We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too hard to find”
Review of Alloggi alla Scala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alloggi alla Scala
Ranked #161 of 459 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, OH
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Too hard to find”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

It took us 2.5 hours to find this place. You have to go from one dark, not clearly-marked alley to another to another. I was so frustrated by the time we found it, that it ruined my trip to this city. We stayed in room 4. You have to climb a steep set of steps to get to it and there is no one to help with your luggage. The room was large size and had a private bathroom; however, the shower is smaller than what you would find on a cruise or an rv. Bath towels are old & thin. No TV in the room, and the furnishings are mismatched and worn. Bed linens were nice & crisp with no signs of bugs. No breakfast at the hotel. There are vending machines in the lobby to get crackers, water & soft drinks. The clerks do not speak any English and cannot help you find any attractions or restaurants.

Room Tip: No elevator - plan on carrying your luggage up a steep flight of steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 513amyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    53
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
31
47
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nutley, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Excellent location but most difficult to find location. We rented two rroms. The owner is srictly buisness like. She does not speak english. But kept her word for booking made on phone from USA. Bathroom was renovated and decent. We had a view of the canal and gondolas passing by. No breakfastbut restaurants are nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaminipatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed two nights in September, and it was great. The rooms are a little dated, as you can see in the pictures, but when we walked into our room, it was so charming, and SUPER clean! The bathroom was newly renovated, and our room was on the main floor of the entrance, so we had a view of the canal and greatly enjoyed the gondolas passing by. The location is great.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeahH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This tiny hotel near Campo Manin and the Rialto Bridge has a great location and great prices for rooms. You can walk practically to all the main sites without even taking the vaporetto (big savings on money). I stayed in the only single room, and given its dimensions, it sometimes felt like I was sleeing in a corridor of some kind. Still, it was not impossible (I stayed for 10 days) and I managed pretty well. Besides, I was out all day. What I disliked was the attitude of the owner. Although I had received an e-mail that the AC would be fully functional in June, she refused to turn it on and told me to go find another hotel! She was rude and obnoxious. She eventually relented but it was a horrible experience.
The toilet in my bathroom didn't flush properly and the water pressure in the shower fluctuated from
time to time. Still, given the location and the price (in prohibitively expensive Venice), it was worth it.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank tunai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Great budget place to sleep while you explore Venice and its canals. It's extremely well priced and is clean and very central. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Wifi only works in the foyer but that's not really an issue because you're there to explore Venice. Only really need one night in Venice, this is a great base.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank rustykiwinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We booked pretty last minute for a hotel in Venice so were grateful to find a very reasonably-priced option (~100 Euros) at a great location with reasonable Tripadvisor reviews. Overall, our expectations were exceeded given the price and location. Specifics are below:

For transportation from the airport, remember to take the Vaporetto to Rialto station (NOT Rialto market) -- walk to the Campo Manin from there and then go to the alleyway in the middle of the square, then turn a corner. There is an interestingly-shaped building right next to the hotel that tourists often frequent. The walk was short (10 mins) and very doable with suitcases, we didn't have to go up/down stairs.

Pros:
- Location was great right near St. Marks' Square.
- There was Air conditioning in the room which we weren't sure would be available!
- Room seemed very clean
- Good value for the area

Cons:
- Our room was quite small, with just space to walk between the walls and the bed
- Internet in main area only, and not super fast
- Main lobby was not that nice, very bare bones
- A little hard to communicate with the owner as she spoke only Italian. Somehow we managed and her staff (the guy) had a lot better English
- No breakfast, obviously

Given we only had one night in Venice, we were happy with our stay, but it's not the nicest place for romantic vacationers or those staying longer! Just come in with the right expectations.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#134 of 386 in Venice
433 reviews
San Marco
Residenza Ca' San Marco
Residenza Ca' San Marco
#218 of 459 in Venice
247 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Adua
Hotel Adua
#157 of 459 in Venice
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Zaguri B&B
Zaguri B&B
#75 of 459 in Venice
242 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Riccio
Ca' Riccio
#98 of 459 in Venice
307 reviews
B&B Venice A Casa Da Cinzia
#136 of 459 in Venice
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alloggi alla Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alloggi alla Scala

Property: Alloggi alla Scala
Address: Sestiere San Marco 4306 | Corte Contarini del Bovolo, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 459 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alloggi alla Scala 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Alloggi alla Scala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alloggi Alla Scala Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing