We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel”
Review of Albergo Ca' Alvise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Albergo Ca' Alvise
Ranked #155 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Harleston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We managed to get a last minute booking at this hotel with a generous 20% discount on a Gold room including breakfast. We were so impressed when we arrived with the welcome we received and a porter to take our cases to the room. The room itself was large and really comfortable. The decor was traditional Venetian with a huge Murano glass chandelier in the centre of the room. The queen size bed was very comfortable and the room was warm and cosy. The bathroom was large with a whirlpool bath and bidet. Towels and bed linen were changed every day. The breakfast each morning was very impressive and catered for every possible taste. The room was extremely quiet and peaceful which is impressive for a hotel in the middle of such an amazing city. The only minor criticism was the TV in the room was very dated and temperamental but who goes to Venice to stay in their room and watch TV?!?!?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    256
    95
    34
    33
See reviews for
157
300
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed here for a city break with my girlfriend. The room was beautiful and staff helpful and friendly at all time. Breakfast was always fresh and plentiful with a range of cooked and continental options. I would definitely recommend this hotel. 1 word of warming is that city tax must be paid in cash and we paid just after arrival but we're not given a receipt. We're were asked again as we left and after an assertive stand my my girlfriend it was accepted that we had already paid. Otherwise easy to find, clean, pretty and romantic.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazatlan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

I keep forgetting that undisclosed hotel offers targeting a specific area is not that practical when it comes down to Venice.

This hotel is located close to the San Marco plaza but half way from one end to the other end of the shore so other than a water taxi of €120, pretty much you have to walk a lot with your luggage.

In terms of decor, it's ok. Just ok.
Service not bad but the rooms are just like my grand mother'a house. I understand the decoration has to match the city however, the mattress could be comfortable and newer.

By the way, we had one of the superior rooms but it was in the third floor with NO lift (elevator) nor help.

Other than that, if I get it for free, I might come back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jorgecortes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

A classic European Hotel with ornate furnishings, glass chandeliers and unexpected amenities. It is close to a Venetian canal and was just a ten minute walk to St. Mark's Square. It was one of a few hotels where we had to take pictures of our room. Breakfast buffet was very good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a romantic quiet hotel in Venice, this one is worth your consideration.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pats731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We did not select the hotel ourselves as we were on a tour of Italy and the tour company made the arrangements. The decor of our room (202) was dark and ornate, partly because the two windows had drapes and shutters and faced another building a few feet away, which is probably typical for Venice. We stayed two nights. The bathroom was large and modern. Never did figure out the TV but that's no big deal to us. The breakfast provided to our tour group (assume it is the same for all but not sure) was fine, eggs, sausages, cheeses, pastries, fruits. Given how close everything is in Venice, it was reasonably quiet. Location was good with many restaurants and shops nearby, close to the tourist sites.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Booklover48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Having just gotten off the plane we were tired and hot and informed by the hotel we booked that the "air conditioner" was not working and we would be transferred to the Ca Alvise (the sister hotel) for a night before going to our booked hotel. The water taxi dropped us off and told us to follow the path and we would find it. It wasn't quite that simple but after dragging our luggage a ways a kind lady saw me sweating and swearing and led us to Ca alivise. We were pleasantly surprised that it was quite lovely and the 4 stars on the front door gave us hope. The fact there was no elevator was alarming as I was certain I couldn't manage my bag at that point but the hotel staff was quick to get our bags up to the room which was larger than expected, nicely cooled by air conditioner, and the bathroom was huge! This was a nice boost as most European hotels have small rooms and smaller bathrooms as compared with the U.S. After a great shower with excellent water pressure we went to the front desk for directions and DEBORAH came to the rescue. She was amazing! so very helpful with maps, directions, hints and tips. The entire staff was just great. The breakfast was more than adequate and again, the staff was on the mark! We again consulted DEBORAH at the front desk and she gave us perfect directions to all the sights we wanted to see and advised us on all things VENICE. The following day we dreaded the hotel change (dragging the luggage) but DEBORAH assured us we could just go and check in and our bags would be transferred and waiting for us. She was right! The bags arrived before we did and our stay at Ca Alvise could not have been better! She was an angel!! The location was a bit tricky at first but the landmarks Deborah gave us to follow made it much easier. Located near the Fenice (opera house) and Piazza San Marco was just perfect!

Room Tip: All of the rooms were quiet as the location is out of the major area, but close enough to walk. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewel901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Hotel Ca' Alvise was a Hotwire pic we were very happy with. The location is good with plenty of good restaurants and close to Rialto Bridge. There is a water taxi stop just a few feet from the door. As with most places in Venice there is no elevator so if your on the 3rd floor be prepared to climb a lot of stairs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FZukerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Moise
Hotel San Moise
#185 of 385 in Venice
640 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ateneo
Hotel Ateneo
#206 of 385 in Venice
369 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#71 of 385 in Venice
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#68 of 385 in Venice
1,482 reviews
San Marco
Kette Hotel
Kette Hotel
#122 of 385 in Venice
1,136 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
Hotel Ca' dei Conti
#139 of 385 in Venice
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Ca' Alvise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Ca' Alvise

Property: Albergo Ca' Alvise
Address: Calle de la Verona San Marco 3673 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Ca' Alvise 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
otelsinvenice.com is pleased to present you his newest venetian House.After long and accurate renewing works, Cà Alvise with his 28 rooms presents himself as a refined and luxury 4s Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Albergo Ca' Alvise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Ca` Alvise Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing