We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, beautiful city!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Sebastiano Garden Hotel
Ranked #189 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We were lucky enough to stay here for my birthday in December 2013. As it was one of the quieter months for tourism in Venice the hotel and surrounding area was almost eerily quiet (although this only added to the Gothic romance of our Venetian getaway!). Staff were accommodating, food was lovely, and I'd confidently say that the trip was good value for money. The garden was so very pretty and there is nothing as magical as walking back late at night, after a Bellini or two, through the foggy mazes of Venice!

Just book it already.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanSebastianoGarden, Responsabile reception at San Sebastiano Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Dear Madam,
You do are an expert tourist, someone that can pick so deeply the nuances of our town deserves respect!
Thanks for pick our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel was a delight perfectly situated away from the hustle and bustle. It was a convenient walk to saint marks square or to a transportation( ferry or taxi) hub. Breakfast included was a bonus but it has a market, restaurant, bar or just coffee within a 5 minute radius. We paid for a taxi from the airport so no need to reserve any special transportation. Saw many people with luggage on boat transit system after we arrived, so probably worth looking into to save a few dollars. What we enjoyed most about San Sebastian was that it was located in a more local living area. Each morning we had coffee next door and watched everyone mingle on their way to work. Truly was a great find and worth the stay. The staff were more than accommodating and willing to please. The breakfast was enjoyed both inside or in their outside garden, complete with grape vines. Very quiet and enjoyable.

Room Tip: We upgraded to have a canal view. Window opened but didnt realize it was not one or two of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanSebastianoGarden, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at San Sebastiano Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Sir,
thanks for your review.
But overall thanks for your understanding and enjoying our traditions and our surroundings
Our staff want to thank you for your consideration.
Best Regards
Giorgia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I like this pretty and classical hotel. Very good location, quiet and relaxing atmosphere.
Especially staffs here are very friendly and helpful. The room has a bathtub which made us so comfortable. A bit expensive but it may be reasonable for Venice.
The only disappointing point was that one blanket was so dirty with many weeds! It should have been clean..

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miwa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanSebastianoGarden, Responsabile reception at San Sebastiano Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,
Our Staff is delighted for your review!
About grass in the blanket I wonder if it was scented because if it is so , is a natural perfumer that we used last year, otherwise I just can not imagine the reason for its presence , please let us know...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The hotel in itself is as much of Venice not in a 100% perfect shape on the outside and inside but that just adds to the classical style of things.

The service was impeccable and most notworthy was Claudio in the reception who both shared great advice on restaurants and on the topic of wine.
It turned into a quite lengthy conversation concerning wine which was more than appreciated since it was one of the mainreasons we came to italy.

When it comes to location it is just a couple of stops off by boat from both San Marco (and it stops just next to it) as well as from the central bus and trainstation. The neighbourhood is just a few blocks off most sites (a couple of minutes walk at most) aswell as the restaurants which makes it perfect in order get to all sites near the grand canal yet be able to get a good night sleep without heavy banter outside all night long.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alderbranches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanSebastianoGarden, Responsabile reception at San Sebastiano Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Dear Sir,
Our old style is sought after because we want to be different from other hotels and of course we have the location that permit us this choice (our building is 500 years old!)
Claudio was delighted to find someone interested in something that is his passion: Food and good wine he still remember
how you were interested...
Thanks for giving to travellers hints about the great value of our location.
Staff wish to see you soon.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Cosy, silent hotel in Venice. Warm and helpful stuff, good breakfast (might improve), beautiful garden where you might relax.
Price negotiation was possible in high season, and personal approach.
Would highly recommend in this area of Venice (nightlife, restaurants, walks).
WIFI in price, however bit slow, as usual.
Discoount in parking.

Room Tip: Garden rooms quite and less heated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanSebastianoGarden, Responsabile reception at San Sebastiano Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Sir,
thanks for spending your time for a review about our hotel.
We would rather prefer that our internet provider could be at our level of services you listed... but we're working on it!
Greetings from the Relax Garden...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Staff were friendly and helpful, room was fine, Bathroom was spacious and hotel was in a wonderful location. Our room overlooked the garden at the back and we had breakfast watching the canal at the front, the Buffet breakfast was excellent and staff continually on hand filling our coffee cups. We had the water taxi ticket covering all of our stay and as the hotel was so close to a taxi stop we did use this, however we found the hotel was within walking distance of most things we wanted to see, taxi there and walk back. Hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanSebastianoGarden, Responsabile reception at San Sebastiano Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Madam,
thanks for your review, but especially to highlight our hotel with such compliments.
We do our best to fulfil our guests desire and once we got it it's a big reward for us!
regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We are just finishing up our stay at this hotel and I would say that its one of the best hotel experiences on our trip.
We got upgraded to the Junior suite which is absolutely spectacular. Everything you would picture an old world Venice hotel to be like, with a balcony view over the canal. The hotel has amazing architecture itself.
The staff at check in were so friendly and inviting and every staff member that we encountered was always so happy.
The breakfast is great with freshly sliced ham and the waitress even made the cakes herself which we're truly amazing.
All round a fabulous hotel experience and great to be away from the maddening crowds around the grand canal etc. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: well we got an upgrade, so thats always a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patersonberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanSebastianoGarden, Responsabile reception at San Sebastiano Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Sir,
Our Staff want to thank you for your review. We are delighted by your words!
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Palazzo Veneziano
Palazzo Veneziano
#24 of 385 in Venice
206 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#68 of 385 in Venice
522 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Pausania
Hotel Pausania
#170 of 385 in Venice
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#142 of 385 in Venice
619 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Hotel Palazzo Stern
#20 of 385 in Venice
1,713 reviews
Castello
Hotel Gabrielli
Hotel Gabrielli
#113 of 385 in Venice
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Sebastiano Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Sebastiano Garden Hotel

Address: Fondamenta San Sebastian Dorsoduro 2542, 30123 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#110 Family Hotel in Venice
#140 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £82 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Sebastiano Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Sebastiano Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Sebastiano Garden Venice
Hotel San Sebastiano Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing