We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would've been amazing if air conditioning worked”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Ranked #20 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This location is so picturesque and accessible, and the rooms beautiful with spiral staircases inside. Unfortunately it was very hot (over 90 degrees outside), and for our entire three days they could not get the air conditioning to work in our room. Repairmen were scheduled but didn't come, and a fan really didn't solve the situation. The hotel was full for a wedding so there were no other room options to switch. They did give us a 10% discount on the room cost (at my insistence) when we checked out. Also the bathrooms were a bit unexpected: they have a curtain around the shower head but not a separate stall/bath, the tiles are pink and very feminine, and there is absolutely no counter space. Breakfast selection is adequate and the view eating on the terrace is unparalleled, although watch out for the aggressive pigeons.

Room Tip: 102 and 103 are right on the ground floor by the lobby but quiet. However, check that the air condit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wellsfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your review.
The air conditioning was working during your stay. The repairmen came to check it (obviously when you were not in the room) and everything was fine. I'm sorry if you needed a lower temperature, but that's quite unusual (in fact we don't get complaints for these things usually).
In any case, as you wrote, we tried to make your stay more comfortable with an extra fan and with a extra (not due) 10% off.

Also, the hotel is fully accessible, as you wrote. This means that some rooms must have the standards needed for the wheelchair. And your room was one of those. That's why the bathroom had some accessories that you usually don't find in a regular bathroom. You forgot to mention that these bathrooms are way bigger than a regular one. And also your room was VERY big for a standard: 35 square meters.

Warmest regards,

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

478 - 484 of 1,714 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

My daughter and I stayed at Palazzo Stern at the beginning of August. I had chosen the hotel based on the extremely positive reviews on Trip Advisor. It definitely lived up to its billing and then some. The location is excellent and they have their own private docking for the water taxis - you can even walk to St. Marco's in 5 minutes. The property itself is absolutely beautiful. We loved the Murano glass chandelier, the original mosaics, and murals that adorn the hotel. Our room was spacious with lots of old world charm but still with all the modern conveniences one would expect. The service was incredible. All staff were very knowledgeable about even the most obscure tourist spots and restaurants. It was my daughter's birthday during our vacation and one of the staff recommended the perfect restaurant and even organized the preparation and delivery of the birthday cake. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Venice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review, I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us!
I look forward to welcome you again here at Palazzo Stern, have a great day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights in August. The location is amazing. The hotel is right next to the water bus station. The hotel is very special and unique, the decor was amazing, and our room was fantastic. The staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was quite plain but delicious. Venice itself is one of the most beautiful cities in the world. What a wonderful experience. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LorraineC17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Buongiorno!

Thanks a lot for your very kind review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us!!!

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again here in Venice in the future, have a great day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank forooghg
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We recently stayed here and was absolutely blown away by the hotels standards. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the location was very convenient for all major tourist attractions and the roof top hot tub was a highlight. The hotel provides a good breakfast served on the stunning breakfast terrace over looking the Grand Canal. The hotels cleanliness was outstanding, we stayed in a suite and the facilities were incredible. Would highly recommend to anyone visiting Venice!! Fantastic all round experience (Beautiful city).

Room Tip: Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Buongiorno!

I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope to have the chance to welcome you again in our beautiful Venice.

Have a great day,

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My two children and I recently enjoyed four amazing nights at the Palazzo Stern in a Grand Canal facing room with balcony and I truly think it was the experience of a lifetime. The beauty of the hotel and the service were unparalleled, especially the kindness of Filippo who arranged a trip to Burano for us. The view up and down the canal was gorgeous and changing with every hour and the interior of the hotel was breathtaking. We will never stay anywhere else when we visit Venice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Buongiorno!

Thanks a lot for this very nice review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice.

Have a great day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had an absolutely wonderful time at the Hotel Palazzo Stern! My family of four has a king sized bed and two twin beds to keep us comfortable. The junior suite was large and modern, with windows that opened up onto the Grand Canal. The view looking out each day was worth the price alone!

The bath was modern and beautifully decorated. There are several Italian electrical plugs for your electronics and even one USA 2 pronged plug. Wi-Fi is free. Our room was quiet even though it faced the canal.

The staff was superb and saw to every need we had from directions to dinner reservations. We were always greeted with a smile and made to feel very welcome. The breakfast was excellent and eating by the water’s edge was a true highlight of our entire vacation.

Our experience here was top notch and we would recommend it to our closest friends and family.

Room Tip: Looking out on the Canal from your room is one of the top experiences in all of Europe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ginmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Buongiorno!

Thanks a lot for this very nice review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us!
I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice, have a great day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 385 in Venice
1,857 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#17 of 385 in Venice
1,577 reviews
Hotel L'Orologio
#23 of 385 in Venice
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo
#28 of 385 in Venice
770 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Stern

Address: Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Venice
#7 Family Hotel in Venice
#14 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#15 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £155 - £548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Stern 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Stern is an historical Moorish Palazzo on the Grand Canal. The location is very convenient: easy to reach, close to the main attractions and at the same time in a very Venice area. If you are looking for a unique venetian experience in the real Venice and far from the crowd of the mass tourism we are the right place to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Stern Hotel
Palazzo Stern Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing