We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Il Sogno di Giulietta
Ranked #6 of 79 Hotels in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, but...”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our 19th anniversary for one night, in a suite overlooking the famous balcony. The room was beautiful, and a lot bigger than we expected. (The bathroom was a whole floor by itself!) We also had a private rooftop sitting area, looking directly at a Verona bell tower which again was unexpected and quite nice.
Given the hotels location, and the nature of the rooms, we understand why they charge the prices they do. But, for $1400 per night, I would expect that everything in the room actually works. We had lights out, the music system didn't function and the climate control was iffy at best. Now, none of this is a deal breaker for us, as we are pretty easy going, but, at this price level, I simply cannot excuse the amateur and arrogant service provided by some of the staff.
Now, some of the staff (the bellman), was very much on the ball, and the staff watching the door were friendly and pleasant. The other members of the staff should follow their lead, and I hope they do because this really is a special place which could really be World Class if they step up the service a bit.
I will say that if you are contemplating staying here, do, because there is far more good happening than bad, and it really is a magical and romantic place that is very unique. (At night, you have to ring the bell for them to open the gate to let you in, while the crowd watches you enter the private balcony area. This is as close as some of us will ever get to feeling like a Rock star!)
Probably won't be back, but glad we stayed for one special night.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    112
    36
    23
    14
See reviews for
61
500
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
180 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Sogno di Giulietta.

In fairness to the hotel, they provided a very comfortable and large double room, located in, what is now Verona's TOP tourist destination - the tiny courtyard containing the fictional Juliet's balcony ( from Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet).

Staff were friendly and talkative, but not knowledgeable about Verona and the immediate location. There is little common space in the hotel, save for the corridors, staircase and lift. Accordingly, the hotel breakfast MUST be taken in your room.

After a day of touring the city we returned to our room at 5pm and it had not been cleaned or made up. We immediately communicated this to reception ( in person) and after a friendly chat with their friendly explanations ( they said the room was about to be serviced) we left for dinner. The hotel was unable to recommend any restaurants at all. ( my wife speaks Italian).

We returned after dinner to find that nothing had changed in our room and no staff were now available, except the night porter.

Next morning we reported that the room had not been serviced and that towels were now damp on our 2nd day. We left at 10am to go touring the areas around Verona and returned at 4pm. Again the room had not been cleaned or serviced and the same towels remained in the bathroom.

It may just have been an error, but we did report it, clearly. We were given the same smiling assurance it would be done. At this point, we decided to ignore the lack of attention to hospitality and just concentrate on enjoying Verona.

We left promptly on Thursday morning after 3 days. The room had still not been cleaned and we were still left with the same bath towels, soaps, shampoos etc despite having asked for this to be attended to.

The room was among the best in their hotel, we understand.

Obviously we shall not stay again, but it is still a gem of a location and but for it's faults, was a romantic getaway!

We still laugh about it now !!

Room Tip: the quiet rooms are facing the courtyard, but be warned, they are only quiet at night. During the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MustBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
116 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

A charming hotel in the heart of Verona.

We really enjoyed this hotel in the center of Verona. The entry is within the courtyard of Juliet’s balcony. We splurged and took a room called “Il Sogno” overlooking Juliet’s balcony. It was expensive but worthwhile. The room was spacious and charmingly decorated in a traditional style. The bathroom was large and well-equipped. There was one sink, a vessel-designed bowl on a marble counter that gave us lots of room for toiletries. The tub was a Jacuzzi large enough for two persons, with a nice shower. My wife also enjoyed the bidet. Wifi was available and always accessible.

The hotel did not have a breakfast room but more than made up for that by providing a full breakfast in our room. We just had to remember to place our order the night before. And breakfast was delivered promptly at the specified time and our eggs were piping hot when breakfast arrived.

Visitors arriving by car should know that the hotel is in the middle of the Verona pedestrian zone, so it is necessary to park just outside the pedestrian zone. The hotel will send a staff member to meet you and bring your luggage to the hotel. In addition, the hotel is located in Juliet’s courtyard, which means that there are crowds of tourists all day long. The courtyard is closed at 7:00 p.m., which assures that the evenings are quiet. There is no problem in getting in. There is a buzzer system which alerts the hotel when a guest returns to the courtyard and wishes to go into the hotel.

All in all, it was a wonderful experience to spend a couple of nights in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
127 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

We spent a lovely and romantic week end in Verona city. We could see Juliet's balcony from the window of our room. We enjoyed rich and quality breakfast in the room every morning. The room was charming and we loved the Jacuzzi in the bathroom. The hotel is 1 minute by foot from piazza delle Erbe and old town. We were really delighted. As the hotel is in the courtyard opposite to Juliet's home, it's a little bit noisy from 8:30 am to 7:30 pm when the tourists are let in for the visit.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone-0670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Staff brilliant couldn't do enougvh. Spotless rooms , a bed you could get a family of six on and lovely breakfast to the room each morning ! Would recommend this beautiful relais to anyone . If you get the chance come here and see this beautiful city and meet these great people. And the restaurants . . . . . Food heaven

Room Tip: Really doesn't matter ours was perfect and others that we managed a peek through the door at see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

What a gorgeous surprise Sogno Di Giulietta was for us. We booked last minute and when we found ourselves with a private view from our window overlooking THE balcony from which Juliet fictitiously proclaimed her love for Romeo, well, we just had to relish the moment and enjoy. Not only is the room, service and added touches (like Bulgari shampoo and soaps to the jacuzzi) just perfect, but, it was quiet and comfortable and in the most convenient location for exploring the beauty of Verona.
Breakfast was brought to the room at your designated time, but the few added extras, like fruit or eggs, cost extra. This is not a problem for me as breakfasts in Italian hotels is always basic and less than average...much rather a cappuccino and a cornetto con crema with the locals at the bar down the street.
I'd really, really recommend this hotel for a lovely and charming stay in Verona.

Room Tip: View to the courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carducci_Clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon. We noted when booking that this was the case, and when we arrived found out we had been upgraded and were greeted by a bottle of prosecco and nibbles served to our room.

Our room was beautiful - ornately yet very tastefully decorated, with a huge bed and seating area, jacuzzi bath, and a balcony overlooking Juliet's courtyard. It was a novelty to see so many tourists spill into the courtyard during the day knowing that after the gates were locked at 7pm we would have all of it to ourselves! The breakfast too was great - you filled in what you wanted the night before (and at what time you wanted it) and hung it on the doorknob, and the next morning it was delivered to the room via silver service.

If we ever return to Verona, which by the way is a beautiful little city akin to a miniature Rome, then this will certainly be the place we stay. Central, fantastic facilities, great service, beautiful rooms, and of course - romantic.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank trillian_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
0.1 mi away
Accademia Hotel
Accademia Hotel
#2 of 79 in Verona
1,740 reviews
0.2 mi away
Due Torri Hotel
Due Torri Hotel
#5 of 79 in Verona
646 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#9 of 79 in Verona
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Victoria
Palazzo Victoria
#15 of 79 in Verona
699 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Des Arts
Grand Hotel Des Arts
#3 of 79 in Verona
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Sogno di Giulietta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Sogno di Giulietta

Property: Il Sogno di Giulietta
Address: Via Cappello 23 | Cortile di Giulietta, 37121, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Verona
#5 Luxury Hotel in Verona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Sogno di Giulietta 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Sogno di Giulietta, Relais de Charme located in the heart of historical Verona, is the only accommodation inside Juliet’s Courtyard. An important renovation gave birth to this reality and its rooms that are decorated with antique furniture and adorned with antique rugs, curtains and fine art objects. The rooms are situated on two sides of the house; some have a direct view of Juliet's balcony, the other on Piazza Erbe and the elegant Via Cappello, a pedestrian street in the historical center of Verona. In the evening, the access gate to the Courtyard is closed and the guests can enjoy the incomparable atmosphere of the garden at night attended by Romeo and reach their rooms through a unique path. All rooms are characterized by wood parquet flooring, beamed ceilings , bathrooms with single or double Jacuzzi bath tub and features such as mini-bar, flat screen tv with satellite channels and free wi fi internet. The continental breakfast, which is served exclusively in the privacy of the room, includes a wide choice of local products. Il Sogno di Giulietta, elegant residence in a unique location in the world, offers more than a simple stay in town: it is an experience to live! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Il Sogno di Giulietta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sogno Di Giulietta Hotel Verona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing