We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for families with kids”
Review of Alloggi alla Scala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alloggi alla Scala
Ranked #161 of 459 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Juan-les-Pins
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel for families with kids”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

If your budget for visiting Venice with your kids is limited, than this is the place to go. The location is great - 10-15min from St. Marco Square, 2min from a small supermarket, 5 min from from the Rialto bridge and vaporetto stop.
We had the quadruple room - 135euros/night and they were worth it. For our 2 kids - almost 4 and almost 6 years old - the high point of the room was the bathroom windows towards the canal (the window in the room is slightly higher) - watching/counting/waving to the gondolas was incredibly fun for them. The room - one double bed and two single ones - was quite old fashioned by some standards, but very clean - the same goes for the bathroom, that we considered cleaner than in many average priced modern hotels. Be aware of the fact that there is no TV, nor breakfast...but who needs those in Venice...
We'll certainly return here if we come back with the kids

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tudor4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    53
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
31
47
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

- Very clean, very helpful staff (the don't speak very well english but they try!)
- Room bed and pillows were ok.

One bad thing: This is a building and the family lives there, and they have kids, the rooms are below the house, so you have earthquakes when the kids run.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Great location for good price. Definitely we will be back! Be ready there is no breakfast here, no fridge and tv even, but most time in venice you should spend open aired! Now venice is one of my favourite and must visit cities!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cezarevna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I spent 2 nights in this hotel. The staff were extremely rude, not welcoming at all. They tried to charge us twice and almost kicked us out in the street late at night for their own mistake... glad I kept the receipt of the first payment... But they'd never apologized!
Hotel very basic and expensive.

Room Tip: Just go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gwenn_Aaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alessandro g, Proprietario at Alloggi alla Scala, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Google Translation
Buon giorno, sono molto spiacente per l'incomprensione accorsa, di preciso non si capisce cosa sia successo con questa Signora, in ogni caso siamo sicuri che non abbiamo mai mandato via nessuno e tanto meno fatto pagare due volte il conto delle camere, la nostra è una piccola struttura a gestione famigliare, non è un GRAND HOTEL, ma chi viene da noi ne è consapevole, offriamo cortesia, pulizia e siamo nel VERO CENTRO DI VENEZIA ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

It took us a long while to find this place - not to say it isn't in a good location, just that there really isn't clear directions to get there. It is right next to the Contarini del Bovolo Staircase. We also waited quite a while for someone to answer the door bell.

After all that, room is well set up, plenty of places for luggage and extra seating which is always nicer than having to sit on the bed. The bed is actually quite soft compared to what you seem to get in Europe. Bathroom was small but adequate.

Very little english spoken but somehow you always manage to make do. Probably only other key point is that we had to pay cash for the room so you would want to make sure you were organised on that front.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JadeandSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I appreciated my 2-night stay here on 30-31 December. The location is easy to find, if you bring with you a printout of their online map. Campo Manin is what you should ask some passers-by who look like locals, once you get off the Linea 1 vaporetti at Rialto Bridge. Once you get to this square (and it's only a few minutes walk), it's a matter of finding that small alley mentioned on their online map. Easy. So don't get put off by other reviewers who didn't seem to have done adequate preparation for their Venice trip. The location is indeed between Rialto and San Marco. It took about 10 minutes walk to the Piazza San Marco, much longer if you shop along the way there, like I did the first time.

The lady who greeted me speaks strictly Italian, but she was kind and could have been chatty if you were able to speak Italian.. The ever-obliging young man, Mario, who does the cleaning etc can speak English, good enough to help you get your bearings.

I didn't book directly with them, so I think I paid 5 Euros extra per night for the online booking agency fee. I tried to book directly but language seemed to be an issue. If you plan to stay there longish, book directly with them. Most things are expensive in Venice, so saving 5 euros/day would help.

My room is smallish, has a comfortable single bed and an ensuite. Clean and warm enough. I saw an airconditioner on the wall so maybe it's ok to stay there during warm summer nights. No TV but I don't watch TV when on holiday.

WiFi is free but only at the reception area. There is a sofa there and I never had to fight for a spot to sit down.

There is a vending machine at the reception where you can buy coffee, water etc.

The building is at the end of a dead-end courtyard, adjacent to a tourist attraction: Palazzo Contarini del Bovolo. You will see some tourists hanging around outside this fenced up old (crumbling-looking) palace. I didn't find them a nuisance at all. Being at a dead-end courtyard surrounded by local housing, people understand to keep their noises down. So I found this pensione nice and quiet and certainly is worth the rate they charge.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MissMely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#134 of 386 in Venice
433 reviews
San Marco
Residenza Ca' San Marco
Residenza Ca' San Marco
#218 of 459 in Venice
247 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Adua
Hotel Adua
#157 of 459 in Venice
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Zaguri B&B
Zaguri B&B
#75 of 459 in Venice
242 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Riccio
Ca' Riccio
#98 of 459 in Venice
307 reviews
B&B Venice A Casa Da Cinzia
#136 of 459 in Venice
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alloggi alla Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alloggi alla Scala

Property: Alloggi alla Scala
Address: Sestiere San Marco 4306 | Corte Contarini del Bovolo, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 459 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alloggi alla Scala 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Alloggi alla Scala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alloggi Alla Scala Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing