We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“glad I went but was not amazing”
Review of Harry's Bar

Harry's Bar
Ranked #500 of 1,425 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: San Marco
Ilkley
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“glad I went but was not amazing”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We ate lunch there (upstairs) on a Friday- the food was beautiful. The service was very attentive but I found the staff to be too formal to relax at all. This was in contrast to the very warm and casual atmosphere we had encountered in most other places. We had planned on having a long lazy lunch but ended up eating our (delicious) meal and getting out of there. It was busier downstairs and perhaps the atmosphere would have been better as its where the bar is located.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank J0ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    395
    375
    259
    352
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced hype!”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Was told that Harry's was the place to go, maybe thirty years ago!! Arrogant staff living on past reputation and a price list that would choke a donkey. This is a tourist trap unless you don't mind paying 25 euro for a drink (shocked hasty exit was made) !!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edanddoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc, ny
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Joke”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

For years i heard about Harry's Bar. A place who's reputation far exceeds what is deserved.
A crowded hole in the wall with ridiculous prices.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eddNyc_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quemerford
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fabulous Meal”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Our grown up children had been for Bellinis at Harry's Bar and urged us to go. We arrived and loved the buzz of downstairs and were a little disappointed that we were ushered upstairs where the lights were high and the atmosphere was not buzzing. As time went by more people arrived and there was a good atmosphere. Our meal was second to none, really beautifully cooked, well presented and our waiter was the best - old school, great attention to detail and timing. The crockery and more importantly, the cutlery, were excellent. My Bellini was lovely as was the wine with our meal. Next time though I would like to eat downstairs.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pingopolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Way overpriced, but still fun”
Reviewed 29 October 2011

The home of the Bellini, and frequent hangout for Hemingway and other expats back in the day. It's a charming, cozy bar, with good food and delicious drinks, but everything is extremely overpriced, and the staff are quite snooty. Still, a fun place to duck into on a cold afternoon for a Bellini.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank LibbyTeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harry's Bar also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Harry's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing