We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande
Ranked #16 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2012

The hotel is just fantastic. Arriving by water taxi from the airport, we were dropped off at the rear entrance, or from how the reception is built, actually the front entrance of the hotel. Stepping out of the beautiful hardwood boat and into a small, but welcoming lobby.

We were shown up to our room on the second floor, past the breakfast area and bar/lounge to room number 17. This room is according to the hotel drawings, one of the largest. Also situated away from the Grand Canal, furthest away from the bar, it is also the most quiet room, and can be recommended.

Everything has already been written here by others, but I would like to say that the balcony in the lounge was put to use every afternoon for a couple glasses of wine, book reading and people watching. I cannot believe more people used it.
The hotel gave great restaurant recommendations, breakfast was good, staff excellent.... I will definately return to this hotel if coming back to Venice.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank thorhansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

The narrow passage into the rear (if you're not arriving at the canal entrance by water taxi!) of the hotel belies the rather beautiful hotel itself.
The attention to detail (and the theme of black "boudoir?) is stunning. The comfort of the facilities and furnishings, the polite and helpful staff team who arranged any bookings or confirmations very efficiently, the bar and breakfast feasts, plus the location for all parts of Venice you may want to visit, makes this a great place.
We had room 15 which did not face the grande canal; perhaps this was a good thing as the delivery boats started early. The room was smallish but beautufully furnished and the ensuite excellent with classy soaps and creams. Only one draw back for me was the piano practice I could hear each morning between 0800 and 1000. The pianist was clearly very good but it was definitely practice. Yes, I could have got up earlier but if you book this hotel, getting up early probably isn't your immediate priority.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

We just returned after four wonderful nights. This hotel is everything I expected and more. We had never been to Venice and this hotel help make the experience a memorable event.

Since the hotel only has 16 rooms, it's has a very intimate feeling. When you combine this with the low lighting and the attentive, but discreet approach of the staff, you realize that this is an ideal place for couples.

It is a beautiful hotel and part of the design group.
http://www.designhotels.com/home

Although some rooms are located directly off the bar, you must keep in mind that this is not a sports bar. It is only accessible to hotel guests and we never saw more than three couples in the bar at one time -- each enjoying quiet romantic moments. Our room was actually next to the bar bathroom and we had no issues with noise.

This is a place of elegance, where a glass of wine is served with freshly baked puffed pastry as well as the usual chips and nuts.

This is a place when the bartender insists on searching the kitchen for fresh peaches because you want a Bellini and "it's just not right if the fruit isn't fresh."

This is a place where instead of joining other hotel guests in the breakfast buffet shuffle, you are invited to take a seat at a beautiful table for two while individually prepared trays containing an assortment of pastries, fruit, meats and cheese are brought to you.

We were in a junior suite that overlooked the grand canal. The suite was spacious. Not as large as an American suite, but larger than an american hotel room.

The soundproofing was very good. We could not hear activity on the canal when we closed the window.

The bathroom was beautiful and the lighting attractively designed. You won't find large overhead lights here. They instead use the spot and recessed lighting found in high end homes allowing you to control the mood using switches mounted throughout the room.

The photos on the website provide an accurate view of the hotel and its furnishing, however it seemed that each room has a unique layout.

I would recommend this hotels for couples.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoGirl2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We spent 3 nights at Palazzo Barbarigo and it couldn't be more perfect. Room was amazing, view was excellent, and the beds were comfortable. View was right out on the Grande Canale, and the windows opened wide open. We could look out the windows for hours. On the second floor, there's also a small bar area with a small terrace that 2 people can sit out on and eat/drink.

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They were able to arrange taxi's, gondola (pickup at hotel), trip to Murano, dinner reservations, and so on.

The breakfast was excellent - a large selection of meats, sweets, coffee, fruit and juice. Very well done!

When visiting Venice again, we will definitely stay here!

One tip of advice: If taking the vaporetto to San Toma, you actually arrive from the back of the hotel. Try to find "Calle Corner" and follow it all the way down to the back entrance to the hotel. It's not that hard to find, but you need to know Calle Corner.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tyrelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

We had a weekend here and could not fault it, we will be back here again if we come back to Venice which I am sure we will ;) . The staff were great, breakfast was great, and the hotel was not busy, we would recommend this hotel to anyone, we were in a junior suite overlooking the canal which was definatly the best rooms for views of the grand canal.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derekanna1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

This hotel is a strange one for me. Not the greatest (especially not for the price paid). However, the decor can't be faulted.

We stayed in a luxury double on the ground floor with windows looking into the main canal. This was in Oct 2010.

Let's get the bad out if the way:

Staff - didn't really get to experience this. After our check in we never saw a member of staff apart from the glamour-model looking bar lady. The place seemed like it was deserted.
Our breakfast was 'ok' at best, nothing special at all. On one occasion the kitchen told us they ran out of bread! Yes, they ran out of bread (in Italy, where bread is common). If it was my establishment I'd run out to the local shop for my customers.

Food - my fault for not checking but this hotel does not have a restaurant. This is a downer for me. They do have room service which was okayish for e.g. it took them 30mins to deliver 2 cups of tea on a few occasions.

The good stuff:

The decor - awesome, contemporary with classical touches. Dark and intimate. You can feel a touch of creative class. Even the linen/fabric in the rooms complements the decor. Your first entrance to the hotel should be via a boat in the canal....it's a great entrance.....off the boat and into the doorway (as if the canal is the road). The entrance hall does not disappoint either. Room sizes were good but the shower-rooms small. I would've expanded the shower-rooms a tad bit by taking some room from the bedroom.

Location - venice itself isnt very big so it's not difficult to walk to any main sites. We walked everywhere. At times when we felt lazy we used the local boat stop to catch a boat bus from place to place. The neighbourhood is quiet. The back entrance to the hotel (a long narrow alleyway) may seem a bit odd at first but this is just Venice's quirky character and you'll get used to it and then love it for its originality.

Would I stay here again, probably not. Simple reason...overpriced.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Junaid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We just returned yesterday from 7 nights at the Palazzo Barbarigo in one of their luxury rooms. It was a fabulous experience! The room itself was very large and beautifully appointed, the bathroom had wonderful fixtures and a terrific shower. The linens were lovely, with separate fluffy duvets for each of us and lovely fluffy pillows. The mattress was quite firm - this is the Venetian way apparently, but we had no problem with our sleep! The view from the room was of the side canal, but this made it much quieter than if we had fronted the grand canal. The only (small) issue with the room was the lack of a clock - but this was easily solved by using our cell phone alarms and the desk was more than willing to give us wake up calls as well.

Breakfast each morning was lovely, with lots of fresh fruit, freshly baked croissants and other various pastries (the cream filled donuts were to die for!), yogurt in adorable little glass pots, prosciutto, brie and rolls....really enough to last our appetites well into the afternoon.

The staff were terrific across the board. From the breakfast and bar servers to the cleaning people, all treated us as if we were special and helped us with whatever we required. The various desk clerks who worked during the week we were there were all wonderful - they booked (and rebooked, and occasionally cancelled) restaurant reservations for us, booked us tickets for a wonderful concert one evening, and arranged whatever we needed. They helped to make our trip even more special.

The hotel is located a very short walk from the San Toma vaporetto stop and is also well within walking distance of the Rialto Bridge. However, as other reviewers have stated, it is in a quieter neighborhood that feels like actual Venetians live there, which we liked greatly.

Finally, do use the list of restaurants recommended by the hotel - we found that each of the ones we tried were delicious in their own way and none were in the least bit a tourist trap. All were very authentic and had locals dining in them.

Again, I cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay - we would go back again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Our room was quiet and lovely - number 17.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 384 in Venice
1,927 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#17 of 384 in Venice
1,567 reviews
Hotel L'Orologio
#22 of 384 in Venice
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande

Address: San Polo 2765, 30125 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £204 - £581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Venice, boutique hotel on the Grand Canal In an exciting and fascinating setting, the Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo awaits you in Venice with spaces and rooms evoking an enchanting atmosphere, perfectly blended with the seductive and romantic soul of our wonderful city. Elegant furnishings and original 16th century elements make Palazzo Barbarigo a unique hotel in Venice, where a refined setting and all the most modern amenities will make your stay an esclusive and unforgettable moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing