We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Al Gallion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Al Gallion
Ranked #201 of 469 Venice B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

I stayed at Al Gallion for 2 nights. A friend who had previously stayed there had highly recommended the place. Daniela was an excellent host. Given I did not have too long in the city I took her advice on which sites to visit I was not disappointed at all. I am glad I took her advice to walk and find some parts (being lost is part of the experience and I did find my way eventually).

The breakfast was excellent homemade jams, loved the tiramisu, fresh fruit, yoghurt. The house was clean, room was large, I even had a sit down area to myself.

I would definitely recommend Al Gallion, exceptional welcome and most of all you get to stay with a Venetian who loves her city. Thanks for the warm welcome Daniela and your family. Congratulations on the grandchild, you will make a wonderful grandparent.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ru V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
70
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

My husband and I stayed with Daniela for 3 nights at the end of October 2013 to end our 2 1/2 week Italian vacation. We were blessed to stay in nice bed and breakfasts nearly everywhere we went, but I must say Al Gallion takes the cake. The apartment itself is lovely with high windows and stunning Venetian glass chandeliers including one in the very large and comfortable bedroom, but the proprietor of this property, Daniela, is what makes this place so special. Everything wonderful that you have ever heard about Italian hospitality is embodied in Daniela. She welcomed us to the apartment with a big smile and cup of tea despite it being relatively late and our arrival getting delayed due to a train strike. She then gave us a detailed map of Venice and explained the best routes around the city by vaperetto and walking. The routes that she explained were all drawn onto the map by her as well so we could reference them later. Without her explanations, we would have been lost- the city is definitely like a maze, but as Daniela will tell you, you are obliged to get lost in it. She is very knowledgeable of the city and clearly very proud of it and each morning over her wonderful homemade cakes and jams that are served at breakfast she asked us our itinerary and helped us revise it so that it made more sense and we could see more. She even gave us a very vital tip that allowed us to skip the line to get into San Marco, which was very long. Plus, Daniela always seemed happy to see us when we arrived back and would always ask what we had done and seen and seemed genuinely interested in our adventures. It was truly like staying with a very gracious friend or relative. The location of the apartment is good- not on the canals but a very easy walk from the train station and the Rialto and also very convenient to transportation. The neighborhood is quieter than most of the heavily tourist areas but felt more authentically Venetian than most of the others. Right around the corner were two very good and reasonably priced restaurants that seemed very popular with locals (no tourist menus, ect.). Additionally, Daniela keeps the accommodations impeccably clean and the bed was very comfortable. If we are able to go back to Venice in the future, I would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTrails2430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I fully agree with all of the glowing comments posted by others who have stayed here. Have already recommended it to others. Daniela's map and advice were a great help in ensuring we made best use of our two days. The location is close to the train station and Piazalle Roma, and just a far enough from St Mark's Square to give us peaceful nights away from all the bustle of tourists.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Daniela is a gracious, sweet and charming host with a sense of humour and as much information as you could possibly need. When we first arrived, she sat with us and gave us a great map with written-in of Venice including vaporetto routes, traghetti stops, some of her favourite restaurants and even a nice walking tour in the S. Croce/Dorsoduro districts. She was always happy to see us and asked about our day and what we'd seen.

I was a little worried about staying so "far" from the sights but I fell in love with the Santa Croce district and its residential charm. It was an easy 15 minute walk from the Rialto market and surrounding area, and about two minutes from a vaporetto stop. It was always pleasant arriving back at the B&B; Daniela greeted us warmly and our room was very comfortable and spacious. We had beautiful views and slept soundly. Daniela was very meticulous about cleaning our private bathroom and our bedroom and always hung our towels to dry so they weren't damp the next day.

Breakfast consisted of bread, spice cake, fruit, yogurt and homemade jam. Her jam and cake is delicious and the fruit always ripe and flavourful. She made us coffee and tea fresh and we always had plenty to drink and eat.

Daniela's home is traditional, clean and beautiful, and we stayed here for two nights at the start and the end of the trip and I am so glad we did. If we ever returned, we would stay with Daniela again. Everything about her and Al Gallion is lovely; thanks for such a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ney11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

We got married in October 2010 and went from Venice to Florence then Rome. B&B Al Gallion was our first stop.

This B&B gave us one of the most authentic experiences we could have wished for. It was exactly what we were looking for. It was easier to find than we thought, and you really do get the complete Venetian experience from staying here.

Daniella was the most wonderful hostess, and provided us with a map on which she had hand-marked traditional pizzerias, the best local spots and key information on traditional gondolas and water taxis. The double room we stayed in was a lovely size, comfortable and spotless. We were delighted with our choice.

The hall/landing area between rooms had lovely traditional furniture, great photos on the walls and a brilliant floor. It really was delightful, as was the homemade breads at breakfast! The location of the B&B was perfect for us, and we walked to wherever we needed to go.

I am so glad I have finally reviewed this place, as we have told so many people about the wonderful expereince that we had here. If we ever return to Venice (which we would love to do ) then we would never dream of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephLav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed with Daniella for three nights recently and found her to be welcoming, warm and full of great advice! She gave us a map with her favourite restaurants marked and the routes of all the various boats. It was easy but it would have taken us a while to figure it out, we were primed and ready to go over breakfast!

The room was lovely and clean and had a very comfortable bed. Close to a vaporetto stop but not overlooking the water.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3girlsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

I would urge anyone looking for a place to stay in Venice to choose Al Gallion. We stayed for four nights and I have to say, this was one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. Other hotels are more luxurious, have en suite bathrooms and bigger price tags, but nowhere will match Al Gallion for the level of service we experienced. On arrival we were greeted by Daniela, a genuine Venetian with a passion for her city. She took the time to provide us with a detailed map of the city showing all the Vaporetti routes, recommended restaurants and favourite sites, this really helped us focus on what we wanted to see and to point out some other points of interest we had not considered. She then showed us to our room, a spacious, spotlessly clean double with a comfy bed and plenty of storage space. The private bathroom, located just across the hall from the room was large and also spotless. The breakfasts at Al Gallion are delicious, especially Daniela’s homemade cakes and jams, they really set us up for the day! Overall I really enjoyed Venice, it’s a beautiful city with a fascinating past. Some of my favourite sites in addition to the obvious ones were Burano, San Giorgio Magiore and the Jewish Ghetto.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Locanda Fiorita
Hotel Locanda Fiorita
#149 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Santa Croce
B&B San Giacomo Venezia
B&B San Giacomo Venezia
#101 of 469 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Santa Croce
Viva Venezia
Viva Venezia
#46 of 216 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
B&B Dorsoduro 461
B&B Dorsoduro 461
#176 of 469 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Santa Croce
Casa Mimma
Casa Mimma
#240 of 469 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Santa Croce
Ca' Nigra Lagoon Resort
Ca' Nigra Lagoon Resort
#125 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Gallion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Gallion

Property: Al Gallion
Address: Santa Croce 1126, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 469 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Al Gallion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Gallion Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing