We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B. Great stay!”
Review of Bagolina B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bagolina B&B
Ranked #288 of 431 Verona B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 July 2011

After visiting Venice for some days, we rented a car to spend some time in the area of Verona.

We stayed in Bagolina Bed and Breakfast. We loved the place. The room we had was very nice and quite big. Was like a small apartment with all the facilities: fridge, oven, kitchen sink, stove, washing machine, air conditioning, cable TV, etc. Also Internet wifi (at the ground floor).

The room and the building is very clean, decorated in a nice way with very good taste.
In the morning was nice to have breakfast outside in the interior courtyard, even though was quite hot as we went in July.

Elena, the owner is a lovely person. Always very friendly and open. She gave us very good tips about what to visit, good places to eat and where to find good parking in Verona.
We also had very good breakfast. An Italian style breakfast with fruits (how we like it), good ham, good bread, good Italian coffee, and of course the usual food.

The place is located in Parona di Valpolicella, a quiet small village 10 minutes by car to Verona city centre and 30 minutes to Lazise in Lago di Garda. As we had the rental car we always moved by car.
There is also a convenient bus going to Verona city centre, the bus stop is very close to the B&B.

The place is fully recommendable. The time we stayed there we felt like at home. If one day we go back to the area we will repeat for sure.

By the way, don't miss the handmade ice creams from the Gelateria next door.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank X_Valdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2011

Very clean room ,very well decorated,not a good location in my opinion,kind of in the middle of nowhere,although there is a very good gelateria next door, satisfactory breakfast and even if the hostess is polite, we had the feeling that the hospitality was not authentic

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mirella880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Bagolina is delightful. We have just returned from a trip to Verona and our visit was made all the more special by staying with Alena................... Bagolina is a little "gem".
I am already looking forward to returning some day.
Chris and Sonia

Room Tip: Maybe a room overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lloyds30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We have just returned from the Bagolina B&B in Parona near Verona and wish we were back there right now. We stayed there for 3 days and it was not long enough! The room is absolutely beautiful - photos do not do it justice. Situated in an old building, you get the feeling of true Italy yet the building is extremely well kept and the interior is modern and so well loved. The perfect balance between old and new. There is even an elevator inside to get heavy bags up to your room! Having come from a stay in Paris where many higher buildings don't have elevators this was a great thing to see. The little courtyard outside the building is lovely to relax in after a days sightseeing too. Very private and tranquil.

The bed is amazingly comfortable and on our first night we slept incredibly well after we arrived later than planned (due to a delayed connecting flight and then missing our train and our next train being late!). We got a taxi from the train station and it was very reasonable at 15 euros. However, the road that the B&B is on splits in two so our taxi driver couldn't find it at first so go equipped with a contact telephone number too. Elena, the owner was very accommodating despite our late arrival. I have never met a nicer host - she is very proud of her home and rightly so.

In the morning the breakfast is very yummy and suited us perfectly - no huge heavy cooked breakfasts but fresh bread, prosciutto, yoghurts, summer berry based fruit salad, fruit juice, tea, coffee, assortment of biscuits and breads....Elena was also on hand on our first morning to provide advice about the local area and how to get into the centre of Verona. The B&B is just outside verona centre but is very easy to get into the town - with a bus stop two minutes walk from the B&B (literally only two minutes). You could also walk along the river into town but be warned - do not cross the river thinking its best to cross sooner rather than later. Wait til you get into the town then cross or you may end up going way out of your way and following a canal instead (like us) and taking an hour longer than necessary to get into town! Likewise on the way back - last bus is at 8.20pm or you'll have to take a taxi (not too expensive but worth considering). Buses are easy to use (buy ticket from yellow machine inside the bus for 1.20 euro) but we happened to be there when the local football team had a big match and won promotion to the next league so we decided to walk back instead of trying to get on a packed bus. Again, unadvisable unless you are confident of the route as it took us ages and we already had aching feet before we set out! Make good use of the public transport.

Some tips for the local area - try and speak even a little italian - it will go a long way. Simple please, thank you, hello, goodbye and how much in the local language will be appreciated and it was also the perfect place to practice italian if you speak more than just the basics. I had a few conversations with the locals and got good practice in despite being very rusty. Elena has brilliant english and was also very willing to try and understand my basic italian! Elena's mum is also a lovely woman and you feel completely at home in this B&B. Ask Elena about the local trattoria (very tasty steaks and local specialities).

The Giardini Giusti are gorgeous - a little way outside the main centre but on the city sightseeing route so either walk or jump on one of these tours. When we went it was very quiet and gives brilliant views over the city. Piazza erbe is stunning with its architecture and on the monday we were there we visited a market taking place (not sure how often this is). Also worth a visit, for the views, is the archaeological museum and roman ampitheatre (on the route back from the gardens to the town centre - not to be mistaken for the arena at piazza bra which is also beautiful with a central garden to relax in).

I could go on for ages about the beauty of the area and the amazingly well, equipped and stunning B&B, with the most hospitable owner you could ever meet, but I hope you have gotten the gist by now! I'd also highly recommend seeing a bit of the surrounding area - the public train service is very cheap and easy to use.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alisonannk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We enjoyed our stay here and would return again. The room was really nice, much nicer than hotel photo's are able to show. This is a B&B but fells more like a really nice boutique hotel. The rooms and common areas are simply perfect and it is obviouse in the details that the owner really loves the place. This was a really good find. We had a rental car and there was plenty of street parking near by. Old Verona is a short drive away and if you drive the other way on the same road tyhere are vinyards to explore just a few miles away. We loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erinm512017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We had a super stay at Bagolinas. The house is so cozy, newly renovated and Elena was so nice to us. She helped us with valuable tips about our day trips. We had a really great time in Italy and a great stay at Bagolina.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UlricaandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank manupeterpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Verona hotels
2.3 mi away
Villa Lucia
Villa Lucia
#232 of 431 in Verona
22 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Milano & Spa
Hotel Milano & Spa
#8 of 77 in Verona
2,373 reviews
5.1 mi away
Agriturismo Delo Relais
Agriturismo Delo Relais
#1 of 1 in Novaglie
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Agriturismo Corte San Felice
3.4 mi away
Giulietta e Romeo Hotel
3.9 mi away
Roseo Hotel Leon D'Oro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagolina B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagolina B&B

Address: Via Valpolicella 10 | Parona di Valpolicella, 37124, Verona, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Verona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 431 B&Bs / Inns in Verona
Price Range: £112 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bagolina B&B is a boutique and charmant bed&breakfast located just 5 minutes from the heart to Verona. Bagolina B&B was born from the desire to renew a last century’s family building. Once a time it was a tobacco shop Grandma Mary deftly handled, and now it is a quaint Bed and Breakfast, rich in history, fragrances, little talks, travellers and good wine. Placed in a historic village of Verona, Bagolina B&B’s location is strategic to explore the beautiful city of Verona, the Valpolicella wine region, the Lake of Garda and all Venetian area. Bagolina B&B is the perfect place to live a real experience in Verona! Stay with us for your special holiday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Bagolina B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing