We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay and wonderful host”
Review of Al Gallion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Al Gallion
Ranked #223 of 457 Venice B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely stay and wonderful host”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We stayed two nights at Al Gallion and Daniela has been a wonderful host.

Al Gallion was around 5-10 minutes walk from the train station, but if you have large suitcases, you might consider taking the vaporetto line #1 to Riva di Biasio stop. From there, it is just 2 minutes walk.

Upon arrival, Daniela gave us a detailed Venice map and explained to us in detail about the itinerary that she recommends and the vaporetto lines, which was really helpful to us.

Daniela's house was beautifully decorated in Venetian style and lovely chandeliers. Our room has a comfortable double bed and is spotlessly clean. Bathroom was not attached to the room but it was private and we have the bathroom all to ourselves. Every morning we had wonderful breakfast with delicious pastries, bread, fruits, yogurt and tea. Daniela also helped us to do our laundry which we really appreciate it.

We also went to the restaurants that she recommended and had some of the best dinners throughout our trip.

Overall, we had a lovely stay and we highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChizuruOkada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
70
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Where to start? Daniela was the perfect hostess and we simply couldn't have wished or imagined a more welcoming and warm place to stay. It was truly a home away from home. From the personal pickup after getting lost trying to find Al Gallion after arriving in the middle of the night (thank you Daniela for saving us) to the home made breakfasts every morning (home made jams and brownies and delicious fruit salad) to the daily smiles, kindness, generosity and warmth. Daniela's English is very good (even though she doesn't think so) an is full of interesting, in depth and relevant information. This covers transport, maps (a detailed and personalised one to suit your daily itinerary) and the architecture, sites and history of Venice. Daniela should be a tour guide if she had spare time! She also had some good suggestions for restaurants.
The location was great! Really close to S Lucia train station and the Piazzale Roma (5-10 minute walk) and once you get the hang of it, is quite easy to find. Venice is a maze so I imagine any hotel of BnB will be a bit tricky to locate at the start.
The rooms - it was just like being at home! Only much neater and cleaner (and in my case, prettier and more spacious). It was a joy to come back to after a long day walking around the city.
I really can't praise Al Gallion and Daniela enough, and only wish that all BnBs that we visit will be of the same calibre.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loraine_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Helen, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Daniela is an absolute gem! Her home is clean and spacious with an excellent location, right near the train and the vaporetto. Daniela told us where to go and how to get there. We had wonderful conversations with her over a lovely breakfast each morning. She is smart, cultured and sincere. We couldn't have asked for a better hostess. Highly recommend!

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryannL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Daniela at Al Gallion immediately makes you feel like one of the family. Her home was beautiful and peaceful even though it was only about a 5 minute walk from the train station on the quiet side of the canal in Santa Croce. She personally accompanied us through the neighborhood to one of her favorite restaurants and even packed us her delicious breakfast " to go" on our last day there. When we arrived, she presented us with a map and advised us on an itinerary for each day. I miss our conversations so much that I want to go back to Venice just to spend time with her again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaVernagrandchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We spent 3 nights at Daniela's bed and breakfast in Venice and were thoroughly enchanted. It was located far enough back from the Grand Canal to be in a peaceful area, and her place was beautifully furnished in Venetian style with terazzo floors and blown-glass chandeliers and lovely art. Built in the 16th century, the building is atmospheric, and you will feel right at home in historic Venice. Daniela gives you a map that is individualized with routes that she draws on it so that you can find your away around, although everyone gets a bit happily lost in this lovely city. We used a lot of the public water taxis when we weren't walking. Daniela, and her daughter, when Daniela was gone one morning, make excellent breakfasts and are very accommodating with your schedule and times. I highly recommend this charming bed and breakast and its lovely hosts.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

A lovely small B and B located in a quieter area of Venice a short walk from the station. The room and bathroom were good and breakfast was great. The owner Daniela is very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy_rodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Daniela has been rightfully praised in many reviews. She is a gracious hostess who makes you feel welcome and spends enormous efforts helping you with your visit. As a lifelong Venice resident, her knowledge is enormous. She truly enjoys having guests and even insisted on doing some of our laundry-over our very serious protests. The rooms are very nice and the bathroom quite modern. She serves a very nice Continental breakfast. The B&B is ideally located for both the train station and Grand Canal. All of Venice is easily reached on foot. There are stores, cafes and restaurants in the area. I can't imagine a better place to stay in Venice. If we go back, it will be our first choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Locanda Fiorita
Hotel Locanda Fiorita
#149 of 385 in Venice
250 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#154 of 385 in Venice
638 reviews
Santa Croce
Doge Hotel
Doge Hotel
#297 of 385 in Venice
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
B&B San Giacomo Venezia
B&B San Giacomo Venezia
#101 of 457 in Venice
139 reviews
Santa Croce
Viva Venezia
Viva Venezia
#48 of 215 in Venice
30 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Casa Peron
Albergo Casa Peron
#184 of 457 in Venice
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Gallion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Gallion

Property: Al Gallion
Address: Santa Croce 1126, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 457 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Al Gallion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Gallion Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing