We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing Worked !!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Sebastiano Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
San Sebastiano Garden Hotel
Ranked #176 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nothing Worked !!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Te location is good, the staff friendly and the breakfast adequate. However, the air conditioning didn't work, and the handle fell office the bathroom door (one would have thought that the housekeeper would have noticed that the screws were falling out).

Very overpriced for what they give you.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    182
    48
    21
    9
See reviews for
62
276
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in August, an exceptionally busy time during the holiday season. Although the hotel was busy it was small enough to feel the relief from the crowded streets. The area is a much quieter side of venice yet there are still many places to eat good food. St Marks square is only a short 30 minute walk from the hotel (although it might take others a lot less time as we had a pushchair and 3 year old. Alternatively the vaporetto is very easy to catch at Zattere or a less frequent service is only short 2 minute walk away.
The hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff exceptionally friendly. The room was suitable for our needs and was cleaned everyday. Breakfast was good and consisted of fruit, yogurt, cereal, pastries, toast, ham and egg. Coffee, although served at the table, appeared unlimited.
The garden is absolutely beautiful, a special place for breakfast. We even sat outside at night with a glass of wine and enjoyed the peace and quiet this area has to offer.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Laalissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Nothing is far so although you are on the outskirts you will enjoyed the walks to the square. It is well placed with not many tourists so you can enjoy watching the Venetians go about their daily lives. A supermarket is just around the corner. This hotel has a magnificent walled garden and it would have been lovely to have eaten breakfast. Our room was small but adequate. The bathroom was tiny. The price was reasonable considering we were there in peak season. We found some very interesting restaurants amongst the lanes and seriously enjoyed our stay. Our room had a small window which looked onto a brick wall, not that we spent much time in our room. Wifi was accessible in the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Quiet place out of the way of the typical Venice tourist crowds. Yet the #2 water bus stop is only a couple of minutes walk from the hotel. Breakfast in the garden is a wonderful experience. And the staff were friendly and helpful - overall an enjoyable stay.

Helpful?
1 Thank acfenmius
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Romney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Upon weighting up hotel prices against ratings on TripAdvisor, the San Sebastiano scores very well.

My partner and I found this hotel perfectly adequate for our needs. The rooms are clean and the staff are helpful. There are no thrills, but still perfect for a weekend to explore Venice.

The hotel is well placed for a 5 min walk to the main attractions and a 1 min walk to the nearest water taxi.

Breakfast is good to average with a choice of the usual continental bites and a waitress offering drinks at every opportunity.

Rooms are clean and nicely presented.

To summarise, its a reasonably priced, no thrills Venice hotel, in a very good location. Perfect for couples looking for somewhere to relax at the end of a busy day sightseeing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob_e70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed here at the end of March 2013 to treat ourselves to a city break. We booked the hotel with Thomas Cook as part of the city break package. The hotel staff were always very friendly and willing to help. We called them before we arrived to get instructions on how to get to the hotel and they were very friendly in helping us. The hotel is in a great location with the San Basilio waterbus station just 1 min walk away, so you can get to St Marks very quickly. It is also easily accessed from Venice St Lucia Railway Station.

We stayed in a double bedroom with a door that opened up to tiny court yard to ourselves. The room had a tv, fridge, bath tub and shower and central heating. It décor was very authentic Italian design.

The best thing about the hotel is that it is situated away from the very centre which can be crowded but also is in walking distance; we walked into St Mark's Sq area every day and it only took us approx. 15 -20 minutes, very scenic walk. We really enjoyed the walk along the Zattere. Our favourite bridge in Venice is Ponte dell'Accademia so we enjoyed the short walk over there each day.

The hotel serviced lovely continental breakfast with a choice of cereal, fruit, cheese, meets, breads cakes and yoghurt. The tea and coffee was also lovely. The hotel does not have tea or coffee making facilities in the room, so you may want to bring a mini kettle if you are a regular tea drinker. There is a small supermarket just round the corner from the hotel so we just stocked up on cheeses, meats and treats. It was great being so near to the super markets because we could just make our own lunch with great Italian ingredients which saved us a lot.

There are lots of small cafes and restaurants situated around the hotel and you get to meet all the locals...which is always a good sign.

The hotel has wifi access and also a pc station with 1 pc at the reception area. The garden was lovely but we did not have much time to spend in it.

We stayed here at the end of March. We honestly think this was the best time to visit Venice as the weather was pleasant and there were no crowds. Plus all the gondola rides were going for 25-30 EUR versus the summer time prices of 80 - 200 EURs. To save money especially if you go in the peak of summer book a gondola ride as part of a walking tour, we booked the "
Discover Venice Tour and Gondola Ride" for only about 50 EUR in total for 2 of us. The walking tour was great because it gave us real insider knowledge on Venice, so when we went on the gondola ride we appreciated the sites more. You can book the tour from the St Marks Sq Tourist Information Office, which where the tour leaves off from.

We also decided to take a trip to Verona by train, so we went to St Lucia Railway station which is not too far from the hotel via the back way with all the cute little bridges.

All in all we enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_n_M1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

This was our second visit and the plusses remain - garden very pretty; breakfast served there by delightful staff; location good with good restaurants nearby, and vaporetto stop close; very quiet; corridors and reception area good and cool. BUT room this time, smallish but fine with no views (34) and air conditioning totally inadequate for Venice in July. Staff unhelpful and couldn't or wouldn't do anything about it - 'well air is coming through' - true it was - warm air! And we weren't alone - the people in the room opposite had their door open a lot to get the cool air being expended by the air conditioning unit in the corridor. And we were very disappointed to find the bar didn't have any grappa - odd in Italy when it had malt whisky on offer. Our room was the cheapest on offer but still euro 214 a night. - expensive given six difficult nights in a steamy and hot room.

Room Tip: Avoid 34 and the room opposite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwyneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#81 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Pausania
Hotel Pausania
#163 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Cannaregio
Eurostars Residenza Cannaregio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#144 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Alla Corte Rossa
Alla Corte Rossa
#218 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Castello
Hotel Gabrielli
Hotel Gabrielli
#120 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Sebastiano Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Sebastiano Garden Hotel

Property: San Sebastiano Garden Hotel
Address: Fondamenta San Sebastian Dorsoduro 2542, 30123 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#111 Family Hotel in Venice
#141 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Sebastiano Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your San Sebastiano Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Sebastiano Garden Venice
Hotel San Sebastiano Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing