We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aweful stay”
Review of Alloggi alla Scala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alloggi alla Scala
Ranked #155 of 476 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I spent 2 nights in this hotel. The staff were extremely rude, not welcoming at all. They tried to charge us twice and almost kicked us out in the street late at night for their own mistake... glad I kept the receipt of the first payment... But they'd never apologized!
Hotel very basic and expensive.

Room Tip: Just go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gwenn_Aaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alessandro g, Proprietario at Alloggi alla Scala, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014
Google Translation

Buon giorno, sono molto spiacente per l'incomprensione accorsa, di preciso non si capisce cosa sia successo con questa Signora, in ogni caso siamo sicuri che non abbiamo mai mandato via nessuno e tanto meno fatto pagare due volte il conto delle camere, la nostra è una piccola struttura a gestione famigliare, non è un GRAND HOTEL, ma chi viene da noi ne è consapevole, offriamo cortesia, pulizia e siamo nel VERO CENTRO DI VENEZIA ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

It took us a long while to find this place - not to say it isn't in a good location, just that there really isn't clear directions to get there. It is right next to the Contarini del Bovolo Staircase. We also waited quite a while for someone to answer the door bell.

After all that, room is well set up, plenty of places for luggage and extra seating which is always nicer than having to sit on the bed. The bed is actually quite soft compared to what you seem to get in Europe. Bathroom was small but adequate.

Very little english spoken but somehow you always manage to make do. Probably only other key point is that we had to pay cash for the room so you would want to make sure you were organised on that front.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JadeandSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I appreciated my 2-night stay here on 30-31 December. The location is easy to find, if you bring with you a printout of their online map. Campo Manin is what you should ask some passers-by who look like locals, once you get off the Linea 1 vaporetti at Rialto Bridge. Once you get to this square (and it's only a few minutes walk), it's a matter of finding that small alley mentioned on their online map. Easy. So don't get put off by other reviewers who didn't seem to have done adequate preparation for their Venice trip. The location is indeed between Rialto and San Marco. It took about 10 minutes walk to the Piazza San Marco, much longer if you shop along the way there, like I did the first time.

The lady who greeted me speaks strictly Italian, but she was kind and could have been chatty if you were able to speak Italian.. The ever-obliging young man, Mario, who does the cleaning etc can speak English, good enough to help you get your bearings.

I didn't book directly with them, so I think I paid 5 Euros extra per night for the online booking agency fee. I tried to book directly but language seemed to be an issue. If you plan to stay there longish, book directly with them. Most things are expensive in Venice, so saving 5 euros/day would help.

My room is smallish, has a comfortable single bed and an ensuite. Clean and warm enough. I saw an airconditioner on the wall so maybe it's ok to stay there during warm summer nights. No TV but I don't watch TV when on holiday.

WiFi is free but only at the reception area. There is a sofa there and I never had to fight for a spot to sit down.

There is a vending machine at the reception where you can buy coffee, water etc.

The building is at the end of a dead-end courtyard, adjacent to a tourist attraction: Palazzo Contarini del Bovolo. You will see some tourists hanging around outside this fenced up old (crumbling-looking) palace. I didn't find them a nuisance at all. Being at a dead-end courtyard surrounded by local housing, people understand to keep their noises down. So I found this pensione nice and quiet and certainly is worth the rate they charge.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MissMely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 October 2013

It took us 2.5 hours to find this place. You have to go from one dark, not clearly-marked alley to another to another. I was so frustrated by the time we found it, that it ruined my trip to this city. We stayed in room 4. You have to climb a steep set of steps to get to it and there is no one to help with your luggage. The room was large size and had a private bathroom; however, the shower is smaller than what you would find on a cruise or an rv. Bath towels are old & thin. No TV in the room, and the furnishings are mismatched and worn. Bed linens were nice & crisp with no signs of bugs. No breakfast at the hotel. There are vending machines in the lobby to get crackers, water & soft drinks. The clerks do not speak any English and cannot help you find any attractions or restaurants.

Room Tip: No elevator - plan on carrying your luggage up a steep flight of steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 513amyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Excellent location but most difficult to find location. We rented two rroms. The owner is srictly buisness like. She does not speak english. But kept her word for booking made on phone from USA. Bathroom was renovated and decent. We had a view of the canal and gondolas passing by. No breakfastbut restaurants are nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaminipatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed two nights in September, and it was great. The rooms are a little dated, as you can see in the pictures, but when we walked into our room, it was so charming, and SUPER clean! The bathroom was newly renovated, and our room was on the main floor of the entrance, so we had a view of the canal and greatly enjoyed the gondolas passing by. The location is great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeahH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#119 of 385 in Venice
444 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
#140 of 385 in Venice
944 reviews
San Polo
Residenza degli Angeli
Residenza degli Angeli
#14 of 476 in Venice
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
B&B Ca' Dor
B&B Ca' Dor
#144 of 476 in Venice
56 reviews
Castello
Veneziacentopercento Rooms & Apartments
Cannaregio
Ca' Riccio
Ca' Riccio
#92 of 476 in Venice
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alloggi alla Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alloggi alla Scala

Address: Sestiere San Marco 4306 | Corte Contarini del Bovolo, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: £85 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alloggi alla Scala 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Alloggi alla Scala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alloggi Alla Scala Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing