We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Venetian Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Ranked #18 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Venetian Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

Very beautiful building in a lovely position. Waterbus stop right outside to hop onto for Rialto or elsewhere.
Staff very accommodating and service good. The breakfast choice was not as expected though and felt disappointed. Had to suss out the machine for boiling the eggs and the mechanical toaster took an age..would have preferred not to have the DIY approach..and more choice.
The room was lovely-albeit small. Couldn't understand the mechanics of the coffee machine and no instructions!! oh..and no milk for the coffee anyway so didn't bother.
Overall had an enjoyable stay and we were happy with our choice. A few changes re above would have made it a perfect one.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tacla_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 16 September 2010
Dear Friend,

we will try to improve the breakfast as you suggest.
you are the first one asking for the instruction of the coffee machine in the room. Anyway I think that you are right, we will write them!
If you need milk you just have to ask!!! we are at your disposal and the room service ins always working.

Thank you for your impression, have a nice day!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,320
    234
    53
    7
    12
See reviews for
337
1,019
51
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

Breakfast could be better !
Parking place should be arrange through the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANTE58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 15 September 2010
Thank you for the quick message!
We wait to welcome you again here in Venice.

Warmest regards!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

We have visited Venice many times, and stayed in some very nice hotels, but the Palazzo Stern is certainly the most wonderful hotel we have been to in Venice.
The position of the hotel on the Grand Canal is perfect, and surprisingly, it is very quiet at night.
The staff are warm, friendly and couldn't have been more helpful.
The Palazzo itself is lovely, with it's own terrace directly over the Grand Canal.
Our bedroom was immaculate, beautifully furnished, with a balcony overlooking the Grand Canal - and the beds were wonderfully comfortable, we have never slept so well!
On sunny mornings to have the excellent breakfast on the terrace with the Canal just inches away was very special.
We shall definitely be returning to the Palazzo Stern, and can't wait for our next visit; It is a superb hotel!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corfton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes
Level Contributor
182 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2010

No stranger to Venice, having been regularly paying my compliments to the grand dame of the Adriatic for nearly 30 years now in accommodation ranging from tiny back street apartments to five star hotels, I have never stayed anywhere better than Palazzo Stern.

It is a superb location in which to spend a holiday especially if, like us, you take a suite overlooking the Grand Canal. Nowehere in Venice comes cheap but the Stern offers serious five star luxury- the reason it is listed as a four star is because it only offers breakfast rather than lunch and dinner.

The palace, once owned by an antique collector, has been lovingly and tastefully restored. It is light, spacious and with a beautiful balcony overlooking the Canal to take breakfast or an early evening drink.

There are lots of good restaurants nearby, do try both Locanda Montin and Agli Alboretti where Ezra Pound and Peggy Guggenheim have respectively enjoyed their food, and delightful hotel staff to help you with any information you need to know about the city.

Ideally situated for the water bus from the Ca' Rezzonico stop and with a traghetto ferry to carry you across the canal from the San Samuele stop, rowed by Venice's first woman gondolier, all the jewels of the lagoon are on your doorstep.

Palazzo Stern is a splendidly luxurious base from which to see them all. To enjoy the very best that La Serenissima has to offer make your first stop the Palazzo Stern.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Golfing-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 16 September 2010
Buongiorno!

Thank you for your very kind review.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay!
We wait to welcome you again here in Venice, warmest regards!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights in August and thought it was excellent in every way. We were made to feel very special. The location is stunning and the terrace must be one of the best places to sit and have a drink in Venice. The water stop right outside the hotel makes it very easy to get about. Location wise it is excellent and we found some very reasonable restaurants in the nearby sqaure. Breakfast was lovely and there was a wide selection of food. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we will definately come back. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank london60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

Hotel Palazzo Stern is a boutique hotel of about 25 rooms set on the Grand Canal in the Dorsoduro section of Venice. My guess is that the hotel was at some point a noble's home, for it retains an elegant intimacy that is difficult to match. We stayed in a junior suite that opened onto the Grand Canal. The staff bent over backwards to be responsive (flowers and champagne in our room for our anniversary) and helpful. One of the biggest pleasant surprises was the vaporetto stop 10 feet from our front door as well as a traghetti station as well. This made travel around Venice a pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matte0Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 8 September 2010
Buongiorno!

24 rooms to be exact!
I'm very happy that you enjoyed your stay. The hotel was the private house of Ernesta Stern, she was an art-collector. You will find more detailed info in our website!

Thank you for your review, warmest regards!

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

Spending a long weekend in Venice for the last six years now, we discovered Palazzo Stern 2 years ago. It is a wonderfull small hotel, with excellent rooms, friendly staff and an amazing location in the best quarter of Venice, Dorsodurro. The sort of place you want to keep all to your self, as a hidden treasure, and only recommend because you think it is not fair if you didn't.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johanvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robertino3, Manager at Hotel Palazzo Stern, responded to this review, 30 August 2010
Dear Friend,

thank you for your kind review! But please, don't keep us hided between your personal secrets!!!

:o)

Warmest regards,

Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,487 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#14 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Stern

Property: Hotel Palazzo Stern
Address: Dorsoduro 2792-2794/A-2792/B, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Venice
#7 Family Hotel in Venice
#12 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#15 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Stern 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Stern is an historical Moorish Palazzo on the Grand Canal. The location is very convenient: easy to reach, close to the main attractions and at the same time in a very Venice area. If you are looking for a unique venetian experience in the real Venice and far from the crowd of the mass tourism we are the right place to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Stern Hotel
Palazzo Stern Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing