We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get on the vaporetto and go!”

Ristorante Pizzeria da Sandro
Ranked #587 of 1,416 Restaurants in Venice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Giudecca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Get on the vaporetto and go!”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We were looking for traditional home style Venetian and that's exactly what we got at this place. We were seated by the chef, he took our order (in fact told us what he would cook for us!) and then sat back for an hour and a half and ate an incredible meal. It is off the main island, but it is worth getting to just for the baccala mantecato. The standout though was the incredible roasted fish with vegetables, it was so simple yet so very tasty. Get there if you ever come to Venice and you will not be disappointed.

Helpful?
3 Thank Avid traveller a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    47
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
County Durham, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely food - cash only!”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Bauer Palladio Hotel and Spa which is on the front of Guidecca facing San Marco and came across this restaurant while looking fro somewhere quiet to eat.
It was a cold rainy day and the restaurant was approximately half filled with a mix of tourists and locals (always a good sign).
I ordered a sea food risotto and my husband ordered a pasta dish.
We were told that because risotto takes time to cook, my husband would have to wait for his pasta - which is obvious but nice to be told there would be a delay and I was glad because it was obviously being freshly prepared.
The food (and house wine) were delicious - and definitely worth waiting for.
The only downside is when it came to paying the bill - we didn;t have enough cash and they don't take cards.
My husband was told where the nearest ATM was - 2 vaporetto stops further down the island!
I was given a complimetary espresso and grappa while I waited and my husband was offered the same when he returned with cash.
A lovely restaurant and certaionly worthy of a visit even if you're not on San Marco.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank suryemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Better than most Venetian restaurants”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Mistra is in the lane directly behind Zitelle vaporetto stop on Giudecca. We had a really nice lunch there. Good fish and seafood, anchovy pasta and salads. It was all fresh and tasty. Take your time here - they cook it properly. The service is unassuming and pleasant. Most Venetian restaurants are characterised by stunning ambience and profoundly mediocre food. Mistra was an exception. It was quiet at lunchtime - frequented by some elderly local chaps enjoying catching up on the gossip.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rarisang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braselton, Georgia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Decent choice if on Guidecca”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We were staying at the Hilton on Guidecca and were looking for a dining option that did not require travel back across the canal and was NOT the Hilton...found this place on TA...concierge at the hotel did not appear to recognize it, but we chose the restaurant because my slightly food limited son was seeking a non-seafood menu and because the outdoor dining area was attractive (though no view across the canal). Generally, had a decent meal with nothing really outstanding. This is a place that perhaps could pop on better nights, but was just a basic meal for us this evening. Chef/owner seemed a little hassled at times and this was this odd older gent that was very focused on either insulting or hitting on my wife...we were unsure...normally she would enjoy the attention, but this dude was a little odd and just pissed her off...

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sharp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best place in Venice”
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

We had an amazing meal at mistra for my friend's birthday..what a great experience! Alessandro the owner was waiting tables as well as helping with the dishes and he couldn't do enough to make it a memorable evening for all 7 of us. The food was fantastic-tray baked fish is amazing. And the house wine was fab. It was a great atmosphere thanks to Alessandro and his team and we will all definitely come back here on our next trip to Venice. What a hidden gem!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chloesouthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Pizzeria da Sandro also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ristorante Pizzeria da Sandro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing