We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal Sanctuary in Fair Verona”
Review of B&B Gheller

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Gheller
Ranked #44 of 412 Verona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
new york, ny
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Personal Sanctuary in Fair Verona”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

What can I say that hasn't already been said? Signora Gheller is a wonderful host, cheerful and helpful, and her little apartment upstairs was great for our short stay in Verona. We loved the layout - that the apartment actually surrounds a garden patio - so no matter what room you're in, windows open to a private, quiet oasis in the city. With all the tourists in Verona, it was nice to take a few steps out of the historic center to our own place. And Signora Gheller was always around to help with anything we needed - she was even sweet enough to get up at the crack of dawn to call us a taxi to the airport because neither of our phones worked. Just watch your head if you're tall!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madmadamem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    27
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
101
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My husband and I spent 3 nights at B&B Gheller on either end of a trip to the Dolomites. Fiorenza is a sweet and helpful host. She was so patient with our lack of Italian language, and we used google translate a lot. When a general strike postponed our departure for 2 days she extended our stay at a discount. The apartment is very clean and comfortable, and the rooftop garden terrace is a great spot. The ceilings slope, so taller guests need to pay attention or you will bump! Verona is one of our new favorite spots in Italy - a lot to do and see. The apartment is an easy walk from all the attractions, as well as the train station. We would definitely return to B&B Gheller!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Just spent 3 nights at B&B Gheller. Excellent B&B easy walking distance from train station where the shuttle bus from airport drops you off and easy walk into centre of Verona. Lovely roof garden perfect for enjoying breakfast and a drink or two! Fiorenza is a great host very quick with e-mails and replying to any questions we had, speaks limited english but that was no problem at all and we met her daughter on our last day who talks very good english. Verona is a great city to visit the centre is car free so no worries about darting across roads! We also saw George Michael in concert in the arena it was amazing surreal sitting in a old gladiator arena listening to George M! Also took a 15 min train ride to Lake Garda well worth a visit and took a boat trip on the Lakes. Would highly recommend a stay here and would love to return one day.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fano, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I've been there in summer 2009 and again in summer 2011.
Easy and fast booking (obviously, if done in proper time), fast, detail and satisfying communication with the owners (a very very kind women).
The flat is perfectly equipped and furnished, it feels like you're at your own home, at easy walking distance from the very centre of Verona.
There's also a lovely small roof garden you can enjoy with good weather.
If you really want to look for negative sides, the ceiling is a bit low in some rooms, especially the bathroom (it is an attic): so, mind your head!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EduardoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keerbergen, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed for 3 days in the B & B Gheller. The B & B has an excellent location. A few steps from the railway station and from the arena and the historical centre of Verona. The room is a spacious apartment with clean bathroom, kitchen, dining place and terrace. The host is very kind and she gave us many tips to go out eating of for the apperitivo in the evening. We enjoyed our stay in Verona and the performance of Nabucco. If we would go back next year we would stay again in B & B Gheller.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucienne3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

My boyfriend and I had a lovely 3 night stay at B&B Gheller. The apartment was spotless and it was lovely to have such a large space to ourselves...far better than a hotel room. It was an easy ten minute walk to the Arena and another ten minutes walk in the opposite direction to the train station.

Fiorenza was a very helpful and gracious host. The apartment was cleaned every day breakfast supplies replenished. Food supplied for breakfast is cereal (cornflakes), bread (there is a toaster), cheese spread, preservatives and some pastries. This would have been substantial but as we had the use of a fridge and cooker we bought eggs, salami and yogurt to bulk it up. Fiorenza also supplied us with cartons of juice, a bottle of water every day and sweets.

We had such a nice stay there that I don't have any negative comments to add. Fiorenza's English is very, very limited (although ten times better than our Italian was!) but we were able to communicate through google translator (she used this in her emails to us before our trip) and once there we got by on expressive hand gestures and little notes she had written in English. For us her lack of English was not a problem.

Perhaps however on this note the one thing I would advise future guests on is to bring a map with you as we found Fiorenza's directions from the train station to the apartment very confusing! She told us to go right at the church but didn't say which of the many busy roads to the right of the church we should take! A print out of a detailed google map with street names on it is a very good idea.

Verona is a beautiful city (go to the opera if you get a chance, well worth it, but bring a cushion to sit on!) If we were to go back there we would definitely stay at B&B Gheller again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We are family of 4 - 2 kids aged 7 and 4 and we found this B&B to have an excellent location - in between Verona Arena and Porta Nuova Train station. It took us no more than 10min walk to reach either. In 20 we would be underneath Juliet's balcony:) passing across the main shopping area. Plenty of restaurants. Rooms were clean and we were all able to sleep comfortably. We had 2 single beds and 1 double in one room which was fine for us. Breakfast was continental (typical Italian) with plenty of toast, crossiants, tea/coffee and juices. Landlady was very nice in providing us with heaps of water as it was 37C in the shade!
Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaltaSimonC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.2 mi away
B&B Marconi
B&B Marconi
#15 of 412 in Verona
134 reviews
0.7 mi away
Art&Coffee
Art&Coffee
#34 of 412 in Verona
77 reviews
1.4 mi away
B&B Cuore di Giulietta
B&B Cuore di Giulietta
#23 of 412 in Verona
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Al 19 B&B
Al 19 B&B
#42 of 412 in Verona
63 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Casa Vittoria
B&B Casa Vittoria
#62 of 412 in Verona
70 reviews
0.5 mi away
B&B Alla Piazzetta
B&B Alla Piazzetta
#55 of 412 in Verona
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Gheller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Gheller

Property: B&B Gheller
Address: Carmelitani Scalzi 1, 37122, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 412 B&Bs / Inns in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Gheller is a small independent attic apartment composed by a double bedroom with extra bed and private bathroom with shower. It is simply furnished and comfortable. The B&B overlooking the central terrace. The B&B is a five minute walk from Arena, the most important cultural sights and the railway station. The price include traditional italian breakfast, air conditioned, tv, radio, Kettle, internet wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Priceline so you can book your B&B Gheller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing