We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Suite in Venice Ai Carmini
Ranked #2 of 225 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2013

There is not 1 good thing i can say about this place. The staff were rude and huffed and rolled their eyes when we asked questions. We had to repeatedly ask for toilet paper and towels and in the end bought our own toilet paper. The bed covers were dusty and smelt. The microwave was filthy, and there was a dirty ash tray full of butts on the table. When we arrived there was only 1 double bed, even though we booked a triple. The lady mumbled under her breathe the whole way up the 4 flights of stairs and pulled out a sofa bed from the 1 seater armchair, already made up but with no pillows or blankets. It might be located in the Old Town, but there is no point in being that central. Venice is small enough to discover in one day. I would recommend staying in the new town off the island and simply walking in.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emkaloma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ai carmini R, Direttore at Suite in Venice Ai Carmini, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,
we are really sorry that you had a so bad experience.
We would like to inform you that the apartment have been all completely refurbished, and all the working staff is changed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
There are newer reviews for Suite in Venice Ai Carmini
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2012

We had booked this apartment almost 2 months in advance for 2 days in 1st week of November . On the day we were due to arrive in Venice, we called the Residence to tell them about our arrival time. To our surprise we were told that we have to cancel our booking!!! The lady on the phone said that Venice is on red alert as water levels are above the danger zone and all bookings have been cancelled for the week!! We were very disappointed as we were really looking forward to our trip to Venice but reluctantly cancelled our booking. We were not sure what we were going to do if we couldnot go to Venice. We decided to check out other hotels just to be doubly sure that everyone was cancelling their bookings, to our surprise and anger no one was!!! We eventually booked another hotel as Ai Carmini wouldn't give us any room. We were in Venice the next day and there were no signs of any flooding, in fact it was a hot sunny day.
I would never book with this Residence again and risk my trip getting cancelled at the last minute.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Banchhita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary C, Direttore generale at Suite in Venice Ai Carmini, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,
we are really sorry that you had a so bad experience.
We would like to inform you that the apartment have been all completely refurbished, and all the working staff is changed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here in October 2012 with our 18 month old daughter. Overall, we really enjoyed the apartment. The apartment was huge and overlooked the canals. I think what we liked best about it was the location. The apartment is in the Dosoduro area of Venice, near the University. It is a nice, quiet, residential location - I think staying near the touristy San Marco area would have been annoying and very load for us. And Venice is so small you can walk everywhere. It was nice to return to our peaceful, quiet apartment every night. The only thing I would say, and this didn't matter for us but might for others, was there is only someone at the reception from 10am - 2pm (because it's an apartment and not a hotel). So, if you like to have someone available to you at all hours of the day then that may be a negative for you. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend Ai Carmini Residence.

Room Tip: Try to get an apartment overlooking the canals.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank menxit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary C, Manager at Suite in Venice Ai Carmini, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

We would like to inform you that the property has been recently restructured. We hope to have you again as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Loved this place - great value, around the corner from a little piazza which felt far more authentic than the throngs near San Marco. Brilliant little wine shop around the corner, super friendly staff and our own little terrace overlooking the canal. Watch outs are the Mosquitos - small but vicious. The wireless was a bit dodgy but the staff sorted it out for us.
I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StellaVita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary C, Manager at Suite in Venice Ai Carmini, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

We would like to inform you that the property has been recently restructured. We hope to have you again as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We recently went travelling as a large group to Venice and really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were really nice and spacious with a nice cooking area, they were well air conditioned and really nice views of the canals. The service was really good and helpful telling us places to see and visit. The hotel is like 5mins walk away from the nearest waterbus stop and from here its easy to get to any sights, beautiful views and 5mins walk from nearby supermarkets and pizzerias. Highly recommend this place for small families.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary C, Manager at Suite in Venice Ai Carmini, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

We would like to inform you that the property has been recently restructured. We hope to have you again as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We had an apartment overlooking the canal
Very clean, centrally located. Venice is beautiful, romantic, ...

Room Tip: The best choice
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aanilatac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary C, Manager at Suite in Venice Ai Carmini, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for being our customer above. We would like to inform you that the hotel has recently been restructured, and the management has changed. We hope to still have you as our customer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

The place is like a home in Venice. The room is good enough for a family of four and spacious enough to move around and has kitchenette. No breakfast provided. The toilet was also clean. Though quite a distance to San Marco but if you want to feel the place it was worth walking especially at night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DNG6711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary C, Manager at Suite in Venice Ai Carmini, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for being our customer above. We would like to inform you that the hotel has recently been restructured, and the management has changed. We hope to still have you as our customer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#4 of 384 in Venice
1,927 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#33 of 384 in Venice
2,156 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 384 in Venice
3,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#71 of 384 in Venice
509 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#14 of 384 in Venice
1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite in Venice Ai Carmini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite in Venice Ai Carmini

Address: Dorsoduro 2604 | Fondamenta Del Soccorso, 30123 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 225 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Price Range: £88 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Suite in Venice Ai Carmini 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The apartment-hotel Suite in Venice Ai Carmini, very close both to Piazzale Roma and Santa Lucia railway station, lies in the sestriere (= district) of Dorsoduro along the Fondamenta del Soccorso, a street along a canal deriving its name from the hospice and school founded at the end of the 16th century by the Venetian poetess Veronica Franco. It is situated at number 2604, between Palazzo Zenobio (Armenian College) and an ancient building belonging to the Moro family (at nr. 2615) And known as "Othello's house", where Shakespeare set his famous tragedy. In the immediate surroundings lie the church of the Carmini (Lorenzo Lotto, Cima from Conegliano), the School of the Carmini (Giovanni Battista Tiepolo) and the churches of Angel Raphael (Francesco Guardi) and S. Sebastian (Paolo Veronese). Just a few steps from S. Sebastian church starts the charming walk along the Fondamenta delle Zattere, on the Giudecca canal. In few minutes'walk you can find Ca' Rezzonico, the museum of Venetian 18th century, and the galleries of the Accademia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Suite in Venice Ai Carmini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing