We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Il Sogno di Giulietta
Ranked #5 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend ( now fiancée) stayed at this hotel. It was truly amazing on all counts and would strongly recommend

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richie1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    114
    36
    23
    14
See reviews for
63
507
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

Hotel is so good and staff so friendly and prepared, that I had to write the review while still here. Fantastic, don't miss this opportunity.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCBianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

When arriving be aware that the hotel cannot be accessed directly by car,(even if your Garmin says so) since it is in a pedestrian only area, which we found out the hard way. You need to phone the hotel where to park and someone will come and get you and help with your luggage. The hotel itself is in the courtyard of the "House of Giulietta" so you will be dealing with lots of people during the day but after 7:30pm it's open just for the guests of the hotel. We never saw anyone in the courtyard once closed during our stay, it was very nice.
Our room was lovely we were on the 5th floor with a balcony over the street. We had a nice view both ways of the city center. Breakfast was very filling and we enjoyed having it in our room which was good since they don't have a restaurant on property.
The only problem I could see with our room was the fact that our bed was up in a loft, so if you didn't do well on stairs at night or were very tall you may not like this set up. We on the other hand enjoyed it since it was quite different from a normal hotel room.
The location is great in walking distance to most attractions and shopping. We only stayed for 2 days in Verona but would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 5th floor with a very nice street view, but you needed to climb stairs to get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

First things first - this is not a hotel but very nice serviced rooms. There's no bar, no restaurant, no reception to talk of. Secondly, you are on the courtyard of Casa de Giulietta. If you've not been there between 9am and 7pm that's basically a mecca for moony faced Euro teens to wander round in hilarious clothes swooning over each other. That's lovely but they do it en masse, slowly and usually where you want to walk thru to leave the hotel. For any fully functioning couple that means romance lasts for about 30 seconds until you are overcome with the urge to machine gun the little Marios and Mariettas in order to make some progress towards the gate. The staff are also really nice but quite young. Have they been infected by the pheremones or are they actually lovers from the courtyard who've been press ganged into service? Either way they managed to direct us to the most famous restaurant in Verona wrongly. But, as I say, the rooms are nice and well equipped and it's a really central position. Anyone over 25 will not only have to overcome the Euro teens in the courtyard but also the technology in the room. Want to turn on the aircon? Not without reference to a touch screen that - like all digital technology - takes ages. Don't even try to set the safe which requires the remote control it's quicker to have your valuables nicked and make an insurance claim. The tv, radio, films etc., are also glacially slow and jam for no reason. At one point my wife and I were faced with a choice of CNN or "stuff my tight hole" on pay to view. Neither was the romantic music we wanted on our honeymoon. The shower is so complicated it ended with Titanic style drama with water going all ways at once - I suppose that was romatic in a Winslett/De Caprio way. The jacuzzi bath was fabulous after tramping the streets. In conclusion, so long as you know you're going to really nice serviced rooms in a busy area then this is a good place.

Room Tip: Romantic ask for overlooking Juliet's balcony (built 1936!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FerdyPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. This was a surprise that my partner booked for me and it could not have been more perfect. There is probably no where more idealistic to stay in the whole of verona.
Having the courtyard to ourselves in the early morning and evening was amazing. WE were able to enjoy the place without all the other tourists.
The welcome drink and aperitifs were fantastic. Breakfast was served in the room and was also amazing. There was a good selection.
The room was decorated in an old fashioned/classical style which is perfect for the setting. We stayed in L'Orient.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LozWhittz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

My wife and I had a four day stay here in May 2012. When arriving be aware that the hotel cannot be accessed directly by car, as it is in a pedestrianised area. You need to phone the hotel as you approach, and someone will come and get you and help with your luggage. The hotel is in a courtyard whose gate is locked after 5, so if arriving late you will also need to phone them to gain access. Once checked in there is a gate code that you can use, which will summon a member of staff to let you,in.

We stayed in a room called Sentieri on the third floor. It was large and well maintained, with decent lighting and a good shower. The bed was comfortable, and there was a large table and several chairs aroun she room, which looked out over "Juliet's balcony". This is part of a 12th century building, and supposedly Romeo and Juliet was based on an earlier tale, supposedly based on a real person. True or not, this place is now marketed as a museum, and hordes of tourists gather in the courtyard every day to take pictures of their friends on the balcony. This can be quite noisy if your room faces out over the courtyard, as ours did.

The staff in the hotel were great, but bear in mind this is a small boutique hotel, so there are no facilities like a spa or pool, or even a dining room (breakfast is delivered to your room). There is one slow lift, and somewhat temperamental air conditioning, but as long as you do not expect a large modern hotel you will be happy here. The hotel is superbly located.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy Hayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Sogno di Giulietta offered one of those rare hotel moments that I'll never forget. The cab had to drop us off a few blocks away because no vehicle traffic was allowed in the area. He told us it's by Juliet's House. I didn't realize what that meant until I saw it. Walking through the arch full of love graffiti, we saw Juliet's Courtyard. Tourists taking pictures with Juliet's statue, others on the balcony. A cynic would call this corny, and it's obviously not historically true. But the location gave it a charm and uniqueness that will stick with me.

The hotel itself is in the corner of the courtyard. At night (7pm) they lock the gates and residents of the hotel get free run of the place to take pictures, etc.

The rooms were huge and comfy. The bed was probably the most comfortable I've experienced in Europe. They deliver a breakfast full of items of your choice to your room in the morning.

Aside from that, there aren't many amenities. But the location is A+, the rooms are super comfortable, the breakfast is great, and it's something you'll remember for years.

Room Tip: try to get a room facing Juliet's Courtyard if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottSD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.1 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#1 of 79 in Verona
1,766 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#10 of 79 in Verona
2,229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Due Torri Hotel
Due Torri Hotel
#6 of 79 in Verona
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#4 of 79 in Verona
1,095 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Victoria
Palazzo Victoria
#16 of 79 in Verona
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Sogno di Giulietta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Sogno di Giulietta

Property: Il Sogno di Giulietta
Address: Via Cappello 23 | Cortile di Giulietta, 37121, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Verona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Sogno di Giulietta 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Sogno di Giulietta, Relais de Charme located in the heart of historical Verona, is the only accommodation inside Juliet’s Courtyard. An important renovation gave birth to this reality and its rooms that are decorated with antique furniture and adorned with antique rugs, curtains and fine art objects. The rooms are situated on two sides of the house; some have a direct view of Juliet's balcony, the other on Piazza Erbe and the elegant Via Cappello, a pedestrian street in the historical center of Verona. In the evening, the access gate to the Courtyard is closed and the guests can enjoy the incomparable atmosphere of the garden at night attended by Romeo and reach their rooms through a unique path. All rooms are characterized by wood parquet flooring, beamed ceilings , bathrooms with single or double Jacuzzi bath tub and features such as mini-bar, flat screen tv with satellite channels and free wi fi internet. The continental breakfast, which is served exclusively in the privacy of the room, includes a wide choice of local products. Il Sogno di Giulietta, elegant residence in a unique location in the world, offers more than a simple stay in town: it is an experience to live! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Il Sogno di Giulietta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sogno Di Giulietta Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing