We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice but be careful of unethical behaviour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande
Ranked #18 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
197 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Good choice but be careful of unethical behaviour”
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

This is a good choice in Venice. Central enough, on San Polo, and importantly, modern and neat. Officially its a 'Design Hotel' but its not so much 'design' as 'not old and crusty'. No carpeted walls or gold plated taps here. Everything is neat, modern and appealing. The overall theme is 'black' so more in the Royalton style of dark atmospheres than the glowing whiteness of many modern places. Prices are good for the quality. Be careful of the hotel's sales practices though. It advertises itself as 'on the Grand Canal', which it absolutely is. However, if you buy a 'Canal View' room you will get a room on the dingy little canal on the side. The few rooms (i think 3) on the Grand Canal are all suites and if you want them, you will be charged extra when you arrive. This is miss-selling at its Italian best, and has no place in a quality operation. I suggest you avoid Palazzo Barbarigo until they clean up their act. Also, bear in mind that its hardly a Palazzo. More like a 2 floor annex, next to a Palazzo. The whole place is at the end of a long and very dirty alley (not sure why the owner can't be bothered to go and clean it every so often, the pigeon droppings are hardly welcoming for his guests). The ground floor houses the reception and rooms 1, 2 and 3. The first floor is organised around a large bar, and hosts the other rooms. The bar would be nice, were it not for the poor woman working behind it, so bored and unattentive that you feel like telling her to go home. Otherwise the service is friendly but sparse. There seems to be no more than 3 people working here. Another triumph of personnel cost control. Breakfasts are good and generous, even if the 10€ tray charge to serve you in your room which is 5 meters away from the breakfast room is again part of that dubious commercial mentality. On the whole a nice place, but not run very professionally

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank i-live-for-lunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    128
    26
    6
    5
See reviews for
33
474
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I'm going to keep this short as I'll probably be echoing the sentiments of most of the other reviews, but just to mention five things:

1. Arriving to the hotel's private entrance on the Grand Canal by water taxi from Marco Polo airport is something we'll never forget - a proper James' Bond moment. (And also worth doing as the hotel would be impossible to find on foot unaided, it's very tucked away).
2. Very cool, sumptuous rooms that felt Venetian without being too overblown and chintzy - this also applies to the decor of the whole hotel
3. Breakfast was fantastic, with a very generous range of delicious pastries, hot drinks, fruit, yoghurt etc, served to your table rather than a buffet. It's also relatively rare to find a Venice hotel where such a delicious breakfast is included in the room rate
4. The location of the hotel is excellent - it puts you in walking distance to all the main areas whilst being sufficiently removed from the main drag to mean there's a few good value local restaurants close by (Muro, a pizzeria just round the corner, was very good)
5. The service in the hotel was just right - the concierge booked us a restaurant on Murano that on first glance seemed to be a lunch spot for local workers, but on eating, served amazing seafood for the fraction of the price you would find elsewhere. In addition, the bar service in the hotel was impeccable. We had an aperitif (Aperol Spritzer, a Venetian must-try) in the hotel most nights before going out - the prices were not heavily 'hotel weighted' as they often are, and the drinks were very well prepared.

So, all in all, an excellent stay in a city where it's very easy to get ripped off or feel disappointed. It's rare that I come away from a hotel feeling that it was worth every penny, but this one is definitely an exception. The location, ambiance and fantastic service - if you like low key but luxurious hotels, this one is definitely worth it.

Room Tip: If you're concerned you might be disturbed by noise from the canals, ask from a room on a higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BodOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012 via mobile

From the moment we approached in the water taxi, this was a dream vacation. The location is off the normal craze of the tourist track but close enough to walk to everything, all still with fantastic views of the Grand Canal. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and the breakfast was more than we ever could have expected. We could have stayed a month and been quite happy. I highly recommend this place.

Helpful?
1 Thank TimCurry
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Isle of Wight UK
Level Contributor
183 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Having reviewed so many hotels, we came across this one on Tripadvisor – if you like stunning original properties refurbished in contemporary décor, this is for you!

We loved our stay from start to finish. Thanks to all the great tips from previous reviews, we found the hotel very easily from the nearest Vaporetto stop, Sa Toma, with the assistance of a good street map (essential!) Thanks also to reviewers for the photo of Calle Corner, the narrow alleyway to the hotel – it was good to know what we were looking for and didn’t in anyway feel unsafe (or in the whole of Venice).

The hotel is beautiful – gorgeous décor, very well maintained and super stylish. Our luxury room (17) was fabulous – spacious and stunning! The whole hotel is very warm, even during a really cold spell, so we were pleased to have good sized windows we could leave open all night. The only downside to this is that our room overlooked a refuge collection point on the opposite side of the canal, so barge noises started fairly early in the morning, but this wasn’t invasive and it was interesting to have an insight into residents’ life. The lighting throughout the hotel is very subdued but we knew this and it does add to the charm. Bathroom lighting is very flattering (i.e. not bright!) but again not a problem.

The hotel was very quiet during our stay, (December is tranquil in Venice) which was perfect for us. We enjoyed a late night liqueur on the fabulous 2-seat balcony late at night, overlooking the stunning setting on the Grand Canal, wrapped up in coats and scarves – wonderful evening views!

Breakfast is a delight – all delivered straight to your table, with amazing fresh and ripe fruit. Coffee/teas are made to order and delivered with hams, cheeses, breads and far too enticing delicious freshly made pastries and croissants – a very relaxing experience although too tempting!

We loved our stay and were so pleased to have found this hotel – enjoy!

Room Tip: Luxury rooms are really spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IOWtravelbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

What an amazing hotel, everything about our weekend stay was magical. The hotel is incredibly stylish, just the right size so feels intimate, staff were attentive, room was stunning with a delightful view of the Grand Canal. If there is one thing to be recommended, is pay for the water taxi from the airport, the trip into the city was jaw dropping, plus you are taken straight to the hotel. Worth every penny. A weekend never to be forgotten in a truly spectacular and romantic city!

Room Tip: Face the Grand Canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkpantheronholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

This was a super nice hotel that certainly was a wonderful home base for an amazingly romantic trip to Venice. I have nothing bad to say about the hotel. The location was perfect for us. It was convenient to transportation, right on the Grand Canal and just far enough off the beaten path that we didn't have to deal with the hustle and bustle of the tourist districts. The styling of the rooms was perhaps a bit too modern for our tastes. Some of the flavor of Venice was lost in the attempt to create a distinctive property. Our room was very dark due to the dark decor and limited lighting. While it didn't bother me too much, the dimness of the bathroom is going to be a complant for the ladies who want to get dressed up for a night out. The staff was pleasant, but noticeably absent, which made it feel like you had the run of the place. The included breakfast was a favorite highlight of ours. Mind you this is not a heavy American style breakfast, but a European breakfast of freshly made pastry, fruit, meat and cheese. It was lovely. All in all, we would recommend the hotel, but probably will not repeat when we return.

Room Tip: The side canal rooms are a little quieter than those facing the Grand Canal, but certainly the Grand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PlayaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012 via mobile

Finally i understood why others say its hard to find by foot. If not for the reviews, i would have hesitated to walk through some narrow maze to reach the hotel. Its really very strange. The only negative feedback i have is the room i had was too small and bathroom lighting a little dim. There is hardly any room to place 2 luggages comfortably. This was compensated by the hotel's fabulous breakfast. It was included in our package and oh wow, what a great way to start the day. All said, it' a nice charming place for couples who want something different from the usual grandeur hotels. If you want a grand hotel frontage, this is not for you.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo
#28 of 385 in Venice
751 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Hotel L'Orologio
#22 of 385 in Venice
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Hotel Palazzo Stern
#20 of 385 in Venice
1,663 reviews
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#10 of 385 in Venice
731 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Maria Adele
Ca' Maria Adele
#7 of 385 in Venice
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande

Property: Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande
Address: San Polo 2765, 30125 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Venice, boutique hotel on the Grand Canal In an exciting and fascinating setting, the Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo awaits you in Venice with spaces and rooms evoking an enchanting atmosphere, perfectly blended with the seductive and romantic soul of our wonderful city. Elegant furnishings and original 16th century elements make Palazzo Barbarigo a unique hotel in Venice, where a refined setting and all the most modern amenities will make your stay an esclusive and unforgettable moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing