We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charged 3 times for the city tax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Sebastiano Garden Hotel
Ranked #178 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Charged 3 times for the city tax”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I would be very careful with this place in regards to the city tax charges!
We were charged on our credit card for nearly 60 Euros for the Local city tax on our initial booking(on top of the rooms fees inc VAT)
On check out, we were asked to pay again in cash(I had not realized this has been paid until I looked at our internet receipts closely)
Then we found that a further amount from the hotel that has been charged from our credit card without our authorisation when we returned from our trip(again presumably for the city tax - no receipt has been sent to us either for this)

The Classic room we had was also very small - with uneven floor, the bathroom was more like a narrow room under the stairs.(avoid this room if you are booking)

Better to go down for breakfast later - leftover bread and fruit salad was served when it first opened and the staff are told not to take out the lovely Italian prosciutto to slice until later

Location wise - it is about a 30min walk to Piazza San Marco. The alleys can be quite dark at night - lots of graffiti on the walls along the way can make one feel unsafe. Even in the morning, there are some beggars in the nearby alleys. But it is not far from the public water bus stops and there is also a grocery shop nearby.

The staff are all friendly esp the kitchen staff during breakfast time.

I think this issue is with management higher up trying to make the most money out of unsuspecting hotel guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelbSur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    185
    49
    21
    9
See reviews for
66
279
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Booked through Gala Hotels, we had a very enjoyable 4-night stay here. the twin-bedded room was compact, but fine once the cases were emptied and tidied away. The bathroom was very good, with marble everywhere, but one drawback was the lack of shelves there. Staff very helpful, Breakfast was fine, location was opposite a world-renowned church, stuffed with Tintorettos.
Allow 100 minutes for the very scenic Allilaguna blue line waterbus (Euros 15 per person each way) to Zattere, an easy ten-minute walk to the hotel. I loved Venice and would go back like a shot, but one needs to choose the time of year carefully, to avoid the crowds, the mosquitoes and the floods. If it is raining hard, you may wish to take a water taxi, Euros110 for four people each way, as it will take you to the door and more quickly, but not necessarily as scenically. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Probably the best location in Venice. Easy walk from the small Cruise Ship dock, minutes from the water bus stop, 4 good restaurants within. 5 minutes walk, air conditioned rooms, great garden patio, great staff. We were there Sept 20-25.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Larry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Mary's City, MD
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had an excellent stay at San Sebastiano Garden Hotel. From the moment we arrived until the morning we left 3 days later we had nothing but praise for the property. Our room, which was large and looked over the lovely garden, was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly, efficient and very helpful. We arrived early and though our room was not ready, the nice woman at the front desk offered to safely store our bags while we went out for a bite to eat. The location was perfect, a quiet canal front property and a short walk to a vaporetto stop. The breakfast was more than adequate with a good variety of items to choose from. Overall, a most excellent property.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DragonShadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We spent 1 night at this hotel, and overall we were very satisfied with the hotel. It has a beautiful garden in the back of the hotel, a rarity for Venice standards. The hotel is well placed for a 5 min walk to the main attractions and a 1 min walk to the nearest water taxi. The room was spacious for European standards, comfortable bed, the bathroom was very spacious too. Air conditioning worked without any issues. No issues with WiFi either. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff exceptionally friendly. The room was suitable for our needs and was cleaned everyday. St Mark's is about 30 minute walk, where you can enjoy the beautiful scenery of Venice. There are a variety of restaurants and markets close by the hotel. Did not have a chance to enjoy the breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmjvega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Let me start off by saying this was the final stay in a two week honeymoon, we were genuinely excited for Venice and Venice itself did not disappoint. This hotel however, did. We arrived at 1:30pm and were greeted by the manager, I assume she was the manager by the ridiculous amount of emails they sent us in the week leading up to our check-in. She informed us that the room we reserved was unavailable that night (garden view - 3 months ago the reservation was made) but for our honeymoon she wanted to offer us a Jr Suite for one night and then for the second night we would be moved to a “common” room. We said no problem since it "felt" like a nice treat and how bad could a “common” room be? Their garden has the potential to be very nice, if they actually took care of it (from the pictures on Trip Advisor it was taken care of before, did we go on a bad week?!!). The Jr Suite is the size of what most North Americans want in a European hotel but never actually receive (side note: Europe has small hotel rooms, get over it). There were two bathrooms and a very King Edward décor to it (slightly creep to be honest) and dusty, very dusty. Regardless, we had a balcony and tried to be positive. The second day we packed up our things as we were told they would be brought to the second room of this trip. The second room was Room 11, right beside the staircase. I actually cried when I walked in. We had a construction site right outside our window (thank God that they didn’t start working at 7am). This room is handicapped accessible, which is a plus for a European hotel – that’s the only plus. In the shower, the stand for those needing assistance had mildew all over it. Nothing was dusted. The wires for the TV and cable were thrown all over the TV, frames were crooked, the duvet had a yellow tint to it. We asked if it was possible to change rooms, but they did not have any other rooms to give us because one of their rooms had a “water problem the night before”. LIES. You guys overbooked your hotel and were scrambling to find a solution, any solution. My husband and I were lucky enough to hear an exchange between a couple who were checking in and the night clerk while we were using the Wi-Fi. The hotel actually took it upon themselves and moved them to another hotel because of this "problem" – the other hotel was on MURANO island (I truly hope those people write a review here). I have never been so duped by a hotel in my entire life. I can promise we will never be back – and I will NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone. When we checked out, the same woman who checked us in did not even bother to ask how our stay was, but she sure was quick to ask if we took anything from the mini bar :) I understand that we all have a different vision of what a 4 star is and should be, but San Sebastiano is a 3 star and no more.

All things considered their breakfast was pretty good; bolied eggs, toast, cakes, cold cuts, cheeses, yogurt, juices and pastries. Coffee is a little weak for Italy.

Room Tip: Book at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

We booked a twin room, upon arrival we were told that there was only a double bed, the hotel was fully booked and nothing could be done. The receptionist was very unhelpful and it took repeated efforts until she agreed to get us a twin room for the following night. I asked for extra bedding as one of us would be sleeping on the floor (she was unconcerned by this), the bedding only arrived after a second request later that day. The room was tiny, it would have been impossible to fit two beds in there, it was also very dingy and the bathroom was horrible. When I took a blanket down from the top shelf of the wardrobe I disturbed a layer of dust.
We asked to borrow an iron and were told there were no irons allowed in the room, however the receptionist said she'd come back to us with a solution, like our original request for a blanket it never arrived.
We were moved to a larger room the next day, the guy on reception said we should really be paying for an upgrade but he was waiving it. I didn't feel very grateful given my night spent on the floor for the sum of €125 (room avg €250 per night). I do not believe that the San Sebastián Garden Hotel could not have arranged alternative accommodation for us at another hotel for the sake of one night, it was very poor customer service to allow a guest to sleep on the floor.
I don't understand why previous reviews rave about the breakfast, it's actually very poor with no hot food options, the orange juice is 5% juice 95% water. The lady serving breakfast was lovely and very cheerful.
The garden is lovely but it's neglected and in serious need of some maintenance and tlc.
Location wise the hotel is good, the nearest waterbus (vaporetto) stop is Zattere.
Obviously based on my experience I don't recommend this hotel and won't be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#72 of 386 in Venice
494 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Pausania
Hotel Pausania
#160 of 386 in Venice
453 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Palazzo Veneziano
Palazzo Veneziano
#59 of 386 in Venice
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#151 of 386 in Venice
641 reviews
Cannaregio
Foscari Palace
Foscari Palace
#94 of 386 in Venice
1,072 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#71 of 386 in Venice
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Sebastiano Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Sebastiano Garden Hotel

Property: San Sebastiano Garden Hotel
Address: Fondamenta San Sebastian Dorsoduro 2542, 30123 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#111 Family Hotel in Venice
#141 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Sebastiano Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your San Sebastiano Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Sebastiano Garden Venice
Hotel San Sebastiano Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing