We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Located Hotel”
Review of Albergo Ca' Alvise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Albergo Ca' Alvise
Ranked #152 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfectly Located Hotel”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

My fiancee and I have just spent three nights here after booking a deal with travel zoo and we got moved here instead of the original hotel we had booked. I was a little bit sceptical after reading some reviews but have to say I did not encounter any of the problems people seemed to be talking about.
There were a couple of minor niggles that stop me rating this hotel excellent, one or two minor repairs needed here and there around the place, but nothing major or off putting.
The staff were all very pleasant and polite and could not of been more helpful.
The breakfast was a continental breakfast with croissant, breads, jam selection, ham, cheese, cereal the works. There is no sausage, egg and beans but that is not important. There was plenty there and it was all good quality and once again I cannot understand why people were knocking it.
The room was big with a massive bed (yes it was 2 singles pushed together) that was very comfortable. There was sky tv, easy chairs and coffee table, mini bar and a big spacious bathroom with a massive spare bath and shower.
We found the hotel at night without any trouble at all. I bought the DK EYE WITNESS TRAVEL, pocket map and guide, looked up the hotel on google maps and marked it on the map. We got on the water bus and changed at Rialto to another then got of at San Angelo and it was less than a five minute walk using the map. Once there it is a brilliant location for discovering Venice. It was a ten minute leisurely walk (including window brousing) to Piazza San Marco with the Basilica and Doge's Palace. Also 10 minutes walk (and very straight forward) to the Rialto bridge which was the way we chose to go when returning rather than changing buses.
Over all it is a very good hotel with very nice staff and perfectly locate to just wonder around and discover San Marco in the centre of Venice.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gary3007s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    261
    97
    34
    33
See reviews for
162
303
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

Just back from staying here for a week. Everywhere is hard to find in Venice, but getting to this hotel is a doddle from the San Angelo varetto stop. The hotel is clean, comfortable and the rooms, unless you're used to swanky joints, are a good size and the separate bathroom is a great size. Its location is both central and quiet - we thought it was fab. We found the staff helpful in four different languages, patient and really put themselves out. Everything was also scrupulously clean. The one downside is the mad, mad breakfast arrangements in the well-named Black Room! All tables like a bomb had dropped by 8.30, nothing cleared, no food replenished. The one day the woman in so called charge was off was bliss - tables cleared, food and coffee replenished. Please, Ca' Alvise, sort this out and you'll zoom up the ratings.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Yes, the location was a bit difficult to find, but once we asked for directions, we were good to go. We stayed in their sister property a short walk away, since they were booked, and we must have been upgraded because the room was directly on the canal with singing gondoliers passing by constantly. It was lovely. The room was huge for European standards with a large bed, ample closet space, a chaise lounge and cable tv. The bathroom had a tub (YES TUB) with shower, single sink, towel warmer, toilet and bidet. The breakfast was good and served downstairs. The property surrounded a nice courtyard, which I imagine to be quite beautiful during the summer. One of the best things about the property is its location. It is just a few minutes walk to Plaza San Marcos. If you know where the Gucci store is just off the plaza by a side canal, then you are standing at the street where the entrance to the hotel is. So, needless to say, amazing shopping and restaurants are just outside your door. Request a room on the canal, and you'll be very pleased.

Room Tip: ask for a canal room in their sister property
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulieBrandom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We stayed several nights in August/2012.

It was hard to find at first because of the road structure in Venice. But once we settled in, we found the location to be centrally located for our trip. It is just a short walk to San Marco Square. We were fortunate our room was only on the second floor and not the fourth since there were no elevators. The room was big and very comfortable for 3 people. The bathroom was a good size with a bidet as well. The breakfast buffet had a good selection to choose from.

Room Tip: Ask for the lower floors if you have difficulties walking up stairs. There are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QofC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We called the hotel as we were lost and it was 2am and we hadn't checked in. It was hopeless, couldn't tell us that we were only 100 meters away. Got there bath was filthy, hair, dirt and a large dirty rim around the inside.

Breakfast needs to be replenished as there isn't much choice and if you're not there by 8 there is hardly anything left.

Only thing going for it is the location!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012 via mobile

Booked a last minute trip to Venice and chose this hotel based on reviews. This was a really nice hotel, very good service when we arrived. Not the easiest to find but unless your good with a map I don't think anywhere is in Venice. We were shown to our room which was really good. Deep red colours, chandelier light, spa bath, shower etc. The bed was fairly hard but comfortable and the room was impeccably clean when we arrived. Our view would have been of a courtyard had we of opened the shutters but it was pouring with rain virtually the whole time we were there. Either way there is ao much to see and explore the hotel was for sleeping only. The breakfast was very nice. Only had a continental but there was fried available.

Main problem was the time of year I chose. Didn't research it enough and Venice floods badly during these times. That made no difference to us though, still had a fantastic time, it was very quiet still got the do the gondola rides although limited because of high waters. Will definitely go back in the summer sometime and for what we paid to go it was cheaper than a night out in London

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We have just spent 2 nights at the hotel. Our room was decorated in true Venetian Style: red walls, gold fittings. high ceiling and a chandelier ( Murano Glass, I am guessing!). It is not my idea of a 4* property though. There are no tea & coffee facilities in the room and it showing it's age. The bed was very low and not that comforatable. On a plus side, the staff are pleasant, breakfast was okay although I imagine the dining room would get rather cramped in high season.
The hotel is centrally located and you can easily walk to St Marks, to the Rialto etc. We used the Alilaguna Orange line from the aiport and got off at St. Angelo. I do advise investing in a good map until you have your bearings.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marc01634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Moise
Hotel San Moise
#195 of 385 in Venice
646 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#133 of 385 in Venice
600 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
#142 of 385 in Venice
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#73 of 385 in Venice
884 reviews
San Marco
Kette Hotel
Kette Hotel
#122 of 385 in Venice
1,153 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ateneo
Hotel Ateneo
#211 of 385 in Venice
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Ca' Alvise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Ca' Alvise

Property: Albergo Ca' Alvise
Address: Calle de la Verona San Marco 3673 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Ca' Alvise 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
otelsinvenice.com is pleased to present you his newest venetian House.After long and accurate renewing works, Cà Alvise with his 28 rooms presents himself as a refined and luxury 4s Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albergo Ca' Alvise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Ca` Alvise Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing