We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I*ll be back !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Ranked #21 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Breakfast could be better !
Parking place should be arrange through the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANTE58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2010

Thank you for the quick message!
We wait to welcome you again here in Venice.

Warmest regards!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,700)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Palazzo Stern
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,143 - 1,149 of 1,700 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2010

We have visited Venice many times, and stayed in some very nice hotels, but the Palazzo Stern is certainly the most wonderful hotel we have been to in Venice.
The position of the hotel on the Grand Canal is perfect, and surprisingly, it is very quiet at night.
The staff are warm, friendly and couldn't have been more helpful.
The Palazzo itself is lovely, with it's own terrace directly over the Grand Canal.
Our bedroom was immaculate, beautifully furnished, with a balcony overlooking the Grand Canal - and the beds were wonderfully comfortable, we have never slept so well!
On sunny mornings to have the excellent breakfast on the terrace with the Canal just inches away was very special.
We shall definitely be returning to the Palazzo Stern, and can't wait for our next visit; It is a superb hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corfton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

No stranger to Venice, having been regularly paying my compliments to the grand dame of the Adriatic for nearly 30 years now in accommodation ranging from tiny back street apartments to five star hotels, I have never stayed anywhere better than Palazzo Stern.

It is a superb location in which to spend a holiday especially if, like us, you take a suite overlooking the Grand Canal. Nowehere in Venice comes cheap but the Stern offers serious five star luxury- the reason it is listed as a four star is because it only offers breakfast rather than lunch and dinner.

The palace, once owned by an antique collector, has been lovingly and tastefully restored. It is light, spacious and with a beautiful balcony overlooking the Canal to take breakfast or an early evening drink.

There are lots of good restaurants nearby, do try both Locanda Montin and Agli Alboretti where Ezra Pound and Peggy Guggenheim have respectively enjoyed their food, and delightful hotel staff to help you with any information you need to know about the city.

Ideally situated for the water bus from the Ca' Rezzonico stop and with a traghetto ferry to carry you across the canal from the San Samuele stop, rowed by Venice's first woman gondolier, all the jewels of the lagoon are on your doorstep.

Palazzo Stern is a splendidly luxurious base from which to see them all. To enjoy the very best that La Serenissima has to offer make your first stop the Palazzo Stern.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Golfing-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2010

Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay!
We wait to welcome you again here in Venice, warmest regards!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights in August and thought it was excellent in every way. We were made to feel very special. The location is stunning and the terrace must be one of the best places to sit and have a drink in Venice. The water stop right outside the hotel makes it very easy to get about. Location wise it is excellent and we found some very reasonable restaurants in the nearby sqaure. Breakfast was lovely and there was a wide selection of food. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we will definately come back. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank london60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Hotel Palazzo Stern is a boutique hotel of about 25 rooms set on the Grand Canal in the Dorsoduro section of Venice. My guess is that the hotel was at some point a noble's home, for it retains an elegant intimacy that is difficult to match. We stayed in a junior suite that opened onto the Grand Canal. The staff bent over backwards to be responsive (flowers and champagne in our room for our anniversary) and helpful. One of the biggest pleasant surprises was the vaporetto stop 10 feet from our front door as well as a traghetti station as well. This made travel around Venice a pleasure.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matte0Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2010

Buongiorno!

24 rooms to be exact!
I'm very happy that you enjoyed your stay. The hotel was the private house of Ernesta Stern, she was an art-collector. You will find more detailed info in our website!

Thank you for your review, warmest regards!

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Spending a long weekend in Venice for the last six years now, we discovered Palazzo Stern 2 years ago. It is a wonderfull small hotel, with excellent rooms, friendly staff and an amazing location in the best quarter of Venice, Dorsodurro. The sort of place you want to keep all to your self, as a hidden treasure, and only recommend because you think it is not fair if you didn't.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johanvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2010

Dear Friend,

thank you for your kind review! But please, don't keep us hided between your personal secrets!!!

:o)

Warmest regards,

Roberto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We only stayed one night here. We'd never been to Venice before and grabbed the opportunity for 24 hours of sightseeing before our tall ship (Star Clipper) cruise. We spent hours pouring over maps, reviews and of course, trip advisor, to try and understand Venice and figure out where we would like to stay for that one night - not too far from the sights but also within easy access of the port. We also didn't want to be in the middle of the mayhem, preferring a quieter option.

We finally settled on the Palazzo Stern - it seemed to have all that we wanted - and we weren't disappointed. We took a water taxi from the airport - expensive but this must be the best way to see Venice for the first time and we felt that having already seen the view from the canal we didn't feel the need for an equally expensive gondola ride.

The water taxi deposited us at the canalside entrance to the hotel and we were treated to a glass of juice in the bar whilst we waited to check in - there is only one check-in desk and another guest was being attended to. As soon as he was free we were checked in quickly and taken up in a small lift to our room which was on the top floor. As we were only staying the one night we hadn't bothered with the more expensive rooms overlooking the canal as we didn't intend to be in it very much and although the room was very nice it had no view at all - the windows were about 10 feet off the floor - the website mentions that standard rooms overlook the canal, internal garden or the rooftops - all we could see was the sky - it didn't bother us at all for the one night but if you were going to be staying for any length of time the lack of view might be an issue.

The hotel has a nice terrace and we had a drink there before bed - and you can also have a very pleasant breakfast out there watching all the boats and activities on the Grand Canal.

If you need to get to the port and would prefer to do it under your own steam then it is about a 15 minute walk even dragging a suitcase and is a simple route. Just to be clear however, the port I am talking about is the one that the ferries to Croatia go from and not the big cruise ship terminal which is a bit further away.

Would we stay at this hotel again? Yes, absolutely, but would choose one of the more expensive rooms with a view over the Grand Canal.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bevandmark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 384 in Venice
1,830 reviews
Hotel L'Orologio
#22 of 384 in Venice
732 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#17 of 384 in Venice
1,569 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 384 in Venice
1,927 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Maria Adele
Ca' Maria Adele
#7 of 384 in Venice
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Stern

Address: Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Venice
#7 Family Hotel in Venice
#15 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#15 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £142 - £501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Stern 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Stern is an historical Moorish Palazzo on the Grand Canal. The location is very convenient: easy to reach, close to the main attractions and at the same time in a very Venice area. If you are looking for a unique venetian experience in the real Venice and far from the crowd of the mass tourism we are the right place to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Stern Hotel
Palazzo Stern Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing