We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So convenient and comfortable"”
Review of Hotel Valverde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Valverde
Ranked #64 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I stayed at the Hotel Valverde with 2 friends. We were in town to attend the opera at the Arena. It was an easy walk from the hotel to the arena, and to many restaurants. The hotel was also an easy walk to and from the train station. The staff was pleasant and friendly.Upon our arrival, the staff carried our luggage up to our room. I wasn't aware of an elevator, although there may have been one. The complimentary breakfast provided a delightful and tasty array. The lady assisting in the Breakfast Room even reserved a table for us each morning and proceeded to make us fresh cappuccino. Although the room was a bit tight for 3 people, we only slept there, so it worked out. The staff provided extra pillows and covers for us. The beds were comfortable, the air-conditioning was cool and quiet. The cable TV presented a variety of channels for viewing. I will definitely make reservations to stay here during my next trip to Verona.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdugan153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2011

Most of the reviews i've seen sum this place up. Basic hotel but in a great location. I'll just break down the basic likes and dislikes:

LIKES

1. The staff are super friendly and very helpful for planning out trips to Lake Garda and around Verona.

2. The location of the hotel is great. Just over 5 minute walk to the Verona Arena and just over 5 minute walk in the opp. direction to the main train/bus station.

DISLIKES:

1. The bathroom, how can I describe it is like a wet room. Its very small....
2. The TV didn't work but not a big deal.

Its a no fuss hotel, very friendly staff and there is air con which in my opinion is a big bonus.... i'd definitely stay here again...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maverick-ado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayd in 3 adults big room 3 nights, in second floor. No lift. Cosy B&B hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, especially the Lady in breakfast room. Breakfastbuffet was surpraisingly good. AC was working, important because of the hot weather -nearly+ 30C even in the night. Corridors were dark until we foud the light buttons...Bathroom good. Small balcony. Bed was good, sheets chances every day. No domestic animals. Surrounding safe an quiet. Near the centrum and railway station, 10-15 min walk. It was safe to walk home from opera at 1.30 am. Maybe not alone but in pair or more. Little traffic sounds but no disko or ristorante around.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eira p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Hotel was clean but in need of a renovation. For the price it was not great, but Verona is expensive. It is brilliantly located walking distance to train station and to centre. Staff were very warm and helpful. Breakfast was adequate, good minimal. We were recommended a tranquil restaurant, I tre risotti, brilliant in every detail. Polenta brusketta, great salads, home made pasta, traditional Verona spaghetti al ragu, great wine.
Beautiful views across the river and up to the castle san pietro. Very romantic haunting.
Try the ice cream parlour in via roma next to piazza bra, with a varied range of ice cream desserts in a cup or the cassata and in front of it the crushed ice fruit slushes at graniteria siciliana
Be sure to try the best pizza al taglio Pizza Doge in via roma.
Lodging and restaurants can be expensive.
We spent a day in gardaland a fun park at the edge of Lago De Garda. If you have been to the great fun parks in Europe, this will be a disappointment. 3 of the rides are great but not memorable. The haunted house is a laugh. The food prices are ridiculous. Thank god the lines were short. One of the show was worth watching… Musuem… though the dancers could have been left out of the production.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank jonsilverfacebook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Basic but comfortable with friendly, helpful staff. The hotel is roughly half way between the train station and the Old Town in what felt to be a safe area. The reception staff were friendly and happy to provide information and recommendations. The rooms are fitted with pretty old furniture and the one we stayed in good have done with a touch of paint. Our room was however perfectly comfortable, spacious and clean; as was the bathroom.

If you need the air conditioning you need to ask reception for the control which they gave to us with no problem. The only down point to our stay was that the following day. We covered the control with clothes, with the expectation that the cleaner would take it back, which they didn’t. When we arrived back at the hotel at the end of the day the receptionist questioned where the control was which felt slightly accusing.

Breakfast was simple but perfectly adequate to get the day started and the lady serving breakfast couldn’t do more to help.

This is a great little hotel which I would recommend to anyone looking for a comfortable stay at a good price.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveh104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Hotel Valverde means: not expensive, perfectly clean, very good breakfast (coffee, juice, croissants, yogurt, fresh fruits, ham, cheese, eggs, sweets), only 10 minutes walking distance from the Arena, very helpfiul and very charming staff. We admired staying in this hotel for a week time in May 2011.
It's true that if you stay in the room faced the main road you could hear some traffic noise, but for us it was a small issue and only for the first night.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EWAJ52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Stayed for one night here with my daughter to visit the opera. On the plus side, the location is very good, about 10 minutes walk from the centre of Verona, and the reception staff were very helpful.
It felt a bit like student halls of residence. The hallways were very dark as you walked upstairs and you had to keep switching the timed lights on as you moved about. The bedrooms and furnishings were basic, but the beds were comfortable and clean. Bathroom had definitely seen better days. Cold buffet breakfast was adequate.
In fairness, we struggled to find anything under £100 for a one night stay (which is about what we paid) and it is only a B&B.
If I was going back to Verona, I would choose something a couple of miles away and use a car to get in or pay more for a nicer hotel. I don't think I could have stayed for longer than one night and wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinaLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.2 mi away
Sanmicheli
Sanmicheli
#58 of 77 in Verona
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Albergo Trento
Hotel Albergo Trento
#53 of 77 in Verona
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Giberti
Hotel Giberti
#15 of 77 in Verona
501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marco Polo
Hotel Marco Polo
#44 of 77 in Verona
553 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Siena
Hotel Siena
#22 of 77 in Verona
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valverde

Address: Via della Valverde 91, 37122, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 77 Hotels in Verona
Price Range: £74 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Valverde 1.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Valverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valverde Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing