We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great neighbourhood restaurant”

Ristorante Pizzeria da Sandro
Ranked #521 of 1,426 Restaurants in Venice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Giudecca
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A great neighbourhood restaurant”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have eaten here each time we have stayed on Guidecca - twice this week. They offer good value food, well cooked and very pleasantly served. Sandro is a good host - very welcoming an has excellent English. The pizzas are good and the other dishes served are substantial - all well worth trying.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AandRHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    48
    15
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
158 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fresh fish”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The name ai Tre Scalini is somewhat misleading,as all the signs on the restaurant clearly and only mention " da Sandro", but the chef still wears his apron with the name Mistra ( the name of his previous restaurant) on it and confirmed the name Ai Tre Scalini.It's a 2 minutes walk into the Calle ( from the Zitelle vapotetto stop) and the restaurant has a nice giardino,so one can sit outside.
We had pesce al sale,a very fresh branzino in salt,excellently prepared.Reasonable prices for good food.Relatively simple menu,including pizza.For red wine try the Morellino di Scansano.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Remco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
225 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good, simple food”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We were staying nearby on Giudecca and wanted a light dinner on our last night in Italy. We simply shared a pizza margerhita and a beer. The pizza was fine and more than large enough for two of us. We did see other people eating pastas that looked good and the adjacent table had a salt baked fish that looked impressive. It was a busy night and there's only one waitress who was friendly but harried.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ywnyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Far from the madding crowd”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I am someone who couldn't think of anything worse than an overpriced tourist restaurant, if you are similar, this place is for you. I had a very big, simple and fresh whole seabass with grilled veg for €22. It was probably big enough for two with a side but I hadn't eaten all day. The decor is non existent and the food is not glamorous. It is home cooked simple Italian fare that will be a welcome respite from Venetian tourist traps. The waitress and chef were lovely. I enjoyed my dinner here and, if I'd been able to stomach more pizza there were very delicious looking ones for only €7-8. The house red was pretty sweet, next time I think I'll pay a bit more for an upgrade! Definitely not haute cuisine but an enjoyable place anyway.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Livleapea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
157 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Workers Cafe, but what value and hoest food”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stumbled on this café after our rather smart destination was closed due to a function. A great window on the Italian normal world and a fantastic HUGE set lunch for 15 Euros. well worth the trip, fresh fab and tasty.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank tracey h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Pizzeria da Sandro also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ristorante Pizzeria da Sandro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing