We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for women staying by themselves”
Review of Albergo al Gobbo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo al Gobbo
Ranked #237 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Bath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not for women staying by themselves”
Reviewed 4 May 2009

Strongly advice against women staying here by themselves. The male receptionist / son waited until everyone was out of the hotel before knocking on my door under the pretense of offering me a drink - persistently. I was aware I was the only one in the hotel at the time so proceeded downstairs to get him out of my room. He then suggested I go out on a boat with a friend of us. After he attempted several times to kiss me / touch me I managed to get away upstairs and pushed a chair against the door until I could pack to get away. Noone like this should every have customers. By the way age didn't stop him, I am 30 years older at least.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BobBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    50
    24
    10
    10
See reviews for
16
51
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2009

Al Gobbo hotel is a very nice budget hotel. The rooms are big and clean. However, the doors are thick as paper so make sure you ask for a room upstairs not to have the noise from reception (with arrivals and departures at night, bell ringing every time a customer enters the hotel).
The location is amazing, 10 min walk from the bus/train station and close to central Venice attractions. Ideal for people wanting a central hotel.
The price was excellent considering the location and the rooms. Whereas certain hotel are charging twice the price for a slightly better quality.
Will definitely come back at Al Gobbo for our next stay in Venice.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Popino21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2008

Al Gobbo was very cute. Close enough to the train station in Venice but not so close that it was noisy. Beautiful square just outside with fountain and church. lots of places for walking, shopping, eating and catching the vaporetto boats. an expensive area because of the tourist places, but venice is very expensive anyway. The staff was very nice, super helpful with information and making changes for you. The room was good, no TV and the world's hardest towels but a large bed and lots of space.
A couple issues, the cleaning ladies in the morning a ridiculously loud- we never ever slept in. Also the breakfast is no breakfast at all. a hard bun, milk and coffee. After the first day, we went out for breakfast. other than that though, i would highly recommend it for a budget way to stay in venice.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank swheels00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terni
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2008

I and my girlfriend have just been in Venice, at Al gobbo hotel.
It has been a good experience. The hotel is very nice, with a charming old age atmosphere, it looks like a '50es house.
It's not a luxury hotel, but for a 1 star hotel is perfect: the rooms are clean, tidy and not too little. You can have room with toilet or not, but both are good, because the services are very clean.
For breakfast you can have bread, jam or honey, coffe or tea and it is served in the kitchen of the hotel, as if you was in a private house. Actually, the hotel is also the owner house.
Alessandro, the manager and the owner, is very kind and amusing, as the other two meber of the staff.
The most important thing is the location: the hotel is 5 minutes walk from the railways station and from Piazzale Roma, the link between Venice and the mainland.
I raccomand this hotel

  • Liked — The price/quality ratio and the atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crotalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2008

Been here in Al Gobbo this month of April, and I simply must say, it was a great experience!

Booked the room in the last minute and I must say I loved!

Huge rooms, very clean, confortable, KING size bed for a double room, location perfect, and all this just for 70€/night!

It's a hotel managed by very nice people, all in a familiar environment!

You eat the breakfast in their kitchen...simply great!

If I come back to Venice, this is going to be my first choice absolutely!

  • Liked — All
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnny_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Adriatico
Hotel Adriatico
#203 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Guerrini
Hotel Guerrini
#208 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Fontanea
Ca' Fontanea
#166 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Villa Rosa
Hotel Villa Rosa
#170 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Cannaregio
Locanda Herion
Locanda Herion
#171 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Rossi
Hotel Rossi
#319 of 384 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo al Gobbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo al Gobbo

Property: Albergo al Gobbo
Address: Cannaregio 312, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo al Gobbo 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Albergo al Gobbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Al Gobbo Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing