We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonably priced accommodation in Venice? Read on!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Caburlotto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Caburlotto
Ranked #152 of 469 Venice B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced accommodation in Venice? Read on!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

I hadn't thought of staying in a monastery before now, but I wouldn't hesitate to book this one again!

DON'T think strict rules, ancient facilities and grim atmosphere, this place had a good ensuite bathroom, a great garden where we were welcome to have a beer at the end of the day, access to a fridge and microwave, WiFi in the public areas, an ample breakfast and very friendly staff!

The monastery is in a great location, only 10 minutes to the station/vaporetto/buses, and within easy reach of everything. There are small cafes and a bakery nearby The few remaining nuns had moved to other accommodation on 1 September 2013 and I suspect things are less strict now, thought there's still a midnight curfew. The staff are very keen to make your stay in Venice memorable and they have good English, plus a willingess to help with Italian phrases.
The rooms are not large and are modestly furnished, but are clean and comfortable with single beds only - not a problem for my son and I. All this was 105 euros for the two of us - a bargain I can truly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99Lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    94
    34
    11
    11
See reviews for
47
46
51
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Quaint, simple, clean, very friendly staff only to happy to assist. Our group consisted of 2 couples and 3 single ladies aged between 48 to 71 years. Accommodation offers free internet. Continental breakfast for 5 euros. Clean bathrooms nice fluffy towels. Great location only 10 mins walk from bus terminal Would return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at Casa Caburlotto and we really liked it.

The rooms are decently sized (for what you might expect in Venice), very simple and modest. Rooms and bathrooms were pleasantly clean - that was nice. In our case we had two beds, we didn´t ask, but suspect they only use individual beds...maybe to maintain a ´decoroso e dignitoso´ environment as one sign read. :)

The location is excellent and the price is very good. It is really hard to find something at this price at such a convenient location. All major transportation services bus, train, vaporetto and the 'people mover' were within 5 minutes walking distance. There are a few simple restaurants and a pastry shop just around the corner as well.

The nuns were very nice to us and helpful when needed. They only speak italian but communication worked well.

A few things to keep in mind, that weren´t an issue for us while vacationing but worth mentioning:
- there is no wifi, but there are a couple of old computers with internet connection that you can use.
- there is a curfew that starts at 11pm. This wasn´t an issue for us. Most (if not all) restaurants we saw in the area closed earlier than that.
- payment is in cash. Better to have the exact amount if possible, because change was not easy.

All in all, this is a great place: simple, clean, with friendly service, at an excellent location, with little luxuries or additional services at a very good price.

We highly recommend Casa Caburlotto if you are looking for a place to stay in Venice while on vacation and without killing your budget.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Juan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here during the first part of our trip to Italy in June 2013. The nuns were very kind, the accommodations were modest yet clean, and the room and garden provided a quiet escape from the city. The beds are a bit hard, but I slept on the extra pillow provided. I would recommend this place to someone who is going to be out and about in Venice most of the day.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonberg, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stayed at Casa Caburlotto for a week and loved every second spent there! I have two young children who adored the nuns who run the convent. Each morning before we left and upon our arrival, the kids were met with open arms and warm smiles. Although the nuns didn't speak English, there is a gal in the main office who does. Didn't have any problems communicating. If you have heavy bags or have difficulties with stairs, you can take the elevator. There are 42 rooms and our room was facing the canal. First thing I noticed, it was so quiet compared to the area near St Marks or elsewhere in Venice. The rooms are simple. No TV's, radios, alarm clocks..just the necessities. Towels, beds, a shrunk for clothing, chair, private bathroom. The shower isn't enclosed. The shower is made to work in the limited space within the bathroom (shower curtain) but again, we didn't mind. Curfew is 11:30p and we didn't want to be locked out so we always returned prior. It's a bit late for the kids so curfew was not an issue for us. Just plan accordingly at night when taking the vaporettos to insure you can make it back in time for curfew.
Other than that, we had an incredible time in a quiet area. A lovely Italian restaurant is in the next block over..close walk to the Piazzale Roma vaporetto stop and walks around the block is tranquil on that side of the island. I will never stay anywhere else in Venice except for Casa Caburlotto! Can't wait for our next trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sungodd12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Staying in a convent is definitely different to where I would normally stay but I would definitely recommend it. The Casa is down a side street off the main canal which was very quiet and sitting in the garden was peaceful and it was hard to believe you were the middle of bustling Venice. The rooms are basic but very clean and a towel is provided. You need to ring a bell to get into the Casa and there is a curfew but we were never out that late as we had early starts. Breakfast is no longer provided but a nice bakery (with excellent coffee) was a 5 minute walk away. The Casa has vending machines and a small bottle of cold water here was cheaper than in the shops. If I have a return visit to Venice I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerEM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

A lovely peaceful place to stay that is safe and unusual. It is like stepping back in time and the fact that the house is run by nuns makes for a relaxed atmosphere. You have plenty of space to sit down inside or in the shady garden. The coffee machine makes a decent cup and the cold drinks machine has v reasonably priced bottles of cold water. The location is in a not v touristy part of venice and there are good value places to eat nearby. The majer bakery round the corner is excellent value with coffee and croissant for 2.50 euros. there is a takeaway pizza shop close by with pizza slices for 2.50 euros and an excellent restaurant - Venexiana.
The bathroom was v clean and the wet room arrangement with the shower was not a problem although the water was not reliably hot! There are no toiletries so take your own and a hair dryer if required. these small things were more than compensated for by the ambience of an unusual place to stay. I loved it and definitely plan to return with my husband/family in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PJ18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Casa Sant'Andrea
Casa Sant'Andrea
#201 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#130 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Guerrini
Hotel Guerrini
#202 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#106 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Castello
Veneziacentopercento Rooms & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Caburlotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Caburlotto

Property: Casa Caburlotto
Address: Fondamenta Rizzi Santa Croce 316 | Santa Croce, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 469 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Caburlotto 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Caburlotto, owned by the Religious Family of the St. Joseph’s Daughters of Caburlotto, was recently renovated and offers 52 spacious and bright rooms. Casa Caburlotto is suitable for individuals, groups or families, religious and otherwise. Casa Caburlotto, completely renovated in 2014, offers an ideal tourist accommodation and hospitality for individuals, groups and families with bedrooms mostly air-conditioned and with bathroom. It simply and soberly furnished with sight open to the canal or the garden. The breakfast, of continental type (sweet) is offered, inclusive of the price of stay, in two big dining rooms in the first floor of the building. It provides two elevators. IMPORTANT INFORMATION: There is a curfew from 00:00 (midnight) to 06:00. It is not possible to check-in before 00:00 and check-out before 06:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Caburlotto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Caburlotto Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing