We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good self-service buffet excellent value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brek

Brek
Ranked #871 of 1,158 Restaurants in Verona
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leeds
Level Contributor
201 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“very good self-service buffet excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We avoided the expensive restaurants in Verona lunchtime Fri 3 Jan and opted for Brek as we know it is good in Venice. The serve-yourself area is very busy, but you can get good fast food here at a fraction of the cost of the restaurants. You need to find your own table and it is appreciated if you clear it afterwards. Where else could you get 2 proper lasagne with wine and water for 18 Euro? This needs to be judged for what it is. I understand they have a "proper" restaurant upstairs. I can't comment on that as we have not tried it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joansbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    174
    155
    74
    93
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
184 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great Location in Piazza Bra”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Located outside overlooking the entire Bra area. Brek's doesn't have a separate service and cover-change like the rest of the restaurants in the Bra but I had a very disappointing lunch. I ordered lasagna and I couldn't eat it. It had so much white sauce on it and the sauce just ruined it. The white sauce had no favor and was on the sweet side. My husband's Bolognese sauce on pasta was very good. My lasagna was suppose to have Bolognese sauce but it was hard to find any. We did get huge portions, my husband didn't finish his even though he liked it. The bread was really good so that was what I ate instead of my meal. Service was bad but I expected that.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“simply fast food from a buffet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

There is a good selection of food, hot and cold as well as a selection of drinks. just walk along the buffets and make your choices, pay and eat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Nico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Piazza bra... eating alfresco; so lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Fantastic meal at brek in the piazza bra in verona. On walking past towards the ampitheatre we were given a 10% discount card and so we decided to eat here. Service fantastic, and food was superb, it was beautiful to sit outdoors eating wonderful italian cuisine. Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoeharte13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location in main square, nice food and price, v. poor service!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

One of the main reasons for the good value is that service and cover charge is included in the price, which is very reasonable. However, really really terrible service - especially when events are on at the Verona Arena. I suppose the staff have no incentive to work faster.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StueyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brek also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Brek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing