We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Nearby Hotels
US$438
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$393
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$330
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Moresco(Venice)
US$439
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Arlecchino Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$331
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$281
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$251
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$371
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$273
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$306
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$266
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,824)
Filter reviews
1,824 results
Traveller rating
1,495
251
57
8
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,495
251
57
8
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsca' rezzonicovaporetto stopgrand canalbeautiful hoteljunior suiteterrace overlooking the canalaccademia bridgejacuzzi bathperfect locationstandard roombottle of proseccowatch the worldwater busmurano glass chandeliersstay in veniceorange linecoffee machine
Filter
Updating list...
1,283 - 1,288 of 1,824 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Palazzo Stern is a luxurious small hotel that looks and is decorated like a palace and is absolutely perfect in every way! It has great location on the Grand Canal (very quiet but close to everything), there is both a vaporetto and a traghetto stop outside the hotel (Ca 'Rezzonico) and it is just a 5 minute walk away from the Accademia bridge that leads to San Marco. The building is carefully renovated, very elegant, the rooms were spotless, the staff was wonderful, the service was impecable and the breakfast was very good. We enjoyed every minute of our stay there! The only thing we missed was warmer weather so that we could sit on the terrace outside and enjoy the magnificent view of the Grand Canal with a nice glass of Italian wine!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Latvia_SE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

This hotel is lovely and we would definately stay here again. The location is perfect for anyone wanting to explore the city. We entered the hotel from our taxi boat and were greeted at the door, where are bags were taken from us. Our check in was quick and we were guided to our room and shown around, which made us feel very welcomed. The front desk staff were very help and polite and were super with directions.

The room was very clean and was cleaned with fresh towels twice a day. The bathroom was beautiful, very modern and bright. It too was very spotless. A weather forecast card and sweets were left on our pillows in the evening, which was a lovely touch. We enjoyed our buffet breakfast, where a selection of breads, pasteries, eggs etc were on display. The restaurant staff were so polite and helpful.

The hotel is within walking distance from all the main tourist attractions and it is situated on a water bus stop. However there is no direct route from this to the airport. Our one complaint was that the man on the front desk told us to change stops at s.angelo and get onto the water bus route 2 for airport connections but after waiting at this stop for over forty minutes we had to get a water taxi to the airport and it left in a bit of a rush. I would recommend if you do not want to get a water taxi to the airport (which cost us 95euro), that you get the water bus from the Rialto which is not too long a walk from the hotel.

Venice did experience some flooding while we were there but the hotel provided us with umbrellas and there was no fear of the hotel flooding. We did purchase wellies just around the corner from the hotel too.
Our stay in Hotel Palazzo Stern was a very enjoyable one and we do hope to return again and make use of the eating area on the water front and the jacuzzi (weather permitting).

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LC_irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

You realize you made the right choice when the water taxi drops you off at the private landing of the hotel where you are met by hotel staff, after a jaw-dropping ride down the Grand Canal.

If that doesn't do for you, the warm welcome you receive when you are checking in and the beautiful surroundings should probably do the trick.

The hotel is perfectly located between the Accademia bridge and the Rialto and right at the Ca' Rezzonico vaporetto stop. Which gives you tremendously easy access to everything, while at the same time, a short walk behind the hotel and you're in an actual neighborhood, with a vegetable vendors selling their wares from a boat, a grocery store (great place to pick up some prosecco), and students spilling out onto the "street" from bars in the evening even in the dead of winter.

The rooms are huge (we had a junior suite overlooking the Grand Canal, HIGHLY recommended, you'll feel like a celebrity when the tourists on the vaporetto snap your picture when you look out you huge windows with the aforementioned prosecco in your hand), enormous jetted tubs (ideal after a long, chilly day of walking), and decorated just the way you'd want for a hotel in Venice, elegant and warm.

Breakfast is expansive, perfectly prepared, and presented. The room it's served in is chic, as are the bar, and all the other public spaces. Be sure to check out the 2nd floor landing with it's enormous chandelier.

The staff is very friendly, helpful, and make you feel very much at home, which is what this beautiful hotel feels like. The turn down service, weather cards, remembering your preferences, etc., you just can't get this kind of attention and service in a larger hotel.

Our only regret is that we didn't get to experience the front terrace, was a bit chilly in January!

This is the perfect place to stay in Venice, hands down!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LancPAtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, MAnager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2010

Thank you very much for this great review!!!
I really appreciate it.

I wait to welcome you soon again, maybe during summer so you will have the chance to enjoy the terrace on the Grand Canal and the rooftop Jacuzzi as well!!

Warmest regards,

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

Wonderful location, very friendly staff, beautiful rooms and bathrooms, superb setting. We enjoyed ourselves immensely and look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GNCParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2010

Thank you!

I wait to welcome you soon again here in Venice.

Warmest regards,

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2010

Based right next to the Ca Rezzonica vaporetto stop, the stay at the hotel starts well as there's no lugging bags round the narrow streets. You enter via a beautiful terrace, the only hotel with one on the Grand Canal (I believe). On checkling in, we were given a map and guide to some of the famous spots/churches etc and how to get there, which was very helpful. Cases were then taken up to the room, which was absoultely beautiful with a great en suite complete with whirlpool bath (a great way to relax after long days walking round Venice). Nice touch was two maid services per day, so our room was back to new when we got back from a day out and after our evening meal, complete with card on the pillow giving weather forecast for next day, which was very handy. Also had temperature control. Breakfasts were very tasty and catered for all tastes, so us Brits could have bacon and eggs as well as Continental style (although bacon was actually grilled parma ham, which actually was v nice). As a former palace, the decor was stunning everywhere - in the breakfast room, the communal areas and the room itself.
We got a greaty deal because of the time of year, so were only paying just over £100 per night, great value if you can get something similar.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Halfapound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2010

Dear Friend,

thank you for your kind feedback!
you are right: we are the only hotel in Venice with a private Terrace on the Grand Canal!!!

Warmest regards,

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews