We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Venice Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Venice Certosa Hotel
Ranked #226 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Venice Escape”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Nice Hotel with plenty of space (rare for Venice) and also to escape the crowds. You are still able to access the main sights by boat and can be at St. Mark's square in 10-15min. But you can be on your own island later surrounded by space and a future park (under construction). Hotel staff were very friendly and the bar/restaurant on site and breakfast quite good. Would be a great place to stay if you have a boat as there are many moorings. Takes a little while to get there from the train station by ferry (45min) but it is a good option for a stay in Venice if you want space to relax and a modern hotel room. Bathroom was huge!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank thewinternet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    61
    23
    9
    4
See reviews for
24
81
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Certosa Island has no houses. It's a quiet en peaceful island for pleasureboats, a habour and a hotel.
It is well connected by public transport (line 4 and 5). So after breakfast you you wait for your next Vaporetto boat and in 10 minutes you are at St Marco square. On your way to Certosa Island you have to give notice to the captain you want to stop at Certosa, otherwise they skip the stop. It gives you a feeling of having your own Island. Hotel, garden and breakfast are very good, internet could improve.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmsterdamPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Certosa? You want Certosa? I guessed this destination would be a bit different by the way the waterbus conductor reacted to our request to stop. We had just arrived at Marco Polo Airport and walked around to the water bus and taxi station. The taxis looked like great fun, but at €110 at trip it was hard to justify. Our Alilaguna Linea Rosso (Red Line) water bus took us to Certosa via Murano in about 40 minutes and cost €27 ritorno (return). Travel in Venice was never cheap and it seemed to me that prices had increased since we last visited. A standard single fare on the vaporetto (water bus) is now €7.

We soon realised that few tourists go to Certosa (pronounced ‘Chertoza’) apart from rowers and boat owners. The Venetians are a stylish lot, so our conductor quickly guessed we weren’t multi-millionaire yacht owners (despite my wife’s handbag). However, we still felt a bit special as the only people alighting from a full boat. Isola della Certosa is one of only a few destinations on the network where you have to request your boat. Leaving the island by vaporetto is fun in itself, requiring you to watch for the boat you want and pressing a button that sets off a flashing traffic light to call it over. As skiff rowers ourselves, we loved the way you were just expected to be adept in all things nautical.

Once a Monastery then a military base, Certosa is now a 350 berth Marina complex including an 18-roomed hotel, all adjoining a national park. It’s a boater’s paradise and a hidden gem of a place – serene and green open space just 3.25 km from the hot and crowded bustle of Piazza San Marco. I know this because we rowed it four times while we were there. We were in Venezia for the Vogalonga, a world famous event now in its 40th year. Originally a Venetian rowing race between friends, the founders wanted to promote traditional boating and raise awareness about wave damage from motor craft to the city and canals. The route traces a 30 km waterway through some of the most pleasant and picturesque areas of Venice lagoon. This year over 2000 boats and 8000 people participated, making it one of the biggest water festivals we have ever seen. This sort of event should be in those ‘1000 things to do’ books. You need to plan at least a year ahead to get a place, boat and accommodation and if you are interested, I’d recommend you consider copying our arrangements.

Our welcome at the Hotel was warm, friendly and unhurried. Sabrina, the manager was on duty and advised us about the best ways to get around and other key aspects of our stay. She was a font of knowledge and pointed us to some excellent Trattoria and other things such as bike and boat hire. We were staying for a week and were the first of our group of 10 who were based at the hotel. We were there at the recommendation of Rene at Venice Kayaks, which we soon realised was a good call for our purposes. It’s a very clean and modern three-star establishment with a minimalist nautical flavour and some charming Italian quirks. Took me a while to work out to twist the bed lamps and I think it’s the first time we have eaten at a restaurant with plastic chairs! Having said that, I agree with the other posters on here: the lovely manager and her helpful staff, along with the restaurant and coffee shop team all contribute to the charm of the location and make it a serious contender for being, overall, one of the better places we have stayed in Venice so far. The food was delicious and regional wines well selected. We were joined by some well-travelled friends on our first night (celebrating their anniversary) who enjoyed the meal as much as we did and also reported getting back to their hotel in Venice very soon after we waved them off.

Compared to previous visits, our hotel seemed to be good value too (although we got a discount thanks to our group booking). Likewise, the restaurant and bar meals represented good value compared to the main tourist sites in town. Generally, we seemed to be surrounded by locals who had come over to visit their boats or simply roam about the parklands. There was also a wedding party held in a function area (200 m away) and a trade event held there during the last two days of our stay. On the night of the Vogalonga itself, we were treated to a BBQ and excellent live music, thanks to a wonderful female vocalist who sounded just like Amy Winehouse.

Our beds and pillows were comfortable and large (we were in a double) – perhaps too big for the room size, in fact. Another poster on here mentioned the bulky bedheads which we agree should be changed to give more room to walk around. The air conditioner worked well on the hotter nights and the window had an excellent fly-screen if you wanted the windows left open. Mosquitoes are an issue anywhere in the lagoon so make sure you have repellent with you for the evening outside in the garden and we bought a plug-in device for our room at a supermarket in Arsenale. It was very effective at a cost of only €6. The shower is too small for land-lubbers but the hot water was soft and plentiful. The power shower head was certainly appreciated after a long paddle. There are excellent washing and laundry facilities at hand too – designed for the marina primarily but available to hotel guests.

A complimentary night bar (water or coffee) and free internet access (plus Wi-Fi) completed the package. To save confusion, it’s worth noting that the marina, kayak hire, sailing school, hotel, restaurant and bar are all separate businesses.

There is some work going on in the park next to the Marina, where the old military base is slowly being demolished, and the marina itself is a busy place with boat building and repairs going on during the working week. We didn’t mind the noise as we were out during much of the daytime and after meeting one of the master boat-builders and other staff, enjoyed the opportunity to learn more about the maritime aspects of the region. Again, this is the sort of stuff that boaters would love.

Speaking of which, we hired a couple of nicely maintained and fitted boats from the Marina and enjoyed some lovely trips into the lagoon. On top of this, we had a fantastic excursion into Venice by canoe as part of the hire package we purchased from Venice Kayaks for the Vogalonga. Kayaking through the canals is, frankly, a must-do if you want to see a whole new perspective of Venice, accompanied a knowledgeable guide like Rene. There are safe but thrilling paddles between Certosa and Venice.

Apart from this, we visited some museums and old haunts in Venice and enjoyed a lovely day on hire bikes exploring the Lido. All in all, just about the perfect holiday itinerary for us.

I’d like to see a pool and if the hotel expands, the reintroduction of a free shuttle service. In the meantime, take the advice of the hotel staff and buy a multi-day ACTV (vaporetto) pass as soon as you arrive. You can get tickets at the Marina office.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the East side if you want to sleep in - the boat builders tend to sing while they wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank always-the-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Sabrina helped us more than anybody we've ever met has. We arrived expecting to stay on a yacht, but the yacht had left the Isola la Certosa for repairs leaving us with no where to stay, not only did she arrange for us to stay on another yacht for one night, she offered us a lovely room for the second night, which we took and so glad we did.
When we arrived to the room she had arranged for some lush freshly cut flowers and a bottle of wine to greet us, and made our stay fantastic. We highly recommend staying here if only for Sabrina, her amazing staff and the wonderful Island, making our mini honeymoon truly memorable.

Anna and Danny xxx

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AniaM74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here on our honeymoon and although it was a gorgeous boat trip to get there, the island lacks atmosphere and there is a lot of building work going on which could be quite loud at times. The decor and feel of the hotel is very basic. It could be so much better if they had a swimming pool and sunbeds, a better bar and breakfast fercilities, it is such a shame they are not using the areas full potential. We had a good size room and it was clean, but it could have been cosier.

We were not told on checking in that there was a public transport strike on the day we were laeving to get the train to Florence. Luckily we had left plently of time, but the lady on recption should have informed us previously, it could have been a disaster!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeniceCertosa, Direttore at Venice Certosa Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guests, we thank you so much for choosing our hotel for such a special occasion as your Honeymoon!
Please advise us before of your arrival about the special purpose of your trip and we will be happy to offer a special treatment! We are happy you enjoy to live Venice by boat. It’s the best way to be part of it and you are right it is also very romantic!
We do apologize for the inconvenience regarding the strike. Unfortunately you may not have noticed the information at the reception desk but we would have taken you by private boat to the railway station in case you would not have had enough time to reach it on time.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you next year for your 1st Wedding Anniversary to enjoy the improvements and new facilities on Certosa Island. There is an interesting project to develop an accessible urban park of high natural interest that will be part of the Venice Lagoon Park.
We are happy that most of our guests are already enthusiastic of today Certosa Island with its accessible green areas: tidy paths for a nice walk or jogging, some sunbeds to your disposal in a peaceful green area, a pleasant terrace of the Venice Certosa Hotel's garden for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It’s nice to live all that only 15 minutes far away from St. Mark’s square… Sabrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our many thanks to the wonderful staff and especially Adrian for all their help and friendly advice. Quiet, calm and very clean, a lovely spot so close to the center of St.Marco by water bus. We ended up staying a few extra days because it was so peaceful on the island, sunny terraces, bunnies hopping by and sail boats at anchor just a few meters away. I will recommend this to anyone looking for something really close by but with out the prices of the Grand Canal!!!!!!
Thanks again Adrian for your help

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle-Houcine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conegliano, Italy
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Position is really marvellous, quiet and romantic, near the Marina, on the tiny island. The hotel could offer a great point as a stress-reliever and getaway location. The view from the window was nice and relaxing, with gardens and water all around.
The ground floor seems a "work in progress" site, could be much better.
The room was much less cozy and "romantic" than in the picture, basic-cheap furniture, no fridge. The bathroom was horrible, no bidet, very bad and ruined furniture, shower enclosed with a tent. We had a free breakfast to compensate the inconvenience (wasn't that included?).
There's much to do, yet, to get a sufficient quotation.

Room Tip: Ask the staff show you the room, before accepting it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobsardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VeniceCertosa, Direttore at Venice Certosa Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest,

we are pleased you enjoyed our peaceful location and the tidy green areas at Certosa Island very close to the heart of Venice. We are very sensitive to our guests' requests and we do our best to please them. Unfortunately you checked-in very late in the evening and spend only one night at the Venice Certosa Hotel. We are sorry we did not have the chance to fulfill your wishes and your needs. We really hope to have this opportunity in the future. We will be pleased to reserve the rooms that provide confortable bathrooms with shower and bathtube that will meet your expectations. Sabrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Alla Corte Rossa
Alla Corte Rossa
#224 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Alexander Hotel
#196 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Fontanea
Ca' Fontanea
#163 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#107 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Flestariam
#235 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#104 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venice Certosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Certosa Hotel

Property: Venice Certosa Hotel
Address: Certosa Island, 30100 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Venice Certosa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Venice Certosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing