand Canal, right next to the Ca Rezzonico vaporetta stop and only a 5 min walk from the Accademia. Lots of restaurants to choose from locally, would recommend Pane Vino e San Danielle which is only a couple of hundred yards away.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a good selection of continental buffet and bacon & eggs.
We had a triple room with a huge double and a single and with a shower wet room. The beds were very comfortable.
No hesitation in recommending the Palazzo Stern

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your great review!
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcome you again soon.

Have a great day,

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Not sure what I can add that hasn't already been said, however I can confirm that the staff and wonderfully welcoming and helpful and the location is perfect - close enough to the main areas that walking is not a chore, yet far enough away that you avoid the crowds. Being able to virtually walk out of the hotel onto the vaporetto is a bonus.

As others have noted, the rooms at the front (we stayed in a junior suite - 404) have a glorious view but you do need to bear in mind that the canal is basically the high street so there is some noise, and there is a bell tower across the canal that rings at 7:30 most mornings, so light sleepers beware.

There are a number of very good restaurants within 10 walk covering the full gamet of italian/venetian food. Be warned though, we were there just before Easter, before the high season, and a couple of the restaurants were still booked out every night. I imagine more will require reservations in busy periods.

Room Tip: Not really a room tip, however getting a water taxi to the hotel from the airport is by far the most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review!
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to have the chance to welcome you again soon.

Sure during high season is better to reserve the restaurants. We can do it for you, just let us know!
:o)

Warmest regards,

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Obviously it's all been said how good this place is, I loved it and would recommend it to everyone. I always like to plan holidays to a fine detail so this review is for those like me.

- We stayed in 304 which is a junior suite overlooking grand canal: the view is brilliant but yes you can hear the vaporetto bus at night a little. Of course this is the price you pay for the location and in my opinion it's still worth it.
- It's really worth just relaxing in the hotel room in the afternoon sitting by the windows (which you open all wide open so it feels like a balcony but you have to sit straight to be able to see the grand canal). It looks like junior suite with balcony (there's only one!) on 2nd floor is best for this activity.
- It's decadent, but I couldn't resist ordering breakfast in our room on one day of our stay (there's no extra cost), this was a real treat but if I had to make a criticism it would be that my 'order' was quite hurried on the phone, i think i was talking with the porter - after about only 3 buffet items, he was basically putting the phone down to stop me ordering any more.
- Eating breakfast on the terrace is lovely as well but when we were there, the hotel (or perhaps Venice in general) seems to have quite a problem with agressive pigeons! They were quite a nuisance i have to admit. Of course this isn't really something the hotel can control but just a warning for those leaving crumbs on the table whilst they go to get a second helping.
- Check your bill at the end before you pay (i forgot to do this and realised I'd been charged for prosecco twice after I'd already paid - fortunately they were quick to rectify this regardless in a very friendly manner.
- They clean the rooms perfectly each day this was such a pleasant surprise each time we came back.
- The silk curtains are wonderful
- In fact everything in the room: chandaliers and wallpaper etc
- Don't leave windows open when going out
- Make sure you get to chat with the famous barman 'Dennis from Venice', really nice guy and likes to talk so you can learn a lot from him.

Room Tip: 2nd floor junior suite with balcony looks like the best room. If you are a very light sleeper, go fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Will C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

What a great review!!!

Thanks a lot for the suggestion about the breakfast in the room. In fact is quite strange that the concierge was "in hurry". There must a reason, we will investigate.

Yes, there are a lot of pigeons in Venice! Unfortunately there nothing we can do about them.

Sorry for the mistake about the bill!

I'm happy that your experience has been nice despite all these minor issues (that I hope to not repeat with anybody in the future!).
I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice, have a great day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Fantastic location and friendly, helpful staff. Our room was beautiful, overlooking the Grand canal, and the hotel was absolutely charming, the prettiest Palazzo on the canal!
There is lovely, sunny breakfast terrace where an excellent breakfast was served every day. We would highly recommend this hotel for a romantic break. There is no dinner restaurant but there are plenty of lovely places to eat close by and the whole area is much nicer than around St Marks.

Room Tip: Room 406 overlooked the Grand Canal and had lovely big windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsBGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again soon here.

Have a great day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is a really lovely hotel in a brilliant location.
The staff were unfailingly polite and helpful from the minute we checked in to the moment they helped us step aboard our taxi-boat to the airport which they had booked for us.
It is away from the main drag so doesn't get the crowds or hoards of tourists. However it is just around the corner from a number of picturesque squares where super little restaurants offer good food and opportunities for people watching.
The hotel's canal side location means that breakfast on the terrasse is a real treat. Watching Venice go about its morning business along the Grande Canal while enjoying as good a breakfast as any we have had was a real highlight of the trip.
Our room was beautifully decorated mainly in gold. With gold fabric wall coverings, gold cupboards, a gold bed and gold tiles in the bathroom. This fitted perfectly with the whole style of the hotel and the genteel opulence of Venice.
I would highly recommend this hotel. It's not cheap but if you want to experience Venice and be able to walk or boat to all the significant locations easily and combine this with a very comfortable, luxurious stay, then this is the place.
We would love to return to Venice and stay again at the Palazzo Stern.

Room Tip: Our room was at the side so had an oblique view of the canal but was incredibly quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quaatchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us!
I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice. Have a great day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We have recently returned from a wonderful stay in Venice, which was made all the better by staying at the Palazzo Stern. The hotel is ideally situated, away from the hustle and bustle, but close enough to see the major sights quite easily. There is also a vaparetto stop right outside the hotel that is on the number 1 route and will take you straight to st marks square. The hotel itself is very beautiful, and has the advantage of a terrace overlooking the grand canal, with an excellent view of the acadamia bridge. Breakfast here was wonderful, the food was plentiful and there was a good variety. The room was large and comfortable. It was clean, and the maid did an excellent job. Only couple of niggles is there is no air conditioning so at times it was a little too warm, and there is no iron in the room. However the hotel was more than accommodating in that respect as the hotel maid ironed my husbands shirt for him for a night out. This was not the only situation in which the service excelled. For example, before we had even arrived I emailed the hotel about dropping our bags in before check in as we had an early flight. Within half an hour of booking they had contacted me assuring us that that would be no problem. In fact, we were able to check in early with only a half hour wait for the room. We were given a complimentary drink on the terrace whilst we waited. We were given excellent restaurant recommendations based on our requirements and given a detailed map to locate them. They helped to explain the vaparetto system and what routes to use to visit burano. We were greeted with a bottle of prosecco in our room for our anniversary with a kind note from the staff at the hotel. They were able to rearrange our prebooked airport water taxi which was going to pick us up too early to a time that was better suited for us, and they arranged a complimentary water taxi to murano, and no I didn't feel obliged to buy anything when I got there. Overall our stay was magnificent and I would without a doubt recommend this hotel. The staff and service is second to none.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gravellator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your great review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again soon here in Venice.

Warmest regards,

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,590 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 385 in Venice
1,872 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Canal Grande
#10 of 385 in Venice
2,128 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 385 in Venice
1,961 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Stern

Address: Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Venice
#7 Family Hotel in Venice
#13 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#15 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £151 - £470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Stern 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Stern is an historical Moorish Palazzo on the Grand Canal. The location is very convenient: easy to reach, close to the main attractions and at the same time in a very Venice area. If you are looking for a unique venetian experience in the real Venice and far from the crowd of the mass tourism we are the right place to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Stern Hotel
Palazzo Stern Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing