We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good food and value”
Review of Bistrot de Venise

Bistrot de Venise
Reserve with
Bistrot de Venise is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 1,426 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$72 - US$130
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: San Marco
Description: Bistrot de Venise first opened in 1993 and has since become a hangout and meeting place where the figurative arts, poetry and culture combine, simply, with Food and Wine....1999 saw the start of our research into Rare Wines and Historical Venetian Cuisine, strengthening our concept of applying culture to local and regional Gastronomy and Wine. ...our hard work still continues today... Gastronomy & Wine…extensive research on the history of venetian Cuisine and Wines, from its noble origins to the present time. The Historic & Renaissance Venetian Cuisine revised and suggested by our Chef Mario Missese and his young team. Our House, unique in town, offer a gastronomic trip back to the past glories of Venice following its history & tradition. ”Award winning” wine list, for the quality and variety of the selected rare wines from the Veneto Region and the North-East of Italy. Professional wine tasting (free) all year round. "..exciting Wine List" .. (see Michelin Guide 2012) specialized in the research of many Rare Wines, a truly unique selection purchased directly from small producers with the help of Istituto Sperimentale di Viticoltura di Conegliano. More than 60 options by the glass and a wide selection of the most prestigious italian vineyards. Prized Wine List by Italian Sommelier Association for best 15 in the Veneto Region at Vinitaly 2010.
liverpool
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“very good food and value”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We had eaten the previous day at the Danieli and passed this restaurant as we wandered around Venice in the evening to look for somewhere else to try. We remembered seeing this restaurant in our guide book so went inside for a table. The bar was quiet but we were informed the restaurant did not have a table at that time (8.30pm) so we sat down and had a very good glass of local white wine as suggested by the barman.He then had a word with the maitre d' and we were informed a table would be available around 9.00pm. We are very glad we stayed as the food and service was top notch. We didn't have the tasting menu as we had tasted most of the items on that menu in other restaurants but it looked very good value at 48euro plus 12% service. My wife had gnocchi with lamb to start followed by the selection of tuna (my wife adored this). I had the scampi (large prawns) and fried shore crab with tempura veg. The sommelier was very friendly and looked at what we had ordered to eat and the types of wine we liked before making a recommendation. The tables are a little close and the room was warm (might have been the drinks) but we enjoyed our meal very much.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peeweeLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio_Fragiacomo, Proprietario at Bistrot de Venise, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Buongiorno Peewee
very attentive and detailed description of our House... and very appreciated!!!
Very pleased you matched the excellent value of food and quality price range, it help us to deny some comments that find our Restaurant too expensive, many people do not understand what Venice means in terms of costs.
Mille grazie
La Direzione
Sergio Fragiacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,657
    587
    175
    98
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I found this restaurant thanks to my guidebook. It was wonderful and specialized in traditional Venetian cuisine. The 3 course sampler menu was great value for money as it also include 2 extra courses pre entree and pre desert . Staff were friendly, knowledgeable and keen to please.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfville, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I am a chef and owner of a restaurant in eastern Canada. A small group I was hosting in Italy on a nine day food and wine trip finished with our final meal of the trip here April 3 2012.
The meal was very good. My reservation was honored with a nice table in the back of the restaurant, although it was right beside the waiter station.
We chose to order from the traditional Venetian tasting menu, and were not disappointed. The food was of a high standard. After an amuse of Carrot Flan with squid ink for the table (flan nice texture and warm, the squid ink a dramatic smear on the plate), I started with a tasty sweet potato gnocchi with braised lamb, a second course of roasted duck breast with a sauce made from the innards of the duck and wine and finished with a very good tiramisu (I like mine a little boozier but it was well made and texture was perfect). Service was elegant and smooth. The meal was well paced. The room was a little too bright for my tastes and ended up being a little warm. Excellent wine list with descriptions. Pricier perhaps than necessary but , hey, its Venice!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chef_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio_Fragiacomo, Proprietario at Bistrot de Venise, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Thank you Chef Mike... no need to say anything else,,, excellent and detailed description of part of our Historic Venetian Cuisine Menu & Wine List.
Hope to welcome you and friends back to Bistrot de Venise
regards
Sergio Fragiacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Outstanding wine selection and waiter service”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The place is as cute as a button, old school bistro style. Wifi without password hassles. Amazing quality wines, knowledgeable waiting staff, handsome too :-) I did not dine there, although the aperitifs with the wine were excellent and the menu looked enthralling. It was a positive sign to see many locals dining here...there are so many terrible eateries in Venice as a result of excessive tourism. Whilst this appears in the mid to high price range, I would suggest that it is worth a small premium for the quality of product and service. Multo buono!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dinner”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Went to Venice for my birthday, (short weekend trip) lovely city, amazing food and wine specially in this restaurant. Best service ever, and real dedication to client and the food they're serving.If I ever go back to Venice I will definitely go back to this restaurant, it's a MUST!
Susana

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susanaManuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio_Fragiacomo, Proprietario at Bistrot de Venise, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Thank you SusanaManuel...
La Direzione
Sergio Fragiacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistrot de Venise also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Bistrot de Venise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing