We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely place - great food, nice owners & charming setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ai Barbacani

Ai Barbacani
Ranked #57 of 1,416 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$29
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Castello
Paris, France
Level Contributor
163 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“lovely place - great food, nice owners & charming setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I last visited Venice 10 years ago and discovered this place. Luckily, some things don't change. Yet again we visited it twice during our stay. Situated on a quiet side street/canal, the restauarnt has a quasi-rustic feel. If you're lucky get the table in the corner with a great view on to a classic Venetian bridge & canal scene.
The food is always to a very high standard - great starters like baby octopus with celery, a delicious clam "soup" (loads of clams in a chili broth - piquant but delicious) and lovely marinated fish. A special mention this time for the "grigliata mista" - a fantastic assortment of fish, squid, langoustines & prawns - perfectly fresh & simply, but expertly, grilled. My daughter had the frittura which was also very good. Plus, a complementary glass of prosecco on arrival, a good selection of wines and good desserts.
The lady owner is cheerful & friendly and service always good, but never rushed. By Venice standards the value for money is also excellent - we paid around 120 euros for 3 x 3 courses and a little wine.
As I said, I first found this place 10 years ago - I hope it'll be around for many years to come!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank derekfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    274
    67
    35
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A truly lovely meal with delightful service and charming ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had a delicious meal here on a Friday night of Carnevale. The squid ink spaghetti and gorgonzola gnocchi were tender and perfectly seasoned; the griglio misto included a terrific array of grilled seafood: shrimp, salmon, squid, langoustines, a really tasty white fish (branzino?); and the meringata dessert was not to be missed. We had the house vino rosso, a steal at 12 Euro. As mentioned by other reviewers, we were also treated to complementary prosecco, limoncello and grappa. The server (perhaps the owner?) was warm and welcoming, happily conversed with our broken Italian. The interior decor is charming, rustic & cozy with a wood beamed ceiling and fireplace.

During the rest of our trip, we had dinner in two more expensive, more highly-rated restaurants, and we regret that we hadn't just returned to Ai Barbacani instead, where the food and ambiance were better and our meal was cheaper.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amandas711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
364 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Rustic and Inviting Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

From bright flowers in window boxes outside to a log burning fireplace inside and candles on your table with wooden beams and ship models part of the rustic decor, this restaurant doesn't disappoint. The easy listening jazz was a perfect background for dinner. Barbacani is a charming and inviting restaurant rare in Venice. You start with a welcoming glass of prosecco from the owners .and end with a choice of grappa or limoncello. The menu favors seafood and we had pasta Barbacani and grilled seafood platter with monk fish, sole,langostino, salmon, squid and shrimp,served for two, with a the house white wine and we shared a ricotta torte and espresso. We had a very good meal and the service was friendly and we will definitely return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarnivalGatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great place for dining in Venice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Between Christmas and the New Year we ate here twice because we liked it so much. We thought it had a lovely warm relaxed atmosphere and enjoyed the low-key dinner jazz and candle-light. It's not modern decor (more wood beams, log fires and model ships) and is quite small and seemed to be popular with tourists and Venetians alike. The set menu is very good value, as it includes the cover charge.It doesn't do pizza. Food is not haute cuisine and portions are not huge but it's tasty; and good value. The house wine is very drinkable. Diners are offered a complementary glass of prossecco as an apertiif and a grappa or limoncello as a digestif.
If we go back to Venice - we'll eat here again.
Best wishes also to the Australian honeymoon couple we met there!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susiepip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Inviting restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We chose this restaurant because we ate here a year ago and enjoyed it so much we booked again this year. Even though it is touristy at has warmth due to its staff and the open log fires which are great on a cold november evening. The highlight of the menu for me was the fantastic crab linguine, the oposite was to be said for the prawns with lemon which were to be frank mediochre at best. All in all a great dining experience and good value (rare in Venice) complimentary drinks were also appreciated. Prosecco to start and limoncello or grappa to finish.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ai Barbacani also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ai Barbacani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing