We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful ”

Cangrande Ristorante & Enoteca
Ranked #4 of 1,298 Restaurants in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$70
Cuisines: Italian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: NOT FOR FAST FOODERS! Booking highly suggested. A credit card deposit can be requsted to confirm a booking.
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Great location in a quiet street away from the heaving masses by the Arena. Food is really very good. Wine selection is excellent. Service was a little slow as the owner likes to take all of the orders himself. It seems that staff are not trusted with certain things. Grappa is a real treat here!

Thank Starryeyes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResponsabileGZ, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Cangrande Ristorante & Enoteca, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind review about your experience at Ristorante Enoteca Cangrande!
We are proud to know that you appreciated our kitchen, wine selection, the ambience and service.

We're glad you've discovered something new and unique about the Italian cousine here at Cangrande, getting to suggest us! Grazie!

We hope to host you soon at our tables!
Kindest Regards
Giuliano & Corinna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,980)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 118 of 1,980 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
197
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We were drawn here on its appearance, tucked away down a little side street but visible as we left the bar we'd just been in. It was a bonus to later see its high trip advisor rating.
There are a number of tightly packed tables outside plus tables inside but as it was a lovely warm evening we managed to get a table outside, without a reservation, squashed next to two other couples.
We had the mozzarella with cream and tomato starter to share, and that was fine as it was a large portion.
I followed this with the prawn and shrimp pasta rolls, which were very good (quite rich) and my husband had the octopus which he really liked.
The portion sizes weren't massive but were more than enough for us and enabled us to fit in a gelato on the walk back.
I personally aren't a fan of tables so closely together but needs must in such a small space, though sitting next to a quite annoying fellow English couple was a bit off putting, though I don't blame the restaurant for that!!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResponsabileGZ, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Cangrande Ristorante & Enoteca, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Dear Adrian,
thank you for your kind opinion about your experience at Cangrande!
We are sure that your recommendation will be useful to all other readers :)
There are a lot of dishes you have absolutely to try, so we hope to see you agan for our next visit of Verona!

Best Regards
Giuliano & Corinna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Just a stones throw from the Piazza Bra the heavily touristed area of Verona exists this little gem of a restaurant in a quiet off street courtyard. Full when we arrived the restaurant has no shortage of Patrons and did not disappoint. The food is superb using fresh sourced ingredients. The owner is passionate about food and enthusiastically shared his knowledge. Try the home made olive oil. We were given good recommendations. Altogether a memorable experience which I can recommend to anyone seeking delicious food in this city.

Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResponsabileGZ, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Cangrande Ristorante & Enoteca, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear John,
we'd love to thank you really much for your words and for making it a review regarding your experience at Ristorante Enoteca Cangrande!
We are proud to know that you appreciated our kitchen, wine selection and service in their details; from the attentiveness to the "spirit". It's an honour getting to know you're considering what you've tried here as "memorable"!!
We wish you all the best and, if coming back to Verona, let us know and we'll be a pleasure to welcome you once again!

Kindest Regards
Giuliano & Corinna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

We went to this restaurant during a weekend trip in July.
The location is good (very close to the arena, but in a small and quiet street). It is highly recommended to make a reservation though ours was not taken so serious - we showed up at the confirmed time being told that we still had to wait for other visitors to leave.
The choice of food and drinks is great - though some parts could be improved (our 'rucola salad' turned out to be rather a 'mixed salad'; the 'gnocchi' were rather a kind of 'mashed potatoes'). Pricelevel is not low. Service was ok but not stunning. We still had a nice evening but maybe our expectations were too high (based on the other reviews).

Thank DietmarBautz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResponsabileGZ, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Cangrande Ristorante & Enoteca, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind opinion about your experience at Cangrande!
First of all you're right about the reservation: it's always better, especially during the Summer..next time remember to reserve a table at info@enotecacangrande.it.
We wish to see you once again to cuddle you some more and let you try some of the most interesting flavours of our region!
Wishing you a lovely continuation,
Best Regards
Giuliano & Corinna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

A consistently high quality of service with the Cangrande coming back again after a year away. Our food was fresh and a delight of flavours.

Aged balsamic, Parmesan, ravioli, lasagne paired with ronchendon wine. Delicious. No pizza here, go elsewhere for that!

We'll be back when we next visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResponsabileGZ, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Cangrande Ristorante & Enoteca, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Dear Joseph,
thank you so much!

It was a pleasure, and a bit of a surprise too, to see you once again arriving at RIstorante Enoteca Cangrande!
It will always donate a smile to see you here so please, visit us whenever you'd like! We'll try to surprise you with special dishes time by time!
Remember always to reserve a table at info@enotecacangrande.it!!

Enjoy your summer dear Guests,
i nostri più cari saluti!

Giuliano & Corinna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cangrande Ristorante & Enoteca also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Cangrande Ristorante & Enoteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing