We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Italy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Ranked #21 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had an absolutely wonderful time at the Hotel Palazzo Stern! My family of four has a king sized bed and two twin beds to keep us comfortable. The junior suite was large and modern, with windows that opened up onto the Grand Canal. The view looking out each day was worth the price alone!

The bath was modern and beautifully decorated. There are several Italian electrical plugs for your electronics and even one USA 2 pronged plug. Wi-Fi is free. Our room was quiet even though it faced the canal.

The staff was superb and saw to every need we had from directions to dinner reservations. We were always greeted with a smile and made to feel very welcome. The breakfast was excellent and eating by the water’s edge was a true highlight of our entire vacation.

Our experience here was top notch and we would recommend it to our closest friends and family.

Room Tip: Looking out on the Canal from your room is one of the top experiences in all of Europe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ginmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Buongiorno!

Thanks a lot for this very nice review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us!
I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice, have a great day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

514 - 520 of 1,753 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Perfect location at the grand canal! Romantical terrasse for breakfast and an evening cocktail! The service in the evening is not the fastest but creates wunderful cocktails! Rooms are very venice styled!
Breakfast is good but could be more selected.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ottoulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review and for all your suggestions.
I hope to have the chance to welcome you again here in Venice, have a great day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Spent 3 nights at the Palazzo Stern in July and was pleased with many aspects of the hotel. Great location on the Grand Canal and access to the #1 public water taxi right outside. Great bar and outside seating area on the canal. Included breakfast had lots of choices and the coffee kept on coming. Rooms are all different and interesting. Had to get instructions for use of our shower. Front desk was helpful and courteous, but did not get us our wake up call the morning we left. If you are transferring to the airport or train and it's an early pick up (6:40 AM), there was no staff on hand to assist with luggage from the room or onto the boat. Overall, a fine experience and a solid 4 star.

Room Tip: We had a room in back looking out over roof tops and it was nice and quiet. Do not know how much no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Charlie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review.
Please accept my apologize for the missed wakeup call. This is a mistake that should not happen, never ever.
I'm happy anyway to know that luckily it didn't cause any major deal.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again here in Venice, have a great day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The staff here is amazing. They were extremely helpful and kind. We were upgraded to a suite with a view of the canal......a spectacular view of the canal! The location is very convenient. We took a water taxi directly to the hotel but the vaporetto stop was just steps away.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice.

Warmest regards,

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Beautiful hotel! Really enjoyed the terrace for breakfast and an evening drink. Room was spacious. Staff is great. Location cannot be beat. Will definitely want to stay here next time we visit Venice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mememeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice!!!

Have a great day,

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

If you are visiting Venice for the first time, you should know that reaching your hotel is not easy especially if you are dragging some luggage behind you. Palazzo Stern is perfectly located near a vaporetto stop, literally less than 30 seconds walking distance. Think about it, and be ready to pay for a small premium just because of that. We arrived on a stormy day where rain was pouring, and this was a great advantage for us not to walk under a heavy rain, while being lost in the tiny streets of Venice.

Second, Palazzo is a charming hotel with great service and super friendly staff. Make sure to ask for a room on the top floor. You will have windows in the ceiling. Of course the inconvenience would be the sound of rain (if it is raining) , but it was not that annoying.

Once we were late for breakfast, and the staff were very kind in setting a table for us on the terrace and served us breakfast at no additional cost (since breakfast was included in our rate)

In summary, excellent hotel location, charming setup and room, friendly staff, good value for money. It is definitely highly recommended to stay in this hotel. Enjoy Venice!

A small negative note though.... On their website you have an option to "arrive in style for free".... Well it is disappointing. You will have to take a taxi from the airport to a sister hotel (60 euros), then they will take you in their private boat to the hotel.... For me, this is definitely neither arriving in style nor for free. Take the vaporetto from the airport for 15 euros per person, and land on the vaporetto stop that is next to the hotel Ca'Rizzonico (orange line).

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank BGMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review, I'm happy you enjoyed your stay.

I'm sorry you didn't like our boat service, but I think you didn't realize completely what means moving through Venice. Let me clarify this point.
To have a boat in Venice you need a license. I'm not referring to the driving license, you need an authorization to bring people from one place to the other. These authorizations are really really hard to have and very precise about WHERE and WHEN you can go in town.

We are allowed to go only between our properties. It means from Piazzale Roma / train station, to Stern and to Vivaldi (San Marco). It means that if you have to reach us from the airport you need to take a taxi car to Piazzale Roma, which cost between 40 and 60 euros (or a bus, 2.5 € per person). We can book the taxi car for you (you will pay directly the driver) and then we will bring you free of charge to the hotel with our boat.

In this way you don't have to walk to the dock of the airport (as you did) and you pay just for the car. The saving is not bad, a taxi boat from the airport to any place of venice cost 120 €, nobody will wait you at the arrivals and you have to walk for 10 minutes to the dock, under the rain or the sun depending on how luck you are with the weather. so you save between 60 and 80 euros.

If you arrive with your car or at the train station you will not have to pay a cent, as our boat is free of charge.

That's it! I know it's not a lot, but it's FREE and is better than nothing. Try to ask another venetian hotel if they have this service...
This is a plus, something you don't have to pay for. So I don't think you can complaint for it.

Anyway if you don't like this service you are not forced to use it. you can take a private taxi and pay 120 €!

;oP

And yes, the vaporetto is less expensive (15 € per person, so if you are two you pay 30 €), but it's a vaporetto, a bus on the water. It takes one hour and 20 minutes to bring you at the hotel and you have to walk to the dock. Are you sure you can compare it with our private boat service? With an original Celli wooden boat from '60?

I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice, thank you and have a great day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Palazzo Stern is a truly unique experience in an extraordinary City. The hotel is steps away from the Ca Rezzonico vaporetto stop. How welcome the 15 step jaunt from that stop is after the initial chaotic entry into Venice from the train station. The hotel is a veritable throw-back to 16th century Venice in terms of its gorgeous columns, mosaics and other tile work throughout the hotel. Somehow, they have managed to blend the sumptuous decor of an earlier Venice with modern luxury and sophistication. The Jr. Suite that we had for four nights was spacious, beautifully appointed and impeccably clean. Our floor-to-ceiling windows offered a "grand" view of the Grand Canal. The beds were amazingly comfortable. Service throughout the hotel was professional, friendly and extremely efficient. Breakfast on the veranda, overlooking the Grand Canal, was lovely and sumptuous...with great coffee. The Dorsoduro location was about as perfect as could be in Venice. A 3 minute walk put you in the neighborhood of great restaurants and sophisticated specialty shops. Despite this proximity to shopping, one never felt any crowd effect. If there could be one addition that we would request when we revisit Palazzo Stern, it would be a suite with a shower.

Room Tip: Jr. Suite on upper floor...with view of the Grand Canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank harry014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review, I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us!

We have some rooms with both bathtub and walk in shower, just let us know your desire at the moment of the reservation and we will try to fulfill them!

Warmest regards,

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 387 in Venice
1,907 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#8 of 387 in Venice
2,183 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 387 in Venice
1,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#14 of 387 in Venice
1,616 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Stern

Address: Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Venice
#5 Family Hotel in Venice
#15 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#15 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £149 - £424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Stern 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Stern is an historical Moorish Palazzo on the Grand Canal. The location is very convenient: easy to reach, close to the main attractions and at the same time in a very Venice area. If you are looking for a unique venetian experience in the real Venice and far from the crowd of the mass tourism we are the right place to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Stern Hotel
Palazzo Stern Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing