We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Loft casa aurora

Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Il soggiorno
Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Living Room
Il soggiorno
Living Room
La facciata di Casa Aurora
Living Room
ingresso
Living Room
camera da letto
Living Room
Il divano letto
Living Room
il bagno
Kitchen
corridoio
Kitchen
Il grande specchio
The Master Bedroom
camera da letto e scrittoio
The Master Bedroom
angolo cottura
The Master Bedroom
particolare della cucina
The Master Bedroom
la vasca da bagno
The Master Bedroom
il tavolo per il pranzo
Street
The Master Bedroom
Street
la fondamenta Gasparo Contarini con il Rio
Bathroom
Palazzo Mastelli detto del Cammello
Bathroom
Il ponte della Madonna dell'
Orto
Hallways
La splendida chiesa della Madonna dell'
Orto
Hallways
Il Tramonto su Casa Aurora
Living Room
Il rio della Madonna dell'Orto
Living Room
Il comodo mobile da bagno
Street
Living Room
La consolle del bagno
Living Room
Lo scrittoio
Entrance
Il Leone di San Marco
Entrance
L'ingresso
Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Veneto

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Michael W
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 15 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The location was perfect for us. We arrived by cruise ship which docked close to the San Basilio vaporetto stop so we bought tickets that took us and our luggage to the Orto stop which is only an easy 5 minute walk to the apartment. The crew on the vaporetto were (contrary to what we'd read) extremely helpful with us and our luggage. We each had a large suitcase and carry on bag. Eventually worked out the house numbers and found the apartment. Giovanna was at the window shouting at us when we arrived, which was lovely. Something to be aware of with large bags is that there is no way of getting to the apartment other than carrying these up 2 flights of stairs - OK if you're young and fit or only coming for a weekend break with little bags, but it was a bit of a struggle for us late 60 year olds who'd been travelling and accumulating for four weeks - however, this situation is not unusual in old European towns. The apartment is very clean and tidy and spacious. Unfortunately the washing machine was broken so we had limited means of taking care of laundry - again, that's OK if you're just there for a quick break however, we hand washed and there was an adequate means of drying items outside the window during the glorious fine weather. The kitchen had a few staples provided but sadly the bathroom had nothing - bring your own soap for bathing/showering. The shower was very small and over the bath with a slippery surface where a non-slip mat would have helped us feel safer. Giovanna is as limited in English as we are in Italian but she is charming and helpful and we have no hesitation in recommending the apartment and its location in Venice on a lovely quiet canal with many good dining places close by - away from the crowds but walking distance to everything you want to do. We had a wonderful time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2017
Thank you for choosing Casa Aurora.
Casa Aurora is on the second floor, with only two stairs ... but I'm nothing compared to the 400 bridges that have to cross to visit the fascinating Venice !!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulmurra...
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovingly looked after apartment in quiet residential area of Venice”
Reviewed 8 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We are a couple in our 60's and had a great stay at Giovanna's apartment. Giovanna was a very friendly and welcoming host. The apartment has been lovingly looked after and renovated with thoughtful touches and was very comfortable. It has one bedroom, a lounge/kitchen with a sofa bed and a bathroom. The apartment is 2 floors up and is located in a lovely quiet area of Venice next to the Madonna dell'Orto church. Tintoretto is buried in this church and a number of his paintings are on the walls - EUR 3 entry for tourists. There are a number of good restaurants nearby plus a small supermarket. It is easy to walk around - 20 mins to Santa Lucia train station and 10 mins to Strada Nova, the main shopping street. Alternatively the waterbus leaves from behind Madonna dell'Orto 3 mins walk away and is very convenient - either for the station or around the northern side of Venice. Boats to Murano and Burano leave one stop away. We went to Burano following Giovanna's advice and had a great day including a lovely meal at Trattoria Alla Maddalena on Mazzorbo (alongside a water bus stop and linked to Burano by a pedestrian bridge). We had a 2 day waterbus pass (which we thought was good value relative to single fares) for getting to Burano and unlimited trips on the Grand Canal or other waterbuses. Note that two days are midnight to midnight, not 48 hours. We would recommend this apartment to couples who would like to stay in a nice apartment in a residential area of Venice but still convenient to everything. We would happily stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2017
Thank you very much!!!
I am happy when my guests spend a pleasant stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trishmlow...
Feldkirch, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent apartment away from the hustle and bustle!”
Reviewed 23 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Giovanna was incredibly helpful and friendly and the apartment was extremely well stocked and clean. It was 5 minutes from a vaporetto stop that can get you to the airport or railway station. I'd happily stay again or recommend it to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2017
Thank you very much!!! I look forward to another vacation !!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScotchTon...
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Great location, 5 minutes from main tourist route through Venice and from vaparetto stop. Lots of nearby restaurants, bars and shops but none close enough to disturb the peace.
The apartment was ideal for self catering with full cooking facilities, fridge and washing machine.
Great bed, comfortable and large enough to spead out in.
Nice bathroom with bath and shower.
Giovanna was very welcoming and helpful giving us great information about the local area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2017
thank you very much!!!
Casa Aurora
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joek2372
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Taste of real Venice”
Reviewed 28 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

If its a tase of real Venice that you want then this is the ideal spot for you.
The Della Orto Vapporetta stop is just 5 minutes walk from the apartment which is situated next to the historical Madonna Della Orto church.
Our apartment was on the second floor overlooking the canal. It was spotlessly clean and well equipped. Giovanna the owner who also lives in the block greeted us when we arrived, briefing us on the workings of the apartment and giving hints and tips such as supermarkets, restaurants and bars etc. Having stayed in Venice on numerous ocasions we found this to be a real peaceful area to relax at the end of the day after experiencing the hustle and bustle of the main tourist areas.
We shall definitely return to Loft casa aurora when we next visit Venice.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2017
Thank you, I am happy that your stay was pleasant and comfortable ... Casa Aurora
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenfromth...
Malvern, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful quiet place”
Reviewed 10 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We were given a very warm welcome by our host and despite our combined language limitations we were given clear instructions for everything in the apartment including useful information about shops , bars and restaurants nearby.
The apartment is comfortable and homely and has a well appointed kitchen. It's location is ideal. Just a 2 min walk from the Madonna De' Orto water taxi stop so perfect for getting from the train station or direct to the airport.
I think what made our stay so lovely was the warmth of our host when we first arrived. The city then enhanced that and the peace and quiet of the location made us feel like real Venetians . Perfect location , close enough to the sights but away from the crowds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2017
Thank you very much!!!
Soon to celebrate .... a romantic and quiet stay.
Giovanna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatDownes
Corwen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect in both comfort and location.”
Reviewed 29 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just arrived home from wonderful stay at Loft Casa Aurora.It was a real, cosy comfortable home from home on what has been quite a wet week in Venice.Almost next door to the fabulous church of Madonna Del Orto in a quiet residential area the boat from the airport took about half a hour,27 euros return, and the lovely friendly owner Giovanna, who lives in the apartment under Loft Casa, met us from the waterbus,( even though it was 10pm when we arrived.) She has thought of everything anyone might need, particularly in the kitchen. In years of self catering we have never had so much crockery and cutlery and even bags to take for food shopping.The views from the living room windows are beautiful and it was such a joy to watch all the boats going past.The photos above really don't do it justice, it is much more spacious than it appears in this Trip advisor post.The area has some good restaurants and trattoria within 5 minutes walk too.We will definitely stay with Giovanna when we return to beautiful Venice. Can't wait!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2017
Thanks for the nice words!!!
I look forward to another holiday in the beautiful Venice !!!
Giovanna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing