We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“does exactly what other reviews say it does”

Osteria A La Carega
Ranked #367 of 1,184 Restaurants in Verona
Price range: US$16 - US$32
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
316 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“does exactly what other reviews say it does”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Having been in central Verona and seen the prices in restaurants and bars close tourist attractions I had considered a second mortgage. I did however come across the Carega down a small street minutes from our accommodation. Service was excellent, atmosphere great, food from the small menu well prepared and authentic, wine good. All in all just the ticket ...2 meals, some nibbles, three glasses of red and a mezzo of beer came in at 27€. In the centre they were charging 25€ for a starter at one restaurant I checked !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    65
    30
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Koper, Slovenia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“At the sign of the chair”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The coolest little bar (that we found) in Verona, with the usual extensive range of drinks, but above average range of Veronese bar snacks, including a lot of horse-based dishes. We had a very tasty salad with shredded horsemeat. The place is well worth seeking out, down a backstreet not far from the Duomo. Carega means chair in dialect, hence the sign 'Osteria a la...' (little model of a chair hanging from sign).

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AGuyfromBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely pub for wine”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

we didn't have any food but stopped in for a glass of wine after an evening out as it seemed to have a busy atmosphere. The wine was very good value and tasty

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harriet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value off the beaten path”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

I was looking for a small restaurant off the beaten path and found it at Osteria a la Carega. The place is small but serves up an ample amount of charm, food and wine. They have a good selection of wines, including some very good Valpolicella Superiore Ripasso (Monti Garbi)... all for a very good price. After having lunch with 2 glasses of wine, risotto tastasal (good bread as well) and coffee, I only spent 11 euros. It was such a bargain that I came back at dinner for more wine and food, including trying some of their small appetizers. No live music was playing yet (it was still early) but I could tell from locals that it was a good place to come hang out (either inside or outside) and enjoy good wine and food just a few steps away from the busy center of Verona.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Local Hangout in Verona”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

This tiny bar (that also serves some food) is well known to the veronesi as a low-key after dinner hangout with great jazz and ambience, and central yet way off the tourist radar. It only has a few tables inside, but the benches and tables outside are the perfect place to throw back a few cheap glasses of delicious valpolicella wine (or grappa) in the warm weather.

This is the real Verona - cheap, relaxed, with local wine by the glass available on the blackboard behind the bar. Come here to hang with the locals.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RubiconExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria A La Carega also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Osteria A La Carega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing