We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 20th wedding anniversary at Palazzo Stern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Ranked #23 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Edegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful 20th wedding anniversary at Palazzo Stern”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at Palazzo Stern to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary together with our two daughters (10 and 17). Already in the first e-mail exchanges we experienced the warm and friendly welcome of Palazzo Stern. For our arrival we used the complimentary water-taxi-ride to arrive "in style" at Palazzo Stern. We had a quad occupancy room with canal view and we enjoyed the unique views on the Canal Grande, the "Venetian-style" bathroom with whirlpool-bath, the free expresso in the room, ... The location and setting, with terrace on the Canal Grande, is unique. We also enjoyed the dinner on the terrace of their "sister"-hotel Locanda Vivaldi. The view over La Laguna, San Marco, ... was truly exceptional. We will be back ...

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel to get the Canal Viiew rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fvdven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review, I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us!

I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice, have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,351
    239
    54
    7
    13
See reviews for
346
1,046
51
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

A truly lovely experience, friendly helpful and courteous staff. A perfect location for watching activities on the grand canal. We walked to all the main attractions within the city but enjoyed the relative peace and quiet of this special location. Although we didn't try it, fellow travelers gave extremely good feedback of the sister restaurant which is mentioned at reception. We found plenty of choice of restaurants in the streets behind the hotel.
Clean and well appointed rooms with very comfortable beds. Breakfast was excellent. We would happily return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice.

Have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We checked in to the Palazzo Stern for our first visit to Venice. The Waterbury from the airport was hot and stuffy but on arriving at the Ca'rezzonico stop through hotel is right there. The welcome was very pleasant but the hotel decor is quite stunning. The breakfast on the front veranda over looking the Grand canal is ok but the views are stunning. A very pleasant 30 min stroll to St Marks square, great shopping at Realto and some awesome local restaurants make this a perfect hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rushie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
BUongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice.

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

The view of the Grand Canal from the terrace is extraordinary. The interior of the building itself is beautiful also. Staff are cordial and very professional. This is one of the best hotels in Venice, adjacent to the Ca'Rezzonico vaporetto stop and within a short walk of the Accademia bridge. Nearby restaurants in Dorsoro are numerous, varied and attract local residents as well as visitors.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the Grand Canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Methymna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcome you again here in Venice!

Have a nice day,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandy, utah
Level Contributor
256 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This location is so picturesque and accessible, and the rooms beautiful with spiral staircases inside. Unfortunately it was very hot (over 90 degrees outside), and for our entire three days they could not get the air conditioning to work in our room. Repairmen were scheduled but didn't come, and a fan really didn't solve the situation. The hotel was full for a wedding so there were no other room options to switch. They did give us a 10% discount on the room cost (at my insistence) when we checked out. Also the bathrooms were a bit unexpected: they have a curtain around the shower head but not a separate stall/bath, the tiles are pink and very feminine, and there is absolutely no counter space. Breakfast selection is adequate and the view eating on the terrace is unparalleled, although watch out for the aggressive pigeons.

Room Tip: 102 and 103 are right on the ground floor by the lobby but quiet. However, check that the air condit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wellsfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your review.
The air conditioning was working during your stay. The repairmen came to check it (obviously when you were not in the room) and everything was fine. I'm sorry if you needed a lower temperature, but that's quite unusual (in fact we don't get complaints for these things usually).
In any case, as you wrote, we tried to make your stay more comfortable with an extra fan and with a extra (not due) 10% off.

Also, the hotel is fully accessible, as you wrote. This means that some rooms must have the standards needed for the wheelchair. And your room was one of those. That's why the bathroom had some accessories that you usually don't find in a regular bathroom. You forgot to mention that these bathrooms are way bigger than a regular one. And also your room was VERY big for a standard: 35 square meters.

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My daughter and I stayed at Palazzo Stern at the beginning of August. I had chosen the hotel based on the extremely positive reviews on Trip Advisor. It definitely lived up to its billing and then some. The location is excellent and they have their own private docking for the water taxis - you can even walk to St. Marco's in 5 minutes. The property itself is absolutely beautiful. We loved the Murano glass chandelier, the original mosaics, and murals that adorn the hotel. Our room was spacious with lots of old world charm but still with all the modern conveniences one would expect. The service was incredible. All staff were very knowledgeable about even the most obscure tourist spots and restaurants. It was my daughter's birthday during our vacation and one of the staff recommended the perfect restaurant and even organized the preparation and delivery of the birthday cake. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Venice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very nice review, I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us!
I look forward to welcome you again here at Palazzo Stern, have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights in August. The location is amazing. The hotel is right next to the water bus station. The hotel is very special and unique, the decor was amazing, and our room was fantastic. The staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was quite plain but delicious. Venice itself is one of the most beautiful cities in the world. What a wonderful experience. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LorraineC17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Buongiorno!

Thanks a lot for your very kind review. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us!!!

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again here in Venice in the future, have a great day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,864 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,761 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
1,981 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 385 in Venice
3,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Stern

Property: Hotel Palazzo Stern
Address: Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Venice
#7 Family Hotel in Venice
#15 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#17 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Stern 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Stern is an historical Moorish Palazzo on the Grand Canal. The location is very convenient: easy to reach, close to the main attractions and at the same time in a very Venice area. If you are looking for a unique venetian experience in the real Venice and far from the crowd of the mass tourism we are the right place to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Stern Hotel
Palazzo Stern Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing