We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Ranked #23 of 388 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Palazzo Stern is an excellent hotel in a great location. Right on the Grand Canal with a vaparetto stop a few metres away. A good breakfast is taken on the terrace. the service is very good. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricfromCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,214 - 1,220 of 1,770 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2010

Great hotel in great location at a resonable cost. Everything was clean and brand new. Breakfast was great and you could sit out on the grand canal side patio to eat breakfast. The hotel was in a great location. Right next to the water bus stop and you could walk to everything. It would be helpful it the hotel could provide more infomation about the sites, tours to take and things to do around the city.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeep030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2010

Dear Friend,

thank you for your very kind review. We will try to improve to information section of our website regarding the things you can do and see close to the hotel, as well as an infop conrer inside the hotel.

I wait to welcome you again in our wonderful city!!!

Warmest regards,

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

The hotel is luxuriously appointed with decor and fittings sympathetic to its architecture. The outside terrace facing la Canle Grande is an excellent spot to enjoy breakfast or indeed a night-cap affording views to l'Accademia.

The lack of a restaurant is more than compensated for by the large number of bars and restaurants in the surrounding area, although, the hotel itself enjoys a quiet, relaxing ambience.

There is a convenient taxi-stop and the Vaporetto boarding point is only yards away.

The multi lingual, highly trained waiting and front-desk staff are very helpful and friendly.
I would reccomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulEGaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2010

Dear Paul,

thanks a lot for your kind review!
I wait to welcome you soon again here in Venice, have a great day!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

We chose Hotel Palazzo Stern for our celebratory weekend after reading lots of reviews and we were not disappointed in any way, in fact this hotel exceeded our expectations. The service was impeccable, all the staff we met were friendly and helpful offering advice on sightseeing and restaurants. Our room was not particularly large but was beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean, overlooking a garden at the back of the hotel it was very quiet. We were very impressed with the choice available at breakfast which taken on the lovely terrace watching life on the Grand Canal was a real treat every morning. The hotel is next to a vaporetto stop making travelling around very easy, particularly when arriving and leaving for the airport as you don't have to negotiate steps, bridges and crowds with a suitcase.
This hotel is beautiful, but what made our stay special was the extra touches; from the turn down service and weather cards to the kindness of Roberto and his staff. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller186306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2010

Dear Friend,

you are too kind!!! I'm very happy to know that you enjoyed your holiday.
All of us send you a big "Ciao!" and wait to welcome you again here.

Warmest regards,

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

This was our first trip to Venice. We wanted a nice hotel on the Grand Canal. The location is great - near a water stop. It has terrace on the water. The building and rooms were very nice and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I would come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delnole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2010

Thank you!!!

Have a great day,

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

This was our first trip to Venice. If we ever return Palazzo Stern is were we will again stay. 15 minute walk to St. Marks and Rialto Bridge and Market area. Waterbus outside the door, but, we walked everywhere. No need to take the bus when you are walking the the streets of one of the world's most beautiful cities. The staff was so welcoming when we arrived in our water taxi. Pulled right up to the door - literaly. Our room was a Junior Suite room 304. Three sets of windows that open onto the Grand Canal. Wow!

For movie buffs, this converted Palazzo, was the site of the robbery in the movie "The Italian Job" Absolutely beautiful. Stone walls and stairs, chapel on the third floor (part of the old palace), stained galss windows. Just too beautiful.

Everywhere we walked, everywhere we ate was just incredible. The hotel is located in a very quiet area with some of the most beautiful walks you'll ever take in your life, getting you to restaurants and sites. Great breakfast in the morning to get you going. In short, if you are visiting Venice stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank epatrickjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2010

dear Friend,

Thank you for this very nice review!!! I'm very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Warmest regards,

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

The building itself and its location are absolutely top. A palazzo, a real beauty (inside and outside), one of the beautiful facades at the Gran Canal, less than 1 minute from the waterbus Vaporetto. The service was very professional, helpful and polite. The breakfast does not exactly match the splendor of the hotel but was good.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterFerney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2010

Dear Friend,

thank you for your kind review!
we will try to improve the breakfast, should you have any suggestion do not hesitate to contact me.

Warmest regards,

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 388 in Venice
2,016 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#9 of 388 in Venice
2,212 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 388 in Venice
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Palazzo Veneziano
Palazzo Veneziano
#16 of 388 in Venice
307 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#14 of 388 in Venice
1,624 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Stern

Address: Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Venice
#5 Family Hotel in Venice
#15 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#16 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £186 - £494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Stern 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Stern is an historical Moorish Palazzo on the Grand Canal. The location is very convenient: easy to reach, close to the main attractions and at the same time in a very Venice area. If you are looking for a unique venetian experience in the real Venice and far from the crowd of the mass tourism we are the right place to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Stern Hotel
Palazzo Stern Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing