We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in a quiet part of Venice”
Review of UNA Hotel Venezia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
UNA Hotel Venezia
Ranked #39 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The reviews of this hotel were all positive and we weren't disappointed. We loved that it is located away from the hustle and bustle of Venice. The UNA is a lovely boutique hotel. The staff was incredibly helpful, especially Neda, and graciously provided assistance to our daughter and her husband even though they were staying at another hotel in the area. The rooms are a bit small and the shower difficult for a large person to maneuver. However, the rooms are clean, don't have the mildew smell of many hotels in Venice, are well appointed and the amenities are of good quality. The breakfast was much better than I expected and the "happy hour" in the late afternoon (with wine) was a great place to unwind after a long day exploring the city. We would definitely stay here again if we travel to Venice again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JillHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,246)
There are newer reviews for UNA Hotel Venezia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

400 - 406 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Overall the hotel was good. Booked early as found hotels in Venice expensive but pleased in the end with the choice.
Pros: convenient location (although hidden away so found a little hard to find at first, so be better prepared than we were); clean (good shower); enjoyed the breakfast (simple but good) and appreciated the evening aperitif selection; service (air france lost my baggage but front desk staff were helpful following up with airline)
Cons: tiny room; must pay for wifi (might be the same across Venice, but still!)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Drc80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The hotel is in a quiet location just off the Main Street. This means you can walk everywhere easily but escape the crowds, which is very welcome in high season. The hotel is well appointed and includes an excellent buffet breakfast (complete with prosecco) and a great afternoon tea which includes proper English breakfast tea and cakes. In the evening there is wine and aperitifs. There are guide books in numerous languages and a computer either internet in the lounge. Our room was ready early so we could check in as soon as we arrived at 10am and check out isn't til 12 noon, It is a friendly small hotel and the many nice touches make this a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hulliballoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unavene, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at UNA Hotel Venezia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Hulliball,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us. We are delighted you appreciated the staff and service, found the location convenient, and enjoyed our breakfast and the afternoon tea offering.

Looking forward the pleasure to welcoming you as our honorable guest once again, please have our

Best regards




Ludovica Tomasi
UNA Hotel Venezia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I highly recommend this lovely hotel. The location is in a very quiet neighborhood, somewhat off the beaten track but still very convenient. The rooms are spacious and the decor is lovely but most of all, the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank wfuson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We took a water taxi from the airport which left us outside the hotel. The hotel is located off the beaten path, but a short walk to good restaurants, shopping, gelato, the Rialto Bridge, gelato, the vaparetto, gelato...The room was small, but had a very comfortable bed and was dark and quiet at night, excellent sleeping conditions! Nice breakfast buffet (marinated anchovies was a daily treat for me!), afternoon tea/make your own illy espresso/pellegrino and still water and cookies, and evening white wine and finger sandwiches were enjoyed. Lovely, helpful staff. I did not use the wifi, but there was a computer in the parlor available for free use, which, although service was spotty, I did use to resolve an issue with my cell phone. Not inexpensive, but nothing in Venice was inexpensive!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marge555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

FROM VENICE SAN MARCO AIRPORT: Walk out the front entrance of the airport terminal and turn left. You will see a long walkway with a white arching awning above most of the walkway. Follow this walkway for a long distance. There will be some signage posted along the way re: the docks. The dock is on the left and is obvious once you arrive at the end of the walkway. Walk to the last hut along the piers where you will find a sign "Alilaguna" on the bottom of the hut, facing you as you walk toward it. Buy a ticket at the hut (one way or R/T) for the Alilaguna BLUE LINE to Fondamente Nove (was 15 Euro one way per person at the time of this writing). Once you board the water bus, your first stop will be Murano. Continue to the second stop, F.te Nove (Fondamente Nove). As you walk off the small dock platform, if you look to the left, you will see steps going over a bridge. Do not go this direction as this is the wrong direction. Instead, turn right and walk about 15 paces. You will turn left onto the first walkway. At the time of this writing there is no label on the street - no street sign, however, there is a house address in faded black numerals of 4886 above the doorway. As you walk down this "calle" you will see Tortuga Pizza rather immediately on the right with some tables out in front. As you walk further ahead, you will find a large white church on the left with ornate old cement looking scuptures on the roofline and tall white columns. There is a sign just to the left of the front door that reads "Chiesa di S. Maria Assunta (Gesuiti). Walk about the same distance further down this calle and you will see steps directly in front of you that will cross a canal. Do NOT cross the canal, rather you will see a small black old fashioned public water fountain/faucet on the right of the walkway. Turn right at this corner, and walk straight ahead following along the canal for about 120 paces. You will take the first bridge on the left. As you cross over the bridge, you will be on Calle Zanardi. As you walk down Calle Zanardi, there will be a slight zig-zag in the street (left then right). Follow the street to a bridge. On the left before the bridge, there will be a sign that reads Ponte S. Andrea / Calle Zanardi. Go over the bridge. Continue down the street to the very end. It looks like you will run into the canal. The hotel is on the right although it does not have much signage that it is a hotel. There is a UNA HOTEL sign above the door and an address of 4173 to the left of the doorway. You have made it...

We had room 204. It was spottlessly clean, 15 foot ceilings, A/C works perfect, spacious, has a double length balcony (one of only a few in the hotel). This room overlooks the "calle" you walked down to the hotel and you can see the canal. Rooms 202 and 203 overlook the canal. Room 203 is a suite that overlooks the canal with a balcony, however we were not able to look into them to see the size. The hotel is very well cleaned and appointed and the entire hotel is cooled nicely.

The breakfasts consist of scrambled eggs, bacon, and sausages along with cereals, yogart, and other cheeses, small pastries, fruit, and juices. Various coffees are served. There are very modest - minimal snacks served from 2:30 to 10PM with wine served with small sandwiches from 6-8PM.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank paulyduckduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I have to confess to being a little surprised by the gushing reviews about this property. Maybe that's because I don't know what constitutes a property of a high standard in Venice. Look, I can't help but think that for this price - averaging around 400 Euro per night - I could have stayed in a Suite in a 5 star property in Santorini overlooking the caldera. In high season.

Anyway, then again, I guess I stayed in a city that seems a more sophisticated version of Disneyland, albeit a very beautiful version.

The directions given by the hotel are clear, and once you get to the Ca D'oro Vaparetto stop it's not that difficult to find. As others have said, the hotel is situated in a quiet residential area, but not far from the unrelenting crowds and tack of the Strada Nuova (if that's your thing). There are some good restaurants/bacari around the hotel (check the UK Telegraph's app/website) which are not as obviously touristy (but nevertheless full of tourists, of course).

The front of desk staff are generally lovely and astonishingly multilingual and always willing to help with directions, restaurant bookings and recommendations.

My room, however, which was an 'executive' was not at all as it appeared on the UNA Hotel website. It was akin to a Novotel/Travelodge 'standard' room with a few 'Venetian' touches, albeit not very convincing ones. It overlooked a dire little square, had no balcony or beamed roof and the only thing stopping me requesting another room was the presence of a tired couch, which seems to be the only distinction between a 'superior' and 'executive'. Yes, seriously.

Breakfast was a bun-fight unless you ate early and consisted of the standard range of cereals, yoghurt and fruit (tinned peaches and prunes - yum yum). For the hot selection: aged scrambled eggs, burnt bacon (sometimes) and some tinned sliced 'continental' sausages. Good selection of juices and sometimes they had prosecco, sometimes not. Smoked salmon was there on one day and then not on the others. I presume it was rationed.

In what was seemingly a policy of environmental 'sustainability', they rationed the in-room amenities to the very minimum and did not replace or give them to you unless you asked. Likewise, the laundering of the towels and bedsheets. Which is all very well, but it just smacks of stinginess.

Because I booked directly through the property, I did not have to pay for WiFi, which was of woeful quality, particularly as I needed it for work and to book onward travel.

The gratis afternoon buffet/aperitivo was appreciated although I only took advantage of it once - as you would hardly want to take it in Venice, even if it's free, in the somewhat miserable breakfast room (sorry - "UNA Cafe") when there are so many other options.

Also, for those to whom these things matter, the laundry rates were absolutely through the roof (see photo).

I'm sorry to say that this was the worst property in which I stayed in Italy and by far the most expensive. It also did not come close to the quality of the UNA Napoli property.

Room Tip: Perhaps asked to see the room first and do not hesitate to ask for another if you are not happy with...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoDizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unavene, Direttore at UNA Hotel Venezia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Mr SoDizzy,

We deeply appreciate your opinions . It's important to receive either positive or negative feedback in order to improve our standard. This allow us get more and more customer oriented.


We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.

All our rooms are furnished in the typical Venetian style with silk and brocade tapestry both for the walls and furniture and enhanced by Murano glass chandeliers and lamps to render a Venetia atmosphere.

In addition to basic amenities, there is a list of 15 extra – products such as bath salt, exfoliating glove, dental care set, shaving set, manicure set, sewing kit, bathrobe etc. that can satisfy the main clients needs and can be requested at any time (available for all room typology from the single to the suite). Some rooms face Ruga Do Pozzi, a typical sunny medium sized square that forms the urbanization of Venice. From what stated , you did not ask for changing your room . We would have been more than glad to show you our availability and provide the best available solution for you.

We are sorry you found a shortage in the food during breakfast time . It is possible that there had been a delay in replacing the missing products due to the fact that being fully booked everyday during your stay all the clients had breakfast at the same time, however we can assure you that the hot products are cooked daily. We hope you had the opportunity to ask for what was missing.


We hope to welcoming you as our honourable guest once again and hope to have the opportunity to meet the expectations we were not able to fulfil the first time.

Paolo Vianello
UNA Hotel Venezia
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#27 of 384 in Venice
876 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
#12 of 384 in Venice
765 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel American Dinesen
Hotel American Dinesen
#36 of 384 in Venice
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#34 of 384 in Venice
2,387 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 384 in Venice
1,864 reviews
Hotel L'Orologio
#22 of 384 in Venice
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Hotel Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Venezia

Address: Ruga Dei do Pozzi Cannaregio 4173 | Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Venice
#26 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#27 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#31 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £105 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Venezia 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNA Hotel Venezia, precious pearl in the Lagoon, is a luxurious hotel located in the historical and lively Cannaregio district, close to the most important tourist sites. The prestigious building has been restored to the ancient grandeur in the classic Venetian style and features 37 gorgeous rooms and a rich American Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your UNA Hotel Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing