We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and Unbelievably Clean”
Review of Casa Caburlotto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Caburlotto
Ranked #144 of 454 Venice B&B and Inns
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Quiet and Unbelievably Clean”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The place is really easy to find, from the train station it took us about 10-15 minutes walking, and from the main bus station it should be a 5-8 min walk. Very quiet location. From the Accademia, it was about a 15 min walk. So maybe not in the middle of the town, but close enough to walk and far away enough to be private. Just the midnight curfew is limiting, you have to start returning home around 11:20-11:30 depending on your location to make it.
The staff were great, they were exteremely helpfull and friendly.
The rooms, the bathrooms and the whole place was one of the most clean places I have every stayed in. The sheets and the towels were shining white! The rooms was just about right for 2 people (twin bed). The private bathrooms are at the end of a hall, a few steps from the rooms. It used to be a monastery, so don't expect anything to be brand new, but the place is very charmful indeed. Air-conditioner in the room was a plus in Venice heat. Only 1 plug in the room, so we had to take turns charging our phones, camera batteries etc, but no big deal really. The breakfast was a limited spread, but fine really. Just around the corner, there is a lovely bakery & cafe, and the best icecream place in Venice. I would definately return to Casa Caburlotto the next time I'm in Venice. We paid 89 euros including tax&breakfast for a twin room with a private bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oceanus_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    99
    35
    11
    11
See reviews for
47
47
56
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minerbio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Il personale di Cà Caburlotto è professionale e cortese, il luogo è in una zona di Venezia molto silenziosa; la camera è molto pulita così come il bagno. La colazione è ricca e il personale molto gentile, servita in grandi stanze. Lo consiglio vivamente a famiglie con bambini, coppie per la comodità della posizione (10 minuti dalla stazione e da Piazzale Roma).
With a professional and kind staff ready to welcome you until midnight, Cà Caburlotto is located in a very quiet area; the room and its bathroom are both very clean. A good and rich breakfast served by a very kind waitress in big rooms. Cà Caburlotto is highly recommended for family with children and couples, it is just 10 minute walk to both Santa Lucia railway station and the parking at Piazzale Roma. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This was my first experience of staying in a religious institution and I suspect that following the departure of the nuns in September many changes may have taken place. There was certainly no 'decoroso e dignitoso' evident whilst I was there with an extremely noisy group of males preventing everyone else from sleeping on my last night. When I spoke with the manager next morning he was apologetic but said what could he do, they were French students! Anyway, so much for peace and quiet - the place was teeming with groups of noisy young people whilst I was there. Despite what other reviewers have said this is not a place I would return to or recommend to anyone else. Basic accommodation was anticipated as was cleanliness and a reasonable degree of comfort. However basic accommodation it certainly was - clean and comfortable it was not. My single room was sadly in need of fresh paint with very grubby walls, the bathroom likewise with a toilet in desperate need of a good clean and lift-out plastic soap rests in the shower recess which had quite clearly been in situ many a day without the benefit of a wash! I shudder to think what may have been lurking in the shower head! Floor tiles were very slippery when wet and this was impossible to avoid. No toiletries, of course, with just the smallest wafer-thin sliver of wrapped soap that I have ever seen! This was meant for both shower and hand basin apparently - I actually had to buy a cake of soap - then a second sliver was produced on my last day! Bed was quite uncomfortable with a mattress long past its use-by date and smelly pillows - yuk! Breakfast was just adequate but if one wanted a second cup of tea/coffee one paid 1.50 euros for it. Overall this was such a dreary place I very much regret having booked there and as accommodation was prepaid @ 225 euros for the three nights it was not possible for me to relocate. As to the actual location, it took me 30 minutes to haul my suitcase to the train station - I don't know how anyone could do it any quicker. Unfortunately, my stay at Casa Caburlotto has probably coloured my view of Venice which was hot, overcrowded, smelly (this was apparently Europe's hottest October for more than fifty years) and teeming with mosquitoes! Yes, I know it is unique and nothing can alter that so long as it manages to survive the ravages of the 20th century with climate change and the tourist influx but having seen it I am content and unlikely to return. Should I decide to do so then I will certainly look for accommodation elsewhere.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank Merrybells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

EXCELLENT !!! the staff, Adrianna, Katarina and Massimo were extremely helpful, the hotel is very close to the train station but not in the tourist strip and so is quiet at night (really the hotel goes dead silent at 10pm, it's a very early crowd - so if you're a light sleeper like me you'll love it), the rooms were clean and comfortable, the complimentary breakfast is good and there is adequate wifi (but only in the first floor common areas) and a computer for use by all. what really makes Casa Carbulotto is the kindness of the staff (all of whom are laypeople, this may have been a convent at one point but feels more like an well run hostel with a very restrained mature crowd now), who were EXTREMELY knowledgable, helpful and had a great working knowledge of Venice - I ended up staying two extra nights because it was such a comfortable place to stay, for a total of a seven night stay. a disadvantage tho is that it's on the far west side of Venice, so the attractions are a bit of a walk - the good thing about this location tho is you only have to drag your rolling bag across three bridges to get to the hotel which is a huge plus (Venice is like a treadmill crossed with a stairclimber, what with all the bridges), plus it's easy to find - just off the first long straightaway towards San Marco etc from the train station. the other possible disadvantage is the midnight curfew, tho if you're there to do some serious sightseeing this would be a good hotel to start with especially for the price, do some early nights and long days of sightseeing, then maybe switch to a more expensive hotel for later nights out towards the weekend - I'll be doing this next time, say six nights at Casa Carbulotto with early nights then a few nights somewhere else for late nights out. I would absolutely recommend Casa Carbulotto and look forward to staying there again, and am already recommending it to friends who travel - it's an EXCELLENT deal for the price in Venice, which is always expensive

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zackreview2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Perfect location in a beautiful old palazzo ,within 5-10 minutes walk from bus/train/vaporetto. Rooms are basic, modest but spotlessly clean, ensuite bathroom tiny, though still comfortable. Towels, bed linen changed by 3 days. The midnight curfew is a real minor issue, it did not hold us back from any event or program, as restaurants or other programs end within time,
Extremely helpful, lovely staff, they did everything to make us feel at home. Free wifi perfectly works in common areas, though could use it in the rooms on the first floor as well. Absolutely recommended and would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liagalamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I hadn't thought of staying in a monastery before now, but I wouldn't hesitate to book this one again!

DON'T think strict rules, ancient facilities and grim atmosphere, this place had a good ensuite bathroom, a great garden where we were welcome to have a beer at the end of the day, access to a fridge and microwave, WiFi in the public areas, an ample breakfast and very friendly staff!

The monastery is in a great location, only 10 minutes to the station/vaporetto/buses, and within easy reach of everything. There are small cafes and a bakery nearby The few remaining nuns had moved to other accommodation on 1 September 2013 and I suspect things are less strict now, thought there's still a midnight curfew. The staff are very keen to make your stay in Venice memorable and they have good English, plus a willingess to help with Italian phrases.
The rooms are not large and are modestly furnished, but are clean and comfortable with single beds only - not a problem for my son and I. All this was 105 euros for the two of us - a bargain I can truly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99Lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Quaint, simple, clean, very friendly staff only to happy to assist. Our group consisted of 2 couples and 3 single ladies aged between 48 to 71 years. Accommodation offers free internet. Continental breakfast for 5 euros. Clean bathrooms nice fluffy towels. Great location only 10 mins walk from bus terminal Would return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Casa Sant'Andrea
Casa Sant'Andrea
#199 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#128 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Guerrini
Hotel Guerrini
#208 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#105 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Castello
Veneziacentopercento Rooms & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Caburlotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Caburlotto

Property: Casa Caburlotto
Address: Fondamenta Rizzi Santa Croce 316 | Santa Croce, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 454 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Caburlotto 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Caburlotto, owned by the Religious Family of the St. Joseph’s Daughters of Caburlotto, was recently renovated and offers 52 spacious and bright rooms. Casa Caburlotto is suitable for individuals, groups or families, religious and otherwise. Casa Caburlotto, completely renovated in 2014, offers an ideal tourist accommodation and hospitality for individuals, groups and families with bedrooms mostly air-conditioned and with bathroom. It simply and soberly furnished with sight open to the canal or the garden. The breakfast, of continental type (sweet) is offered, inclusive of the price of stay, in two big dining rooms in the first floor of the building. It provides two elevators. IMPORTANT INFORMATION: There is a curfew from 00:00 (midnight) to 06:00. It is not possible to check-in before 00:00 and check-out before 06:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Caburlotto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Caburlotto Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing