We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande
Ranked #18 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful boutique hotel!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Great staff, great location, beautiful modern design. If you like the modern take on sexy boutique hotels then this is for you, if you don't then go somewhere else, and don't leave stupid reviews. The hotel website gives a great impression of what is in store and we loved it! BA lost one of our bags and the hotel staff did all they could to track it down for us. Definitely spend the extra cash and arrive by water taxi as it makes for a magical start to your stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in no. 7, great view of grand canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robshave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelphilosophy, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Robshave,
we would like to thank you for sharing your travel experience and enthusiasm with the TripAdvisor community.
We read your positive comments on the hotel staff and services, on our care to details and hospitality with great pleasure. This is exactly what we wish to convey to all our guests.
We hope to welcome you soon back in Venice!
The Palazzo Barbarigo Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    131
    26
    6
    5
See reviews for
33
485
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights in the suite with a view of the Grand Canal.

The room is fabulous, very chic in its decor and just oozes class and sumptuousness. We wanted a hotel that didn't look like it came straight out of the 16th century and the hotel delivered! Our suite was very large, had a great amount of storage and lovely views of the grand canal. I believe there are two of these suites with grand canal views, one on the ground floor and one above it. The bathroom however was pretty small compared to the size of the room. Everything was in great condition. Comfy bed, comfy pillows etc etc.

The room was a tad dark though. There is a lot of black in this room, and with just one medium-sized window, it can get a little dingy.

Breakfast wasn't great. The orange juice wasn't fresh and the pastries weren't the greatest either. Be warned due to the hotel's small size the only hot breakfast here is an omelette.

There's a nice bar area on the upper floor however with a balcony that you can sit on. It's a great place to sit and have a drink!

Staff were helpful and friendly, otherwise they didn't really stand out. I do recommend arriving by water taxi from the airport if you can. It can be close to 100 EUR. There's also a vaporetto (ferry/bus)stop at the airport too which will be a lot cheaper (and take a lot longer.) There's nothing quite like going straight into a boat after getting off a plane and stepping off at your hotel's dock. If you take the vaporetto, you will have to get off at a stop close to the hotel and try to find the minuscule alleyway to the hotel's back entrance. Do use the vaporetto to get around once you've arrived though as it's fantastic.

if I had to pick one place to recommend in Venice, I'd go to the island of Burano on the vaporetto. It's the most colorful place in the world. All the houses are painted a different colour so that the local fishermen could find their houses in the thick fog that often frequents the area! Ask staff for better directions on how to get there. They will give you a map.

Overall a great stay at the hotel, I'd recommend it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the junior suite with grand canal view. It's a huge room but the single window isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Loved this hotel for its design, location and service. The dark interior design is seriously sexy but unfortunately this compromises utility. Not enough lighting to put on your make up or cut your toenails! Typically of a design hotel, there is a lack of storage/surface area . Unpacking is not an option. The hotel is easily accessed by water taxi, but quite tricky to find if you are coming by foot. We had a room on the ground floor which opened onto a canal. Room number 3. I would recommend this over a room on a higher floor as the atmosphere is better. You can hear the singing gondoliers go past and watch the world go by!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the ground level if you like people watching as the windows open onto a small canal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ziggy_dog_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We arrived at this beautiful hotel by water taxi, situated on the Grand Canal, it really is the only way to arrive! We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. It is beautiful and very chic, the staff are very friendly and helpful. We had concerns that the alley ways leading to the hotel would be dark at night, but not at all, in fact they seemed lighter. The breakfast was lovely, plenty of fruit, bread and cheese and a menu if you want more or something different; I am a coeliac, but I didn't tell the hotel this or ask for special treatment - I wish I had now to see what they could do for me [there was still plenty of choice and I didn't go hungry]!
We stayed in a Junior suite with views of the Grand Canal, although a gorgeous room, the window felt a bit small and with no balcony you couldn't really sit and admire the view. The bathroom was a good size and very elegant with a tiny TV in the mirror; the only criticism I have is that it is too dark in there. We had loads of wardrobe space and I really liked the automatic light, so helpful during night-time visits to the bathroom. We would definitely stay at this hotel again and can't wait to go back to Venice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacqNTel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a 2 night stay at the Palazzo Barbarigo and I can definitely recommend it.

With an entrance right on the Grand Canal or just a short walk from a Vaporetto stop we were really pleased with how chic, tasteful and "boutique" this hotel is.

Friendly, helpful staff, great continental breakfasts, a bijou terrace overlooking the grand canal from which to sip Bellinis and just a 10 min walk from the Rialto Bridge and even less to some great bars and restaurants.

You wouldn't stumble across this hotel as the alleyway at the end of which lies the entrance is tiny and quirky. This just added to its charm.

The one very small downside would be the bed which was a bit too hard but other than that we couldn't fault it. Would definitely stay here again!

Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
buckinghamshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Excellent boutique hôtel, be it the rooms a tad dark and the automatic light went on and off when you moved around in bed at night. Breakfast was sumptuous. Staff were friendly and efficient. The O N LY way to arrive is by water taxi……until you get your bearings, finding it 'cold' would be a nightmare as it is a the end of one of the myriad of small lanes. Would thoroughly recommend this small but brilliant hotel a little aways from the very busy, noisy tourist area. 10 mins walk to the Rialto.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Most of what this hotel offers is excellent. The staff are friendly, efficient and helpful, The place is spotlessly clean, the breakfast is lovely, the rooms are fun and stylish, the showers are hot, the slippers are comfy, and the bed is so comfortable. The bar is a great area to spend an hour winding down. The little balcony is worth waiting for as it looks out over the busy grand canal. Bar prices were very reasonable. It is in a good location once you have found it! Take the advice and arrive by water taxi.
The one problem is lighting, it is all very subdued ( romantic) but no good if you want to put your make up on or a plaster on your blister!
Also and this is niggling me, we paid extra for a canal view. I'm not sure there is a room without a canal view?

Room Tip: Room no 5 is on the ground floor overlooking the side canal. I don't think it will be the best r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs140658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,908 reviews
Hotel L'Orologio
#21 of 385 in Venice
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo
#25 of 385 in Venice
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande

Property: Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande
Address: San Polo 2765, 30125 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Venice, boutique hotel on the Grand Canal In an exciting and fascinating setting, the Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo awaits you in Venice with spaces and rooms evoking an enchanting atmosphere, perfectly blended with the seductive and romantic soul of our wonderful city. Elegant furnishings and original 16th century elements make Palazzo Barbarigo a unique hotel in Venice, where a refined setting and all the most modern amenities will make your stay an esclusive and unforgettable moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Lastminute, ACCOR, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing