We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal, service and view”
Review of De Pisis

De Pisis
Ranked #486 of 1,426 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: US$50 - US$173
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: San Marco
Description: THE BAUERs gourmet restaurant De Pisis with the exquisite nature of terrace seating along one of the most spectacular sites in the world, Venice's Grand Canal, with a view of the famous Chiesa di Santa Maria della Salute in the distance, is perfect for those who prefer the intimacy of interiors, the dining room is elaborately furnished in a style reminiscent of Venice's past. As for the food, the executive chef remains true to his Italian roots and locale and serves the freshest finds enhancing their distinct flavors with Mediterranean essences and a dash of Asian influence. And did we mention: "experimentation"! It's what keeps them all coming back for more.
Mosman, Australia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, service and view”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We were guests of the hotel so decided to eat here with no real expectation. We had eaten at some of venice's best and then we ate here. Delicious. Excellent service. Great wine. Watching the sun set over one of the areas best views. Would recommend it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DebCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    40
    26
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“In between good and very good and excellent!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We ate at 3 restaurants whilst on a short trip to Venice, this came out second.
To get to the restaurant, there is a long trek from the entrance. In other hotels there is a host who takes you there and generally chats on the way. But we were left to our own devices to find where were to go, until we happened upon a man in a very empty dusty looking bar, who pointed for us to go through cavernous really beautiful empty rooms, a banqueting room, an empty dining room...until we went outside where lots of staff were buzzing about and we were seated. The view is superb, really superb.
The menu was quite quaint, as the women were provided with ones without prices! It was a good menu with enough choice for us all. Some other diners appeared to be on a different menu than us, a little more restricted, they must have been on some form of deal, pity for them. The food was of a very good quality, my main was venison and that was cooked to perfection, it truly was, the accompanying stuff on the plate didn't quite work, but I ate it and wasn't ill as a consequence!! The fish main course was the best my friend had ever eaten, which was saying something, and the two sharing the steak piped up, that theirs was great too!
I think the service was a tad on the slow side, and we kind of gave up the idea of coffees and liquors and nipped of to the Hotel Danielii instead for those! In fact, we could have done a runner! but being honest, asked to pay, twice! I would visit again, as it has a great feel about it, but only when its busier so there would be a better vibe. I would also recommend this place to my friends.
CoVino, Calle de Pestrin came out top.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happytripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Go for the setting view and overall experience, not the food”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We dined here while we were guests in the hotel for lunch. We did this mainly because a "special prix fix meal" came included with our room. What I wasn't prepared for was the setting which is unmatched and elegant. We dined on the terrace overlooking the grand canal which is why you should go. The food was good but not great. Our "special included menu" was limited on choices so we might have enjoyed the food a bit more if allowed to order off the full lunch menu. What was not included came at a dear price however, what you are paying for is the experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitzicmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
141 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“There's a Chef in house”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

A fantastic 2 hour dinner prepared by the Chef with spectacular service. Dining area is on the Grand Canal by candlelight. It's a meal you won't forget. And remember. . . it's Venice. If you have to ask the price, you may want to seek dinner elsewhere. It's worth the visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveller19842012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Ultra divine dining on the Hotel Bauer Terrace”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We arrived early and were able to enjoy a wonderful piano bar atmosphere in the outside bar of the hotel before our dinner. The de Pisis terrace is one of the best places to see the full lagoon, the fabulous boat traffic, people watching and enjoy the sunset. This is a chic atmosphere and well-placed amongst the high-end shopping part of the city. A woman can really enjoy dressing up a bit for this gorgeous environment. The dining experience was remarkable and delicious and the staff as good as in any five star establishment. I had one of the most amazing desserts of my life here, a "chessboard" of chocolate and fruit. Don't skip dessert here!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neubecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Pisis also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to De Pisis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing